We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #11 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Convenient”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Terraces give you great views over the city to enjoy with excellent breakfast buffet and evening wine and cheese. Staff excellent and helpful. Great gelato across the bridge to enjoy after dinner in many excellent resturants near to hotel. Shopping all around the hotel. Great place and cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Ray P,
thank you very much for the kind comment you posted on Tripadvisor.
I'm glad you appreciate our terraces, the staff and the great location, at the beginning of the fashion district.
We look forward to welcoming you in a next future and I'll invite you to contact us directly in case of reservation.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    139
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
204
633
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family went to visit our daughter who is studying in Florence and we couldn't have wanted a better location. The hotel is located on one of the best streets in Florence and close to all the major tourist shopping and attractions. The service was outstanding and our room was a little smaller then we are used to but very clean. The roof top terrace is incredible for the wonderful view of the city and the breakfasts at this hotel which are included was just delicious! I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Cindy J,
thank you so much for the kind comment you posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit of the Antica Torre Tornabuoni.
I wish you could come back visit your daughter soon and please feel free to contact me directly in order to propose you further room categories.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

An amazing hotel, wonderful views, great staff, lovely rooms
Would highly recommend this hotel
Breakfast on the terrace over looking the river
Evening drinks on another roof terrace over looking the city

Room Tip: Try to up grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firtreeroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Firtreeroad,
thnak you for every single world you spent about the Antica Torre Tornabuoni, I really appreciate your kind comment.
Please feel free to contact me anytime.
Thank you,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Beautifully furnished with breath taking views from the roof top terraces. Located right next to the river Arno. 2 min walk to Ponte Vecchio. Very helpful staff: thank you Mika on reception. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room - number 302. It was actually like a suite and had a window overlooking the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgw0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear sgw0505,
grazie for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.
I'm extremely pleased you appreciate our location, as well the view and much more, I'm glad regarding the compliments to Mika, our japanese receptionist!
I wish you could come back in Florence soon and feel free to contact me anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni n. 1 hotel is a great location in Florence Italy if you are looking to be in the heart of it all. It is a beautiful historic palace located right on the canal which is only a couple of blocks from the Ponte Vecchio where you may do some shopping. This was my second time staying here in a two year period and I really recommend this hotel highly. It is very clean, offers an amazing breakfast buffet in a luxurious room at the top of the hotel daily. The view from the breakfast room and the rooftop outdoor sitting area located outside off the bar area has some of the most amazing views of the canal and city of Florence. You will see the Duomo and canal from the two rooftop outdoor areas allowing you to take in sites while relaxing. This hotel is very close to many great restaurants, shops, and museums. You will be able to walk to most of the places you will want to see while in the beautiful city of Florence and if you need to go somewhere that requires a driver it is easy to get a taxi or have the hotel set up a car service for you. The staff was very helpful and friendly for both of my stays at this hotel. The very large beautiful doors that great you upon arrival let you know you are in Italy and about to spend time in a historic and beautiful palace. This great hotel has daily cleaning service and a nightly turndown service. We had a refrigerator in our room with some pre-stocked drinks which was nice. They offered free WiFi which was good so we could stay connected. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. We will return to this great hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Canal side of the hotel which you could see right down into the canal. It was beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Brian W,
I want to thank you for sharing your experience with all the travellers.
We do all our best to satisfy the guest's need and obviosly, one of our major satisfaction is to welcome loyalty guests for 2 or 3 times... that makes us feel happy.
I hope you could come back soon with your family and we always offer our best welcome.
Thank you so much,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Suites are great. Will return here. Roof top bar has unbelievable views. 3 nights and need more time. Upon arrival, staff toured us around hotel. Our room overlooks water and great weather allowed us to open windows

Room Tip: 301. Very large suite w kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear David N,
thank you for sharing your opinion regarding the Antica Torre Tornabuoni.
We are pleased you loved our Panoramic Bar located on the higher floor and I agree with you, 3 nights are never enough for Florence, and I'll telling it as a Florentine!
I wish you could come back and I'll be glad to suggest tips and hidden places in town.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon,
Yours Faithfully.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed 3 days in this excellent hotel. Well located, within a short walk to the main sights, it proved a perfect base for exploring Florence. Of course, as everyone else has commented, the main attraction of the hotel is its stunning roof terrace with spectacular views over the city. It was absolute bliss to return there every night for drinks and a rest. The rooms are good, although not exceptional but the breakfast is fantastic and the staff wonderful. The Reception arranged some great restaurants for us, which we would never have found alone. 5* - highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1963biffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear 1963biffo,
"grazie" for the kind words regarding our hospitality.
I'm extremely pleased you appreciated the location, as well the bar, breakfast and much more, the staff which always make the best to satisfy our guests, especially in term of food... they can always suggest the best restaurants and trattorias of Florence.
I hope you could come back again in Florence and I'll be happy to offer our best possible treatment.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
500 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,463 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,727 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,131 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing