We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Terrace...and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #11 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Terrace...and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here in July of 2013. We had a wonderful room that was very clean and spacious. We loved the breakfast there. Everything was fresh and very tasty. The terrace is just beautiful. Lovely and picturesque! We would stay here again on our next visit to Italy! Great location for walking and restaurants!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Dana M,
thank you for sharing your experience at Antica Torre Tornabuoni with many travellers.
We really look forward to welcoming you again and, in the occasione we will be happy to let you try a different room, in fact all our rooms are different but all of them are fresh and tasty.
Grazie,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    137
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
199
624
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel in a multi-use former palazzo just on corner of premier shopping street and the Arno is a beautiful, well-appointed, and good value in Florence. The rooms are beautiful, quiet, and spacious. The rooftop terraces and bars are wonderful places to rest and refresh after the crowded streets and shops. Would recommend for any leisure or business traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdradr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear rdradr,
thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are sure your experience will help many other travellers all around the word to decide the perfect destination in Florence.
Looking forward to welcoming you at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1,
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

During our visit to a villa in Tuscany, my partner and I took a train to Firenze for a brief overnight stay. All I can say is wow! This charming hotel exceeded our expectations. I spent hours prior to our trip reading reviews and searching various sites. It was so worth it. Thank you trip advisor reviewers! Our room was quite large and beautifully appointed. Although we did not have a balcony, we could see the Duomo from our window. The rooftop terrace actually had a fully equipped honor bar during the day! The terraces afforded a panoramic view of the entire city and the Arno. The day we were scheduled to depart, the Tornabuoni was closed to traffic. Our concierge Dan not only managed to call us a cab, but he personally walked us for blocks to the location where we could get the cab! All staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. We absolutely plan to return to Firenze and this will be our hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendall0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Rosebud20132013,
"grazie" for sharing your experience with many other travellers and thanks for all the reviewers that helps everybody to choose the right place!
I'll share your comment with Daniel, our Front Office Manager, and I'll thank all the staff for being out of line offering the warmest welcome possible.
We look forward to meeting you for a longer stay during your next visit of Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

If it is for staying in Firenze, look no more. This is the place. Where to begin? The Hotel Staf who treat you with respect and not as a "tourist". The rooms and service which make everyone feel like a king? The excellent food? But all of these come in second place when you get on the terrace. The view is simply breathtaking, the magnificence of Florence for your eyes only(and 5 min from the historic center and the Duomo!). This hotel is worth it's value!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOANNA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear IOANNA B,
just thanks: for the wonderful words you spent about the staff, the service and the terraces!
It's probably the inspiration that everybody gets from the panorama of Florence that makes the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1, something special.
We look forward to welcome you again in a next future and feel free to contcat me anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for four nights in late Sept 2013 and it simply couldn't have been better - the website doesn't do it justice, the hotel is beautiful, perfectly situated and has breathtaking views from the rooftop terrace. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated and the staff could not be any more helpful. All in all, Florence was amazing but this hotel made it for us. Top tip, definitely watch the sunset from the back terrace - very romantic (honesty bar is a nice service too).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardWeddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear RichardWeddell,
thanks for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us.
I'm happy to read that the web doesn't do it justice, I mean, normally I should admit that it's exactly the opposite reaction!
We look forward to welcome yo uagain in the future and please, feel free to contact me directly, in order to offer your the best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at Antica Torre September 19-22. Everything about this hotel is perfect - the location, the staff, the rooftop terrace, the breakfast and the luxurious amenities. We were greeted upon arrival at the curb and after checking in, personally shown to the rooftop terraces and to our room. The staff were outstanding and always available for recommendations, etc. One of the staff members even escorted my husband and I to the train station (10 minute walk), as taxis were unavailable during the World Cycling Championship. I can not say enough - this was our favorite choice of lodging during our 12 day tour of Italy. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyToups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear BeckyToups,
how can I thank you for the wonderful comment? Your words are music for my ears and I'll share your review with all the staff, your comment will motivate them!
We make our job with passion and everybody, from the reception to the breakfast staff and housekeeping have a huge sense of hospitality, so, it was so natural to escort you at the train station!
I wish you could come back in Florence and pleas,e feel free to contact me anytime.
Kind Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for three nights, everything from the location to the friendliness of the staff was great. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Arno river is small but excellent.
All of Firenze's sights are within walking distance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Oovann
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Oovann,
grazie for the kind review posted on Tripadvisor.
We wish to have the opportunity to welcome again in a next future and pleas,e feel free to contact me anytime.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing