We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop view, location, service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #12 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rooftop view, location, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The view - Appreciating Florence requires a rooftop view. The two open-air rooftop decks have them, with stunning views of the Duomo on one side and the Arno on the other. The enclosed rooftop breakfast area and bar shares this jaw-dropping skyline view.

Location - There may be more charming locations in Florence than across from the Ferragamo museum on the ritziest shopping stretch in town. But the location is convenient, just minutes to the Duomo, the Uffizi, and the Pitti Palace. And it is possible to find some funky, non-touristy restaurants only a few minutes walk across the Arno.

Service - Friendly, helpful, and gracious service from the charming women at the front desk to the solicitous wait staff at the bar/breakfast area. The front desk in particular were quite helpful in making dinner reservations.

Rooms - Charming decor, comfortable beds, antique furnishings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear sunra7
thank you for expressing your opinion about your recent stay at the ANtica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I'm glad to see you appreciated all the services we provided and the location, the view and the rooms - it's music for my ears!
I really wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Florence and pleas,e call me anytime.
Grazie,

Maria RIta Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    132
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
185
581
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed only one night and we enjoyed it very much. We were very nicely welcomed, the staff at the reception were extremely warm and helpful. Our room was quite big, very clean and the bathroom was very good. The breakfast was on the 6th floor with a marvellous view of the city. Shame that the weather was not good otherwise it would have been amazing just to be there.
In short we enjoyed very much staying in that hotel and I would like to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettina077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Bettina077,
thank you for the nice words you spent about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I really look forward to welcome you in a next future but I hope you could stay longer in Florence and I wish in a warmer season, in order to let you experience the open terrace!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

From the booking process onwards the staff at this hotel couldn't have been more helpful. I emailed them numerous times with various questions about the rooms and the train times from Pisa and they always replied promptly and gave me all the information I needed .
The room was amazing and the views from the 3 windows breathtaking. When we arrived the lady who greeted us showed us around. The two roof terraces, one looking over the Arno and the other looking over the Duomo were incredible. We didn't need to go to any other high buildings in Florence to take photos over the city as it was all here . The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast gorgeous with lots of choice. I still can't work out how thenroom was so quiet being in the centre of Florence. We were able to open the windows in the room wide to hear the bells of Florence chiming.

All in all I would definitely go back to the Antica again and hope to very soon. It isn't cheap but worth every penny. All the staff we met , from the ladies on reception to the staff serving breakfast, were very friendly and helped with any questions we had, printing off train timetables and generally just being as helpful as they could. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough, thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mabel12345,
grazie for your words!
We all try to offer a "easy life" in Florence to our guests, we know, that sometimes, even simple things are complicated in Italy, and we do our best to semplify our guest's life!
The room you had is a unique and spectacular and it's quiet because from 2011 via Tornabuoni is in a pedestrian area, so, it very quite!
We wish to welcome you again in Florence and please, do not hesitate to contact me anytime.
Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing stay at this wonderful hotel. We were warmly welcomed and then treated like old friends or part of their Family. After a miserable experience on our previous stop initially we finally felt relaxed and surrounded by luxury. Location is just perfect as well as everything about this hotel. The rooftop view is unbelievable and worth every penny you spend to stay here . Unforgettable experience. Grazi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUKE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear LUKE R,
thank you for the wonderful words you spent about us!
You described our welcome as a family, in fact, this is exactly our sense of hospitality, we are an historical residence and not an hotel and we love to let guests feel comfortable and welcome!
I'll be happy to offer our best available tratment if you'll plan to double the "Unforgettable experience".
Grazie a te!

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. From the minute that we arrived we were made to feel welcome. All the staff are friendly and helpful - without exception.

We stayed in a grand deluxe room with a wonderful view of the Duomo and central Florence. It was spacious, clean and well appointed - the bathroom was also everything that you would want it to be.

As other reviewers have stated, the terrace space is truly wonderful. Breakfast is served here (all freshly prepared that morning) and the views of Florence are fantastic. There are two terraces, one with a view of all the attractions of central Florence and the other overlooking the reach of the River Arno as it flows through the city.

After this experience, we will not be staying in any other hotel in Florence - its just perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R_S_201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear R_S_201,
thank you for staying only at the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1 for all your next visit of Florence!
I'm glad you had a wonderful experience from the arrival to your departure and I'm happy you realized that everything at breakfast is made in the morning, from the bread to the cakes.... we are proud to offer fresh, seasonable, local, healty food for pour guests.
Please, feel free to contact me anytime, in order to offer you the best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

3 Glorious nights in Florence in this wonderful hotel. Upon arrival we were welcomed warmly and from then on treated like royalty by very helpful receptionista and staff. Rooms divine but the cherry is the ROOFTOP view from where you see the river and bridges. Sunset is picture perfect from there. We were also upgraded and loved every moment of the luxury and once again realized you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daleen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear daleen51,
grazie for your wonderful words.
I'm proud to read that you felt treated by royalty, as well that you received a warm welcome; in fact, we all love our job and we personally love open our doors to the guests and let them discover the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 and the terraces.
I wish to have the opportunity to host you again in Florence and pleas,e feel free to contact me directly anytime.
Yours Faithfully.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Antica Torre in early November, and were very impressed with the hotel. Its location is wonderful, and the rooftop vista can’t be beat. Our room, a grand deluxe double, was wonderfully decorated and felt very plush. It also offered a lot of space, which was very nice.
There is a nice spread for breakfast, including an assortment of crostini. We loved eating breakfast on the rooftop veranda as well as enjoying drinks up there in the evening. The staff was more than helpful in making dinner reservations (as well as giving recommendations), and also trying to help us get into some of the busier sights in the city (a recommendation: make reservations for the Academia and the Uffizi in advance, even if you’re going in low season as we were).
While parts of Florence (the city center) were almost too crowded to enjoy, the Antica Torre provided a nice place in which to take a break from the chaos. From the rooftop, it’s easy to imagine what the city must have been like hundreds of years before it became the tourist landmark it is currently.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoapBoxDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear SoapBoxDerby,
thank you for sharing your opinion about our Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
I should confess that I feel everyday what you described "While parts of Florence (the city center) were almost too crowded to enjoy, the Antica Torre provided a nice place in which to take a break from the chaos" - our Roof Top Terrace is a peaceful oasis in town!
I really wish to welcome again in Florence and I'll be happy to provide you the best available service ever.
Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns, and Dr Vranjes scented essences. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing