We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #10 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Many hotels have staff who are friendly, helpful and efficient. Sometimes, it takes a really exceptional experience to understand the difference between service that is very good and service that is truly outstanding. We were fortunate to have had such an experience at a recent stay in Florence.

To a person, the staff at the Antica Torre were helpful and friendly, but various instances set their service at a higher level than merely very good. One example is the advice given us at reception when we were planning our Sunday schedule with very limited time available to us to see Michelangelo's David (state museums are closed on Mondays and we were slated to leave on the Tuesday). We were advised to try going to the Accademia at 5pm when the daily crowds would be at their lowest, and we would still have 90 mintues to visit the gallery. This was one example out of many in which staff gave very helpful advice during our stay, and is the kind of specific advice one does not always receive. Staff also helped with arranging dinner reservations, train reservations, calling taxis and recommending places to eat and things to see. I have stayed at hotels where such help resulted in a service charge, or where tips were expected, but not at the Antica Torre. Every facet of the staff's work and behaviour was exemplary and made staying in Florence that much better.

The hotel's location is wonderful: across the street from the Arno, and about two blocks from the Uffizi. This in itself is not surprising as central Florence is quite compact, and it is difficult to imagine any hotel in the area being described as poorly located. As with many boutique hotels, trying to find the entrance if you do not know it is there can be a bit of a challenge. That said, its address on the Via Tornabuoni means getting to the hotel entrance does not require too much of an adventure.

We were on a fifth floor room near the back of the hotel, and had a bit of a view over the rooftops of adjoining buildings. Rooms on lower floors would allow even less to look at. That said, the view from the rooftop terrance is spectacular. This is where breakfast is served, and we spent a good chunk of one sunny morning sipping coffee on the terrance. There was construction going on in the road in front of the hotel, and staff seemed to think it was anybody's guess when the work would end. However, the work crews knocked off at a very civil hour each afternoon, so nobody's sleep would have been disrupted by the noise.

Our room was a little plain, and could have used a new coat of paint by a professional painter (the paint job looked like something I would have done myself). That said, the room was spotless, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed although I am still puzzled what it is most hotels in Europe have against shower curtains large enough to keep the water from spraying out onto the floor.

One other word, the elevator is best approached with a bit of a Zen attitude. It is a small, old hydraulic elevator that moves at a speed that is almost surreally slow.

Will we stay at this hotel again? Absolutely. In fact we are planning our next visit to Florence and stay at the Antica Torre already.

Room Tip: As with many boutique hotels, the Antica Torre does not appear geared to families. It is perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear WDTVancouver_Canada,
grazie grazie grazie for the keen description of the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
Your words are so much important to motivate the staff to offer always suggestions and reccomandation to all our guests!
Please, feel free to contact me directly for your next visit of Florence and I'll be happy to offer the best available service - again!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    129
    18
    13
    6
See reviews for
185
575
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location - excellent!
The staff - international and helpful.
The terrace - a very special amenity for guests.
The breakfast - average but I seldom have high expectations for the buffet.

The room - a generous size and the rooftop view (we booked last minute and did not pay top dollar) fine, pleasant. The room was spare, comfortable and the old armoire was a charming piece. The bathroom marble was specific, not to my taste, but in good condition so I appreciated it. The room and bathroom were clean. But the soft goods...sigh. The curtains, bedding, and carpet looked cheap, worn and dated, even if they are not. The room decor lacked and does not resemble any photos of the property that I've seen posted on Trip.

All in all, the room did not detract from our positive experience in a significant way but I am amused by the adoring reviews. Clearly we chose poorly, needed to have paid more for more, or got the dud room that day.

Location, service, cleanliness win the day in our experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naviguesstrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Naviguesstrix,
thank you for sharing your experience with many other travellers.
I'm glad you appreciated the location, the staff, the terrace and the breakfast but at the same time, I'm sorry if the room you booked was not to your taste. Our rooms respect the traditional Florentine style in terms of decoration and athmosphere so I'm sure our style is for many but not for everybody.
I look forward to welcome you again in order to let you experience a different room category, like a Grand Deluxe or a Suite.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the mid of December with my wife on 5th floor. What an amazing hotel!! Everything was really great. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary of marriage and this place made us fall in love again!! Very nice staff and astonishing view from our room!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarlPater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Carl Pater,
thank you for choosing the ANtica torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1 for such a wonderful celebration!
I'm glad you felt again in love in Florence and I wish to welcome you every year for the next 100 anniversary!
KLooking forward to welcoming you again,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The worst thing was the service from the porter- we had to wait at the end of the road because of road works taking place and police chatted to my hubby as to why was he parked there! Very embarrassing!!! When we questioned the porter as to where was the driver to valet our car, he just shrugged his shoulders and meandered off!!!
However the manager and receptionist were just simply lovely!!! They stayed calm with us-especially hubby as he was ill at the time of all this- they made our stay wonderful! It truly is a fabulous hotel, beautiful rooms, great views, fantastic food for breakfast- everything on the table!
I have to say the rooms are immaculate! Dust free!! Great for an allergy sufferer like me! The bed linen is beautiful, crisp, clean and soft. Turn down service was unexpected and delightful.
One cannot fault the hotel at all, great for sight seeing. Definitely a hotel to stay in- comfortable, very clean, beautifully kept and wonderful staff apart from the porter.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mctutums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mctutums,
I personally want to thank you for your message and for your kind words.
It was a pleasure to speak with you directly at the arrival and I'm glad you appreciate our desire to welcome you in the warmer possible way.
I really look forward to welcome you again in Florence and I wish, for the next time, to have Via Tornabuoni without construction, in order to take care of your car directly.
Best Regards,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to everything....especially the shopping. Great rooftop terrace with honesty bar ..rare these days. Staff friendly and polite and the suite we stayed in huge with two full bathrooms. Beautiful

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stays999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Stays999,
Thank you for your kind opinion about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1!
It's always a pleasure to read so nice comment as your and I really look forward to welcome you again in Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been in Firenze in January, after all well-known holidays - starting from 7th. The weather is ok, the town is not overcrowded as usual. Perfect stay. And, of course, the Hotel (Guest House) Antica Torre - absloutley unbeatable Place to stay. Great location, friendly staff ready to help, great terrace with breakfast and tea/coffee etc throughout the day... All rooms are different, but everything is decorated very nice, and you feel that all walls & items are imbrued by History of Centuries. No restaurant by itself, swimming pool and gym - but, believe me, in this case it doesn't matter.Highly recommend, wanna visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Alexander Z,
thank you for suggesting the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 at all the Tripadvisor's users.
I'm glad to confirm that it's extremely comfortable to visit Florence during the winter time beacuse you can really breath the real Florentine athmosphere, in fact the city is not crowded and the access to Museums is very quick, the weather is not so bad and in the restaurant you could experience the best food!
I wish to welcome you again in Florence!
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is truly wonderful.Superb location,right in the best area and also in the heart of Florence.Fantastic views with a wonderful rooftop terrace...beautiful comfortable rooms and decor..and absolutely fantastic staff,nothing was too much trouble,especially with the breakfast staff,it was lovely to see Latiffa's smiling face greet us in the morning!! I can not recommend this hotel enough! A total Joy to stay there! We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Tracey,
thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.
Grazie for the wonderful words you spent about the Antica Torre di VIa Tornabuoni 1 and, me and all the staff and especially Latifa have a wider smile now!
I wish to welcome you again soon and, please, feel free to contact us directly in order to offer always the best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#2 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#17 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns, and Dr Vranjes scented essences. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing