We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #12 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you visit Florence this is the only place to stay. It comprises the top 4 floors of an old Florentine tower just downstream from the Ponte Vecchio.

The views from the two rooftop terraces are unrivalled and on a balmy moonlight night with a glass of very decent wine from the honour bar and my wife by my side I was in seventh heaven.

The staff are nothing less than wonderful, they even went to the trouble of DHLing my favourite old straw hat, inadvertently left in our room. Don't think hotel, think comfortable town house where you are a welcome guest, I can't wait for my next visit. They do only serve breakfast but quite honestly with so many top quality places to eat within a very short walk you wouldn't be dining in anyway.

One small warning, the hotel is right on the top fashion street in Florence, Ferragamo is opposite for example, so hide your wife's credit cards!!

Room Tip: Unfortunately you cannot prebook the rooms with private veranda, I have no idea why, however it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footloose_farang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for the wonderful words you spent about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
It's such a pleasure to read comments as your and I'm glad you felt like welcome as in a town-house.
I should admit that when I come work every morning, I'm walking fast, in the wish to avoid the brilliance of shop windows!!
I look forward to welcome you again in Florence and we will be happy to assue the best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    138
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
200
628
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The only mistake you can make with this hotel is not booking it. The location is amazing and very close to the major sightseeing spots. Furthermore, you can enjoy awesome views from the two terraces (views on the Ponte Vecchio and the Great Cathedral).

More details:
- ancient tower hotel
- great breakfast buffet
- very helpful service guys
- free wifi

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallaceffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Wallaceffm,
thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor.
I love the list of good point regarding the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 and I appreciate to extend the list, but, I want to surprised all the coming guests, so I'm not going to add points...
I really wish to welcome you in the future and please, contact me directly in order to assure the best available service.
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We recently stayed 6 nights at this hotel. The experience was first rate. The location of the hotel to the major tourist attractions was excellent nothing more than 5-6 minutes walk. The breakfast included was outstanding and the views of the Duomo, Bell Tower and Pitti Palace from the roof top breakfast/ bar area was very unique. Both the Airport and Railway station are located at minimal taxi fares, €23 and €13 respectively. Our room was a very good size and we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We would not hesitate to stay here when next in Florence

Room Tip: The bar available on the rooftop provides drinks at reasonable prices and it is a very pleasant way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
grazie for your kind comment on Tripadvisor.
Your suggestion about location with the taxi fair it's very important to have a better idea regarding distances in Florence, so I'ld like to add that, after you reach the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, you can forget taxis or transportation because everything is walking distance!
Please feel free to contact me directly and we relaly wish to welcome you again in Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon. No frills in lobby, but amenities on roof are great. Feel like you are taken care. Few rooms in hotel makes for outstanding personal service. Would stay here again for sure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Chris,
it was such a pleasure to have you as guests on this special occasion: your honeymoon!
We have only 19 rooms and it makes our service very personalized and attentive and I'm happy to see that you appeciate it.
I wish to have the opportunity to welcome for all the next anniversaries, in order to let you experience your honeymoon for all your life!
Please, feel free to call me anytime and we will be happy to offer a special service for your next visits of Florence.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This location is fantastic - directly on the Arno River and no more than a 10 minute walk from Florence's key sites (Duomo, Accademia, Uffizi Gallery). Our room was larger than expected, with a comfortable king bed and nice-sized bathroom. The hairdryer actually had some power behind it (unlike many of the other European hotel hairdryers I have experienced). We had a view of the Duomo dome, friendly, prompt, service and a clean, quiet room. The Antica Torre offers a daily breakfast and happy hour service and the view from the roof-top terrace cannot be matched by most hotels in Florence. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Tricia,
thank you for sharing your experience with all the Tripadvisor' friends.
I'm happy to hear that you find the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 in a wonderful location and about the room size, the service, breakfast and terraces.
I should inform that in Italy we have a strict law regarding security and the voltage in the bathrooms should be low, so this is the reasons we have safe haridryers.
Everything you may need, pleas efeel free to contact me directly anytime.
Looking forward to welcoming you in a next future,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved to stay in this little and perfect hotel that seems more like a guesthouse. We enjoyed the location, near to the best stores in Firenze (Ferragamo, Prada, Gucci, etc) and also a 10 minute walking distance to the Duomo and the Pontes. Also, we enjoyed meeting the owner, Mrs Julia, that is a very nice person, as well as her hgusband.
The breakfast in the rooftop is a must sincxe yo can enjoy a beautiful view of the city. We cannot forget that this building is a medieval tower, built in the 1300. Very nice and we hope to back in Florence soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLee_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear AnnaLee,
thank you for the wonderful comment you left onTripadvisor.
We are all proud to work in this historical building dated XIII century and we should thank the owners for our enthusiasm.
We really look to welcome you again the future and please, feel free to contact me directly.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a find! Fabulous hotel with a splendid view of the Arno River. Spacious suite with kitchenette and dining area. Helpful and friendly staff. Historic building with beautiful updates. Rooftop bar and breakfast dining with spectacular view of the Duomo. Don't miss miss the sunset. Very conveniently located. Close to train station.

Room Tip: Go for the suite with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b12345s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
what a wonderful comment about the ANtica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
We look forward to welcome you again and we wish to let you experience some other beautiful rooms with river view, as well, our Panoramic Suite that also has a private balcony on Lungarno!
Everything you may need, pleas efeel free to contact me directly in order to assure you always our best available service.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#6 Spa Hotel in Florence
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing