We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Shhhhh! This hotel is the most perfect in Florence.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Ranked #11 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Shhhhh! This hotel is the most perfect in Florence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We'd like to keep Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni a secret! We just got back from a wonderful trip to Italy. Our stays in Rome, Florence and Venice were all good but Antica Torre in Florence was superior. We stayed in the Romantic room that had a perfect view of the river. The room was large with a king size bed, bathroom and small ante room with whirlpool jet large bathtub and an extra sink. From the turndown service with slippers waiting at bedside to the wonderful breakfast and most helpful friendly staff, we had a hard time leaving.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Boogirls,
Thank you for your words, it's like music for my ears!
I should admit that all the rooms are different because we are locatd in a middle-aged old tower and nothing is standardized, but we have few rooms that are unique categories, and the room you had, the Grand Deluxe Romantic room is one of this. it's fine decorated and the beige and azure-striped walls offer a “Damasco” motif inspired by a historic eighteenth-century Florentine fabric.
I wish I can propose you an other unique room for your next visit of Florence, in order to let you experience the luxury of other special rooms.
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    132
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
185
581
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel exceeded all my expectations for the quality of the rooms and the service. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The room was much nicer than pictured on the website, and the roof terraces alone justify a stay. The location couldn't be more convenient. Not inexpensive, but very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EustaceHPlimsoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear D G,
grazie for the precious words you spent about the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
We wish to welcome you back in a next future and we will do our best to surprise you again!
Looking forward to welcome you in Florence,
All the best.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went in mid-September, after requesting, months earlier, a room with a view. What we got was an old outdated room with a view of a wall. After spending one night, and after complaining, we were changed to an updated room room with a view of the Arno. The breakfast was decent, but the location, on the roof terrace, was very nice. Overall, a functional hotel, with nothing special, other than the location, to make me want to stay again.

Room Tip: You can request a room with a view, but good luck getting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billinsugarloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience in Florence on Tripadvisor.
It's a pleasure to see that the staff has been able to chenge your room in high season in order to assure you a better service, so I'll take the opportunity to remind that not all our rooms are "Room with the view", in fact, we do not assure panoramic windows for the Classic Rooms, our base category. I'll be glad to suggest, on your next reservation, a room category with magnificent views of the Duomo or the Arno river.
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This small hotel in a near perfect location with incredible service, large rooms with balconies, beautiful terrace with amazing views to have breakfast and cocktails. It is not inexpensive but wonderful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marPortland_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for sharing your experience at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1.
In few words you mentioned all our merits: service, large rooms, terraces and balconies, breakfast and bar and even the location.
Grazie.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Reviews are excellent for this hotel and it was even better than expected. Roof top Photos on Trip Adviser do not do justice to the views and experience. Perhaps if the cushions were on the chairs it would be more comfortable but we were complaining. As others have noted the wifi is spotty but eventually works. Hotel very clean and the staff exceptionally helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cyclists1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Cyclist1,
thank you for your kind comment.
I'm glad to read that your experince at the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1 was better than your expectation and at the same time, I'll take the opportunity to inform that we changed our wifi service and we improve the connection so, next time you'll be our guest you'll have a better service.
Kind Regards.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights at the end of September in the "newer tower",, accessed by the elevator closer to the front entrance, in a deluxe room with beautiful views of the Arno River. the room was large and very comfortable with a big marble bathroom. The staff were very nice and made dinner reservations for us before our arrival. We really loved the rooftop terrace breakfasts and the honor bar at night. We had views of both the river and the city from up there that were breathtaking. The location is central to many of the major sites in Florence and we were very happy that we could walk from our hotel to the Ponte Vecchio, the Uffizi, the Oltrano area, the Duomo and Baptistry, and on and on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Jaybird51,
thank you for sharing your experience in Florence with all the travellers.
Your comment describe very well many of our pro: location, marble bath with European comforts, large rooms, special services as well the honor bar and our Roof top Terraces!
Please, feel free to contact me anytime for any information you may need,
Sincerely,

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What can I say about this hotel that hasnt been said already?
From the moment you check in, you are in a lovely hotel with such amazing views
Stayed in one of the rooms that overlook the River Arno, with a great view of a couple of the main bridges.
Rooms are spotless, and are very comfortable, our room came with Sat TV, Safe, Mini Bar, A/C - all mod cons really
The main reson we picked this hotel, was for its location, which you cannot fault, walking distance from everything - really!!!
And the views from the terrace are amazing, two levels of views, the top terrace is the best view with 360* views of the city
Eating out can be expensive, but no different from any major city, including London
We found a cheap little supermarket offering everything and a huge saving, why not get a bottle of wine, and some bread, some olives and eat them on the terrace - and save yourself well over 30 Euros & eat in ??

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tornabuoni_1, Direttore generale at Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
grazie for sharing your experience with many other travellers!
Your description of the room's amenties is perfect and I'll take the chance to add that our rooms also have marble bathroom with bathtub or box shower, finely appointed wardrobe, parquet or wall-to-wall carpet, large-screen LCD television, pay per view channels, telephone with direct-dial external access, mini-bar, electronic safe. All of the rooms offer heat and air conditioning, complimentary WiFi access, shoe horn, slippers, exclusive Dr Vranjes environmental fragrances and hairdryer.
I really look forward to welcome you and pleas,e do not hesitate to contact me directly for any information you may need.
Sincerely.

Maria Rita Bellini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 632 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni

Property: Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#4 Green Hotel in Florence
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#5 Spa Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We personally enjoy welcoming our guests, we wish to reinvent the concept of hospitality, and we have the inspiration to provide the warmth of home in every detail. This is how the Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1, Florence came to be: a tower-house built in the mid-12th century by the Guelph family of Ruggerini. At the beginning of the 20th century, this palace became "Pensione Piccioli," and quickly turned into a privileged residence for aristocrats and English writers. Closed after the Great War, Pensione Piccioli reopened in 2001, as a Period Residence called "Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni 1." Thanks to attentive restoration to preserve all its original charm, the evocative ambiance of the Palace on Via Tornabuoni has regained life and warmth. This magnificent complex is considered one of the typical "tower-houses" of Mediaeval Florence, and, to this day, it still preserves all its characteristic architectural elements: it is an admirable example of the human ability to convert buildings built for war into oases of peace, culture and hospitality. In this ancient tower, we have created a world of harmony, privacy, and attentiveness to our guests' needs. Luxury, peace, and beauty are all in traditional Italian style, and give the concept of comfort new aesthetics. Almost all rooms enjoy an enchanting view of the city or the Arno River, and all are furnished with the highest in comfort: satellite plasma TVs, DVD players, wireless internet connection, direct line telephone, minibar, electronic safe, air conditioning and heating, private marble bath with tub and/or shower, hair dryer, slippers and shoehorns, and Dr Vranjes scented essences. Some of the Rooms and Suites are decorated with a Renaissance flair: with frescoes, drapes in coloured precious fabrics, bathrooms in red Alcantara or Gold Calacatta marble, and romantic four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Torre Di Via Tornabuoni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing