We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place (Pleasant Surprise)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rosary Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rosary Garden
Ranked #91 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place (Pleasant Surprise)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

At first we thought we had made mistake by booking this hotel because it was on the outskirts of Florence. However, this fact turned out to be an asset and welcome relief. First, the very close city bus stops made travel into central Florence quite simple and quick (20 minutes). The bus rides themselves were entertaining and informative, and the buses run frequently and on time. The location is a residential and business mix, with a large shopping plaza across the street and coin-operated laundry a couple of blocks away. Unlike many parts of Florence in tourist season, you will actually meet Italians in this neighborhood. We were in to see our daughter, who is studying in Florence, and so we appreciated the in-town bustle/out-of-town relaxation dimension of our stay. To be sure, some vigorous walkers (like our daughter) could dispense with buses altogether.

The hotel itself is small and charming. The common areas and bedrooms were tastefully decorated country Tuscan. The beds were firm, linens ample, and the room size was good. The place was clean, well-maintained, and attractive. The bathroom was a good size and design, and everything worked. The wi-fi worked well. Older notices may imply that there is a charge for wi-fi access, but this is no longer true (if it ever was true). The proprietor obviously takes pride in her family-run hotel. All dimensions of the hotel reflect that attitude. The desk staff was unfailingly helpful and attentive. There is no elevator, but we were helped with our luggage (the front staircase is steep).

The breakfast room was snug, but not unmanageably so. The continental breakfast was quite good and very robust (cheeses,meats, cereal, brioche, rolls, juice, coffee to your taste, etc., etc.). We were grateful for this, since we tend to eat a hearty breakfast, buy a sandwich for lunch at a pasticceria, and spend the food money on dinner.

It was a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    94
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
227
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

lovely room with comfy bed, its a small family hotel with all the vintage garden designs...they are able to book museum tickets for you as well, that saves lots of time for us! anyway, I'll back to that hotel again if im going to florence!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dylan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I Would like to say what a fantastic hotel this is and thank you to all the staff especially monica who was so kind and helpful. Very clean and comfortable hotel enjoyed every minute of it I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in late September. While it is not in the heart of Florence, it was very easy to take public transportation, namely buses, located just outside hotel, to the center of Florence, minutes away. It is also across the street from a Co-Op which includes a supermarket, Benetton and a few other stores, very convenient. The hotel is run by family members who went above and beyond to provide information about restaurants, tourist attractions, etc. They were very accommodating and we had use of a computer and an excellent breakfast was included with superb cappuccino. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jujujitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Rosary Garden Hotel is a small hotel but don't be put off by size. It is a delightfully cosy and friendly place to stay. About 10 minutes from the centre of Florence by local bus, [which run every 10-15 minutes] it is tucked away on a narrow street in a quiet residential area. My bedroom was a delight to behold with a beamed ceiling and comfortable bed and furniture. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room but a pretty seating area with complimentary tea infusions and biscuits. Unfortunately no coffee, but I was able to purchase some and the hotel provided me with milk. The dining room is quaint, small, but with a good selection of breakfast foods. The staff are very, very friendly and helpful and I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gosolo848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Appearances can definitely be deceiving. When you first arrive at the Hotel Rosary Garden, you might be surprised at how small and un-hotel like it seems. Head upstairs and you'll find a small, somewhat shambolic reception desk and office. However, I can guarantee you'll very quickly fall in love with the charm of this hotel.

The rooms may not be particularly large, but they are full of character and comfortable enough. Although there are no kettles in the classic rooms, there is pretty little communal area with tea, herbal infusions, biscuits and aperitifs, all complementary.

What particularly sells this hotel, however, is its staff. They could not be friendlier or more helpful, whether it is the receptionist offering advice on how to travel around Florence and where to go or the catering staff serving breakfast in a small, but well stocked breakfast room.

The hotel is off the beaten track - it's a 10-15 minute bus ride from the centre of Florence, but this should not put you off. The buses are cheap, relatively frequent and easy to use. Florence is a busy city, full of tourists, but this little gem is in a much quieter, residential area. It also happens to be above a pizzeria in which we ate our best meal of the holiday.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takanocraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Rosary Garden Hotel in Florence is a little gem in a city full of treasures. The hotel is located in a residential district away from the inner core of Florence and that turned out to be a great thing. There are several buses which are only a 10 minute ride or better right next to the hotel yet, you can go for a daily, beautiful walk along the Arno and be at the heart of Florence in 30 minutes - nice way to exercise after all of the delicious food and gelato found everywhere in Florence. Monica and her staff are exceptional. They speak very good english and extremely helpful. I definitely felt like I was staying with family and I felt very well taken care of and very safe. The rooms are beautiful and very tastefully decorated, delicious breakfast each morning and lovely afternoon tea. This is the only place I would stay in Florence.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in this hotel are exceptional and the bathrooms are spotlessly clean and very well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leiloveselephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#30 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#77 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#73 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#89 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#79 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosary Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosary Garden

Property: Hotel Rosary Garden
Address: Via di Ripoli 169, 50126, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#41 Family Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosary Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling at home: a warm sensation that the Rosary Garden is able to convey to its guests. Completely refurbished, thus creating a charming atmosphere, elegant and friendly at the same time. Each bedroom is different from the other and equipped with air conditioning, direct telephone, free internet Wi-Fi, LCD satellite TV and digital channels, mini-bar, safe, make-up mirror, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rosary Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosary Garden Hotel
Rosary Garden Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing