We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in suburban Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rosary Garden
Ranked #128 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This past May my mother and I spent two weeks visiting Athens, Rome, and Florence. Of the three hotels we used, the Rosary Garden in Florence was our favorite. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly, and the woman at the front desk took care to explain the bus system and to map out how to get to the major attractions in Florence.

While the hotel's not in the old city, there's a bus stop practically on its doorstep which goes directly to many of the big attractions; the buses are clean, inexpensive and convenient, and you can get anywhere in about 15-20 minutes. Coming from the packed chaos of Rome, Florentine transit was a huge relief.

The hotel's situated in a nice, suburban neighborhood with several good restaurants within walking distance, as well as the best gelato shop we found in Italy. Since we were outside the main tourist area, I liked the glimpse of how native Italians lived--there was a street fair held that weekend, and a children's birthday party was going on at one of the restaurants.

As for the room itself, it was spacious--at least by European standards--with a high, vaulted ceiling. The decoration was a little too pastel for my taste, but Mom liked it. The bathroom was clean, well-lit, and had everything we needed, though the shower stall was somewhat cramped.

Breakfast was delicious, a good mix of breads, cereals, and fresh fruit.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I received free Wi-Fi thanks to a deal through TripAdvisor that was running at the time.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjacoby126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rosary Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 435 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

I had the pleasure to visit Florence with my family in August 2011. Having checked out various Hotels in Florence before, this one was recommended by several lokals and internet blogs so I booked it.
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and.... moreover they can speak and write english!!(Which is surprisingly not that common in Italy)
All my prior e-mails and questions were answered promptly, mostly by the friendly owner Monica Landi.
The rooms are very clean and tastefully furnished. The breakfast is continantel with fresh fruits, etc. (everything you would expect of a good european breakfast). W-lan is available. The hotel is located near the city, close enough that you can walk for dinner to the arno river and the city within 15-20 min.
To cut a long story short, this hotel is a place where you will feel good and enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irondag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We do not normally do 3 star for fear that it might be sub standard. Not the Rosary Garden! From the exceptional service to the beautiful rooms Rosary Garden is outstanding and we will certainly be recommending this hotel. We will certainly not be looking elsewhere on all our trips to Florance

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacquiandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We decided to stay at the Rosary Gardens based on all the fantastic reviews, but we were really disappointed!! The previous review talk about the lovely square in front of the hotel - this is basically a very small dingy and dirty triangle with a main road on either side, which continue on both sides of the hotel! We also expected helpful staff, and they were, but often we felt this was to gain some financial kick back. For instance we asked them to book us a car and the best price they quoted us for a week was between £700 -£800, we ended up hiring a car ourselves for £500!! Additionally, I asked if they could print us directions to our next destination, and instead I was given a printed address of our next destination and told we could use an internet site, such as mappy.com and shown the price to use the internet, which was unbelievably slow.Also, the safe in our room didn't work, so we asked for assistance with this - the safe was never fixed! Complimentary afternoon tea consisted of cocktail crisps in a dish and almond biscuits in a glass jar. Complimentary drinks are obscure mixers and liqueurs that have been there for years!! Don't get me wrong, the idea is a nice touch, but reality doesn't deliver, and our expectations were raised, and definitely not fulfilled. The dinning room is tiny - and the kitchen is at one end with a screen covered with pink fake flowers - although the lady who cooked and served was lovely!! Lastly, our classic room 21 was tiny - the smallest room I have ever stayed in, and this opened straight onto the tiny reception, so privacy was impossible. Lastly, the television was supposed to have lots of complimentary channels, and instructions how to access these were given on a card, but this didn't work and we asked for help with this, which again didn't happen!! The beds are rock hard too!! Other members of our party had a deluxe room (29) which was huge and much nicer than ours, which was a consolation as we could sit in there now and again. Although the view from the room is the restaurant next doors rubbish - the restaurant is very good though!!This isn't a hotel it is a basic B&B, don't expect anymore and then you won't be as disappointed as we were!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clairecc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moni873, Proprietario at Hotel Rosary Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear Guest,
I am so sorry to learn that you were not at all satisfied with your stay at the Rosary Garden, and it seems that all efforts done to make your stay enjoyable and the service we rendered have not been appreciated. I usually take into deep consideration all comments, especially the negative ones, as I always think there should have been something which we may have done to avoid them and to make people be happy to stay with us. I am aware that, in a hotel, there may always be a problem, as it's like having a big house: one day the air conditioning, one day the TV, one day the water, one day a human error. What is important is that everything is solved quickly, even better if we can anticipate the solution in order that the guest does not become aware of anything. And, when something happens, finding a solution is a must. I try to transmit this feeling to all the staff too. I can accept all comments, I can understand that there are people who may not like us, but when someone draws an offensive inference from the fact that we try to do our best to give a nice service to our guests, at this point I do not understand any more what else we should do. What mainly surprises me is that you have taken all efforts done by our staff to help you like a way of gaining financial kick back, which I really cannot understand and deeply offends me and the staff too. I know that they have assisted you in any possible way, making phone calls and staying on the internet on your behalf to show all restaurants’ menus and prices (which you wanted to know before going), printing you directions to reach a destination you asked for (never mentioned to go on internet with mappy.com, of which we did not know even the existence before you wrote about it), making several phone calls to search for a car which could fit 5 people plus all your luggage (you needed a very big car or a station wagon) and calling all major companies as Hertz, Avis, Maggiore, Europcar. All of them were giving similar prices, between EUROS 680 and EUROS 745 for 7 days, and prices given were with unlimited mileage and full insurance without any excess (Full Kasko, in Italian). I am sorry if there was a misunderstanding and you mixed up Euros and Pounds, but, being in Italy, of course all prices are quoted in Euro currency. Furthermore, as you say to have found at POUNDS 500 (which is not far from the prices we gave you), first of all prices depends on the type of car and on the type of insurance, as for example the difference between Collision Damage Waiver (with Excess to Euro 900,00) and Super Loss Damage Waiver (without excess) is Euro 176 per rental, and the difference between Theft Waiver (Excess to Euro 2.700,00) and Theft Waiver Plus is Euro 84 per rental. Secondarily, it might be that prices given over the phone are different from those given on the internet (which are usually cheaper, like for the flights, and very often in this case we suggest our guests to go directly on the internet with their credit card to fix them), but this depends on the company’s policies and we cannot do anything else rather than report prices just exactly as they are given us. Thirdly, prices are given and subsequently cashed with credit cards by international renting companies, so I do not understand how could staff have gained any money from that. Having the pleasure to be kind and render our guests the best service is our gain, personally and for the hotel. You also were standing in front of the employee during his phone calls with all companies and giving you prices: by the way, he was my son, so I can strongly assure that no kick back was involved at all, besides the fact that I will be sure of it for all members of the staff too.
As far as complimentary drinks are concerned, please note that we offer an assortment of teas with Danish Butter biscuits, while cocktails crisps are to be combined with aperitifs Martini Rosso and Martini Bianco (they are famous worldwide, it surprises me you are talking about obscure mixers), and we offer Cynar and Amaro Montenegro as after-dinner drinks, while in the lobby you may find Vin Santo with Cantuccini di Prato, which is a local dessert wine in which is tradition to dip the Cantuccini (almond dry biscuits), and that you may also find as a dessert in the most typical local restaurants. We are sure that our guests appreciate them, as usually each bottle lasts for one or two weeks maximum, and sometimes we should replace them even daily.
For the rooms, I am sorry that they were not what you were looking for, so I just wish to point out, for all TA readers, that numbers have been mixed up (21 is a Superior and 29 is a Classic), and for the mattresses, that they are Simmons mattresses, one of the most prestigious companies in the world, which are considered very good for the posture; for the breakfast room, I just wish to add is that our photos exactly correspond to the reality and that we pay much attention to the assortment and the quality of the food and to the service, of course in relation to a 13 rooms hotel. Where I should give you our apologizes, however, is for the safe, for which there should have been a misunderstanding with the employee, as she understood that you put a wrong code, but that afterwards you had been able to reopen it, so she did not advise anyone about it. And you did not ask again either. Of course, I am teaching something from your comments too, and will be more attentive in training our staff to better understand all clients needs and to report me immediately every little detail, although during your stay we never receive any complain from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

From the train station, we took a cab to our hotel, Rosary Garden, Via Ripoli 169, which took about 20 minutes. At the hotel, we were welcomed at the door by Alessandro who showed us to our room, the Sultan Rose, #27 with French doors overlooking a park. To complete our welcome, Alessandro brought a chilled bottle of Prosecco, sparkling wine to our room and introduced us to the local Tuscan treat, Vin Santo, a desert wine also known as ‘holy wine’ or ‘wine of hospitality’ made in the Chianti region of Italy. Complimentary Vin Santo, aperitifs, teas and fresh biscotti were on hand at any time of the day and night at our hotel. The centuries old local custom of serving Vin Santo to welcome friends is a Tuscan tradition that we intend to keep.
The Rosary Garden, located in a residential area near the Arno river in the southern part of Florence, is a charming hotel ten minutes from the historical center. The hotel owner, Monica Landi, a thirty-year veteran of the hospitality industry, decided several years prior to open her own intimate hotel. Her hospitality experience is evident in the personalized details. Her hotel is a pleasant respite from the touristy areas and is one block away from the Centro Commerciale Gavinana COOP, a major shopping center where we purchased our Brunello di Montalcino wine at discounted prices. We used the bus system to get around town, and buses #31 and #32 stopped just a few steps from the hotel and transported us across the Arno to the historic district. Just make sure you know at least one of the several names for the stop where your hotel is located so you can navigate back from your excursions. We discovered that some stops can have multiple names, sort of the tradition of renaming U.S. stadiums after corporate sponsors. Our stop was called Bendito, but Monica told us that most of the bus drivers would know it as the Gavinana COOP stop because of the shopping center. There are plenty of good restaurants and delis nearby. Our first night we chose the restaurant next door to the Rosary Garden. The service was erratic, but the pork ribs and bistecca alla fiorentina were good.

Room Tip: The Sultan Room #27 overlooks a park. Check out the Centro Commerciale Gavinana COOP across the stre...
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

What a charming little hotel, very helpfull hosts, ours was a really nice spacious room with a small balcony, the room was very well decorated, we loved it and would not hesitate to stay there again, yes its not in the center but not such a bad thing with a bus stop on the doorstep, but watch the 23 bus which departs from behind the coop supermarket it doesnt in our experience bring you back the same way, stick to the 31 and 32. Watch the restraunt next door (the only one in the area unfortunatley). All in all a super place to stay with charming, helpfull, english speaking hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcr4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Very friendly staff who were always willing to help. Rooms were nice but a little too far from the centre for us. Nice restaurant downstairs that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#130 of 411 in Florence
453 reviews
Hotel Villa Betania
#74 of 411 in Florence
540 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 411 in Florence
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#141 of 411 in Florence
723 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#138 of 411 in Florence
659 reviews
Hotel Villa Liana
#97 of 411 in Florence
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosary Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosary Garden

Address: Via di Ripoli 169, 50126, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Florence
#41 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#51 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $78 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosary Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feeling at home: a warm sensation that the Rosary Garden is able to convey to its guests! Located just outside the hubbub of the city centre, between the Arno River, Michelangelo square and the rolling hills that surround the southern part of Florence, it is the ideal place either for a business or for a leisure trip. A boutique stylish hotel, with a charming and cozy atmosphere, elegant and friendly at the same time. Each one of the 13 bedrooms is different from the other and equipped with air conditioning, direct telephone, free Wi-Fi connection, LCD satellite TV with digital channels (Cinema and Football channels), mini-bar, safe, make-up mirror, hairdryer. A charming English style breakfast room, a Tearoom, where our guests can enjoy a complimentary afternoon tea and intimate sitting areas make the Rosary Garden be your home away from home. The friendly yet professional staff will be able to fulfill your every need, from restaurant reservations to museum tickets or arrange for tailor-made excursions or a personal trainer in a fashionable fitness club. Your pets are welcome too. Adjoining restaurant and private parking. NEW 2017: complimentary minibar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rosary Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosary Garden Hotel
Rosary Garden Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing