We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice”
Review of Hotel Sampaoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sampaoli
Ranked #314 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was not a bad choice. The best features were the good location and the helpful two girls who run the place (although they were sometimes hard to find during my stay). My room was clean though basic, and the shared bathrooms were of average cleanliness. I probably would look elsewhere next time but certainly don't regret my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweettraveller255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    72
    40
    22
    24
See reviews for
18
91
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This was a pleasant surprise. I stayed at a horrible hostel in Rome a s was reluctant to hostel again but I took another chance. So glad I did!! It's located about 4 blocks from the Duomo and Galeria Acedemia. Lots of restaurants near by. Place is clean, has wifi, AC!!! And a friendly staff. I'm returning to Florence in March and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jloya8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed in Florence for the weekend and was very lucky to have found this little gem. Hotel Sampaoli is right at the edge of the centre of beautiful Florence and is perfectly located, literally a ten minute walk to the Duomo, a fifteen minute walk from the train station and fifteen mins from the Uffizi. It is simple, clean and very pleasant. The owners could not have been more helpful and friendly. I really felt welcomed.

My room was perfect! It had a small balcony, a great bed, spacious antique wardrobe, large bathroom (large enough for me anyway!) and Air Conditioning - which was a godsend after the long hot days spent walking, eating and drinking. I was surprised at how good it was for the price.

Breakfast is served in local cafes which I love as it makes you feel like a local.

When I return to Florence I will be staying here.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 7 - it was extremely quiet, nicely furnished with a double bed, good sized bathroom...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BanRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were told this place was new, so I can't blame them entirely if they just acquired it, but of the 15 hostels I stayed at on my trip, this was the worst by far. The showers were gross and wouldn't drain, the place was incredibly hot and we got a ton of mosquito bites. We could only pay in cash which was annoying. The location is good and you get a great breakfast at a nearby cafe, so I hope these new owners can make a significant improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mleo1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location was good.
The hotel is near by almost all sightseeing spots.
And staffs were very kind and friendly.
The room was clean and sooo cute!
The floor tiles, furniture was cute.
The price was valuable .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapikap1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After I made the reservation, Sampaoli sent me a email that reminder us to make sure to arrive there before 8pm, but our train delayed. we arrived there almost past 9pm. The staff who was asleep was waken up by our arrival. But she is still so nice to check us in

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph_Wu_zw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed there on a Triple room with a private bathroom. The rooms were really spacious and had a tv, minibar (little fridge). The only negative point of the room was the bathroom, that was quite small and didn't have anything to separate your shower from the rest of it, so whenever you would take a bath, the whole bathroom would be wet (however, it wasn't a problem at all; once you get used to it it's fine).
Other than that, the service is great with a really pleasant staff and the location absolutely excellent, just a couple of blocks away from the Duomo (and the city centre) and the train station; really easy to get to. Next to the hostel you can find a little caffè that sells nice paninis and stuff, which could come in handy for breakfast.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Admeirel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#121 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#248 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#174 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fedora
Hotel Fedora
#214 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sampaoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sampaoli

Property: Hotel Sampaoli
Address: Via San Gallo 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sampaoli 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! We are Michela e Rosalia, two friends with a passion to share our Florence exerience! We work with tierless enthusiasm on our project, to welcome our guests with warmth and friendliness in one of the most beautiful cities in the world ... Florence! Hotel Sampaoli is located in the heart of Florence's historical center, near the university area, and within a short distance of the most famous artistic Florentine masterpieces. Friendly atmosphere, comfortable rooms and a clean environment. Furnished with a sober and essential style, but always with attention to comfort and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sampaoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaoli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing