We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, Great Location, Price is right”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sampaoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sampaoli
Ranked #313 of 421 Hotels in Florence
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Safe, Great Location, Price is right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed two nights two explore Florence, we travel a lot and can only do so if we stay in low budget hotels, problem is to find a safe clean place in a great location. Well this is the place in Florence. We walked from the train station oh about 8 blocks I guess. Bathrooms and Rooms (small) were very clean. We appreciated the managers signs about quiet, even in their email response they let us know this is a quiet place for rest not for partying. We are both in our 50's. A bit noisy outside but nothing is perfect, no air conditioning so you should consider this if booking in summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commission3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    70
    40
    22
    24
See reviews for
18
89
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Thank you. I enjoyed my little one room home. It was cozy and l appreciated the following:

Lots of blankets and pillows
Hot water maker and two cups!
Big open window
DVD player for watching 3 English speaking DVD's (I needed that!)
Roomy enough to rearrange a few chairs and drawers.
Great, helpful, accommodating staff.
A little fridge for me to put some of my food in.
Called me a cab.
Fresh linens everyday should I want them.
San Gallo Street led me to all the central action in town (I was very lost at first without "just stay on this street").
Helpful staff helped drag up my way tooooo big suitcase.
Nice big, identifiable keys to open all the doors.
Safe neighborhood.
Grocery stores nearby.
Internet cafe down the street.
Pharmacy and little cafes nearby as well.

This hotel worked well for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

stayed here with friends while traveling through Italy.
Its perfect! Quaint, give you that little Italy feel you are looking for. Rooms are decent, people managing are so nice, and the price is great. Right near the Duomo and all the good museums/ Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliebstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is in a great location - walking distance to train station and Duomo. It is a very good budget option - clean and everything you need in the room - ceiling fan, tea and coffee facilities, TV and DVD player with DVDs to borrow. Lots of signs around asking people to respect others resting and be quiet - which was adhered to! Our bed was the comfiest out of all the places we stayed during the three weeks in Italy.

This place is not for you if you want a sparkly, fancy option - the place does need a lick of paint and the mozzy screens need fixing - all in all though we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandTBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I've made it to Florence after a 12 hours flight from home. As i saw the hotel stairs i thought "...mmm is this a joke ?" . After a two flights of stairs climb the place looked me like the place i wanted to stay. My room was basic and , even if i only booked for one night the kind girl at the desk allowed me to add another day. They have signs around the place against loud people and this made this old brit man happy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sermau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

First off, you can completely ignore the website for this hotel because the real thing looks terrible as compared to what is advertised on the internet. The location is about 15 mins from the train station which is the only positive thing I can say about this place. You first need to climb a narrow flight of stairs which isn't horrible but not ideal, especially if you have luggage rather than backpacks. The room we stayed in was dark, it had a horrible smell, it was old, and was incredibly disgusting overall. The bathroom was on the other end of the hall and it too was not in great condition.

The woman working at the reception was incredibly rude and we got into an argument over how gross the room was. She completely dismissed any of our complaints and treated us terribly. When we told her that it was never mentioned that there was no air conditioning she called us liars and said that we were informed.

Needless to say, we didn't stay long and left after a few hours to find a better place. There are a lot of nicer, cleaner, and AIR CONDITiONED hotels that charge the same price with even better location than this one.

I advise you to stay away from Hotel Sampaoli.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jordang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our stay at Hotel Sampaoli was like being a house guest in someone's home. The hotel is in a small street and on the 2nd floor of a building. Our room was at the end of a hall and very cozy. It was almost like staying in a master bedroom. Outside our room, there was a bathroom for other rooms that did not have one. The hotel is very quaint and feels like you're borrowing someone else's room for the night. A Greek restaurant is below the hotel so we were able to see the staff prepare tables outside our room. It was so lovely. We also had a view of a rooftop garden. The hotel staff was nice. They recommended a fantastic restaurant called Za-Za's that was amazing!!! Don't get fouled into going to the restaurant next door though (bad service and the food's not as good as Za-Za's). Hotel Sampaoli was also located very close to the train station and near the museum where you can see the break-taking Statue of David! Such a lovely hotel for an amazing price!

Room Tip: If you prefer a private bathroom, make sure that is the room you are reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melida27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#120 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#245 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#172 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#132 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fedora
Hotel Fedora
#209 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#134 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sampaoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sampaoli

Property: Hotel Sampaoli
Address: Via San Gallo 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sampaoli 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! We are Michela e Rosalia, two friends with a passion to share our Florence exerience! We work with tierless enthusiasm on our project, to welcome our guests with warmth and friendliness in one of the most beautiful cities in the world ... Florence! Hotel Sampaoli is located in the heart of Florence's historical center, near the university area, and within a short distance of the most famous artistic Florentine masterpieces. Friendly atmosphere, comfortable rooms and a clean environment. Furnished with a sober and essential style, but always with attention to comfort and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sampaoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaoli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing