We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Perseo, Florence”
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #36 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent location less than half a short block from Duomo. Very friendly staff at front desk- helpful as well. Rooms are clean, well furnished, comfortable. Bath includes hair dryer, bidet and magnifying mirror!! Breakfast complete and something for everyone! Very highly recommended and would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Perseo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in Hotel Perseo for 2 nights.

The room was basic, but very clean. The service from the front desk was fantastic. The breakfast was included. It was continental: juice, water, coffee, cereals, toast, croissants, ham, cheese, jams, cookies and small amount of fruit. The location of the hotel was fantastic. It was just over 1 block from Duomo, so everything was within walking distance.

Upon arrival in Venice we walked from train station to hotel. Big mistake. Take a taxi! The hotel reception is on level 3. There is a very small lift to take you up.

Front desk staff are very knowledgable. They were helpful in recommending restaurants, laundromats and places to visit.

Overall, very clean, tidy, well located with great customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 954,562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Perseo in Florence for 3 days in early September. We arrived by train and were able to walk with luggage to the hotel fairly easily. It is not the most luxurious hotel but then they do not charge the price of a luxury hotel! The room is standard but the location is excellent. We were a block away from the Duomo and walking distance to practically every other attraction in Florence. There was also a nice breakfast buffet every morning and the staff was always very helpful. The only negatives were that the wifi was a little spotty at times and there was some dust floating around in the air that had my allergies acting up a little bit. Overall it was a very nice experience and I would recommend this hotel to others desiring a fabulous location on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegTollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We took the bell tower view room which was a nice touch. You cannot beat the location of this hotel .. you are right between the train station and steps away from the duomo and all the action. Anything (acedemia, palace, museums ... ) are all 10 minutes walk max.

The rooms were clean, comfortable, and roomy. bathrooms were clear, comfortable.
The reception was fantastic and booked us all kinds of reservations for museums and gave us great advice on our itinerary to help us make the most of our visit.

While listed as a 3 star, it's pretty well a 4 star in our book if you can overlook the elevator for two that comes up to the 3rd floor reception area. The rooms themselves have been recently updated and have great ammenities.

Would stay here again, and highly recommend this hotel for a stay over in Florence.

Room Tip: Clock tower view room was nice but there is not really much to say about the views here... the key...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arriving from Rome, we loved this hotel. The rooms are bright and larger than in Rome. The wifi was hit and miss which was tough for us to try and call are kids back home. The breakfast was small compared to other hotels, but we were able to get something in us prior to heading out for the day. The staff was very friendly and they provided us with a detailed map and restaurant suggestions right when we arrived. The restaurants they suggested were the best we experienced on the entire trip (Za Za and Giannino). The hotel is located right near the Duomo and it was a perfect location. There are very loud bells that ring each morning, but we were usually up anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcopeland14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our first trip to Firenze (Florence) and we stayed at the Hotel Perseo from August 27-September 1, 2013. The hotel is in a wonderful central location and easy to find from Santa Maria Novella train station a short 5 minute walk. Our room on the 4th floor was spacious with a queen size bed and a nice bathroom. The room is large by European standards and was clean and comfortable.

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfast was included, served in a bright room with a good selection to start the day off right including that all important cup of espresso. Laura, Tani and all the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. On a few occasions, for supper, we decided to stop by a local supermarket to pick up salami, cheese, olives and a beautiful bottle of Chianti which we ate in the room. The front desk staff was more than willing to let us borrow plates, cutlery, glasses and of course corkscrew for our meal.

The hotel is situated ~300m from Piazza del Duomo and an easy walk to Galleria dell’ Accademia, the Uffizi Gallery, shops and restaurants. Even though you are in the center of all the tourist sites the hotel was quiet in the evenings and we appreciated the air conditioning at the end of a day of exploring all the sites.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel because of its great location, friendly staff and cleanliness.

Happy traveling.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpruceGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Perseo at the beginning of September. It was clean, conveniently located, and provided a quiet, comfortable refuge at the end of a day of site seeing. The rooms were spacious, had great AC and in-room wifi worked great. Staff were generally friendly, some more than others, and were helpful in making museum reservations and providing directions to great sites. While we had to return our keys each time we left the hotel, the reception desk was open 24/7. This hotel was fine value for a 3 star accommodation.

Pros:
- great location, easy to find and close to the train station
- had an elevator, which was awesome since it was on the 3rd and 4th floors of the building
- great working AC and in room wifi
- breakfast room was open late and had a fine selection of items
- held our luggage after check out for a couple hours


Cons:
- dreadfully small shower, which leaked onto the floor
- impersonal staff, didn't seem to go out of their way to help
- breakfast room was quite small and lines formed at peak hours
- rooms had wall dents and scuffs, could use some repairs or a coat of paint
- beds and pillows were extremely hard

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#34 of 411 in Florence
1,808 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#51 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#62 of 411 in Florence
1,154 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 411 in Florence
2,135 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $106 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing