We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very nice hotel in the city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy (Duomo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #43 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“very nice hotel in the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed 3 nights in this hotel in January 2013.
The location is excellent! Just 15 m to Duomo, 5-10 min by walk from train station. And it's very comfortable to work around.
Room is clean and nice. Free wifi. Standard breakfast.
So it's nice and not so expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    505
    74
    13
    5
See reviews for
427
701
64
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Perseo for a week and I warmly recommend it. It is about 100 metres away from the Duomo and in short walking distance to so many other museums, landmarks and churches in Florence. We really could have not found a better place and location. The hotel has only a few rooms and is located on the 3rd and 4th floor in an old and well maintained house. It also has one rom on the 5th (last) floor. That was actually the quad room we had and it had an advantage to be quieter than the rooms on the other lower floors. Room was spacious, kept clean. Furniture a bit dated, but that wasn't a problem. Bathroom well equipped and good shower water pressure. The only downside with the room was with the bed as it had a "dome" in the middle, so both of us had the tendency to roll out of bed during the night. Nothing that can't be addressed by the owners at some point. Maybe they even had it solved ( we stayed there in October 2012, but am writing this review a good 3 months later).
Breakfast is included in the room rate and is very good, fresh with pastries, juice, milk, coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate, tea, toast, boiled eggs, ham, cheese. It doesn't change over one week, but it is more than adequate and good.
The reception staff are very friendly and provide lots of good advice with everything you want to know. Tani (I hope I remembered his name correctly) was very helpful; he even told us where to buy tickets for a Fiorentina soccer/football game.
I am fully recommending this hotel in Florence.

Room Tip: The quad room on the 5th floor is roomy and likely more quiet than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertJohn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Found thi shotel on Tripadvisor and booked it based on the reviews I had read. The hotel is very central being less than 200 metres from the Duomo and about 5 to 10 minute walk from the train station (depending on how much luggage you have). We had the room on the 5th floor (room 520), which was perfect for my 2 daugthers and I. Our room also had a view of the top of the Duomo, simply stunning. The staff were always pleasant and helpful, and breakfast each morning in the breakfast room was a perfect start to the day. Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family, ask for room 520. The only downside (but very minor) is that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel was very easy to find, right out from the train station just 5 minutes walking like if you were going to the Duomo on the main street. Upon arrival we were given our room and it was on the top floor with a view to the Duomo. It was great and we love it. Large bed, clean, enough towels, clean bathroom. The staff was incredibly helpful, they will help you to decide what to do, where to go, what to see. We enjoyed the hotel very much. The lobby is not on the ground floor, is on the 3rd and the rooms are on the 4th and 5th, take the elevator to get there.

Room Tip: If you can manage to get the room in the last floor, it has a small view to the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was easy to find from the train station as we arrived from Rome. It's a short walk to the Duomo and was within walking distance of all the main attractions.
Staff at front desk were extremely helpful and managed to book us on a wine tasting tour of the chianti region just after we arrived for that afternoon. We were also given suggestions of places to eat for our three nights.
We had a triple room on the upper level of the hotel. The hotel is split over two floors, reception and breakfast room and some rooms on the 3rd and the rest of the rooms on the 4th floor. The room itself was big enough for all of us and had a lovely big bathroom. Beds were comfy and extra pillows and blankets in the cupboard. The room also had a safe as well as air con/heating. Strangely there was a few Mosquitos in the room, which must be unusual for this time of year, meaning that we did get a few bites.
Breakfast room was small for the size of the hotel but we never had a problem getting a seat. Fresh coffee (of your choice) or tea were made for you and brought to your table. There was always plenty of food and a nice variety of choice.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel for location, good value for money and friendly staff!
One tip-don't bother with any bus tours, Florence is small enough to get around and see everything and most of the streets are pedestrianised

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ-BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a review for our recent stay in January 2013 (low season):

Staff/Service:
-Wonderful personnel, 24hr front desk
-laptop available for guests at the lobby, also pamphlets/brochures and books for tourists.
-helpful with tips and suggestions for food and how to get around
-made our bed and replaced our towels ( more about room below)
-breakfast service was good (more about this below)
-you must drop off key at front desk when leaving the hotel, when you return give them your room number. Worked out fine because there is someone at the front desk at all times. No issues here

Room:
-Wi-Fi worked in our room with no issues! It is free. This is big because we were able to read some more info about the area at night for the next day
-economy double room, good size (booking.com says 415 sq meters) and clean
-2 full beds placed together, sturdy. No problem here. (I am 5'2ft and the boyfriend is 6ft in height, was initially nervous to have his feet hanging but the size of the bed was good)
-clean sheets and pillows
-bathroom and shower also good size and clean
-working heater! which is something I feared since it is cold in January
-hot water available in bathroom
-working safe
-small closet, good for 2 people
-marble floors, bring you slippers!
-window
-T.V., about 5-7 channels. 1 English news channel (CNN). Perfectly fine because we came back to our room at the end of our day to sleep

Breakfast:
-The lounge has about 7 (two person) tables, had only about 4 other people joined us for breakfast.
-a lady prepares your coffee/cappuccino/tea
-some of the food available were: crossaints, bread, toast, hard boiled eggs, cream cheese, jam/jelly/nutella, orange juice, milk, pineapple slices, peach slices, apples, cereal
-personally, I didn't expect much and hoped for something filling to start my day. I was satisfied and my tummy happy

Location:
-center, very close to the Duomo (maybe 3min walk)
-we walked to all major attractions and as far as visiting the Piazzale Michelangelo. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes, also be prepared to hike up those 414steps in the Giotto’s Campanile (Dumo Bell Tower). Spectacular views.
-we wandered a lot, fell in love with the area. It is small and people were friendly.
-there will be peddlers, just be aware
-we felt safe and never felt threatened. I was a bit paranoid after reading about pickpockets, I can see this being an issue during the summer time, did not experience anything like this during our stay.

My travel experience always begins with the hotel and their services. No complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethTravels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

- Location: located just a few meters away from the Duomo; so location's just perfect!
- Staff: very friendly and helpful staff; they would give you recommendations for outings and sight seeing spots
- Room: a big room compared to Italy room sizes. I just had a stained bed sheet and they changed it right away when I asked them to...but otherwise, rooms are clean; equipped with hair dryers, extra pillows and duvet
Florence is an amazing city; we were initially planning to stay 1 night however we extended 2 more days! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadaMagdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#49 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#40 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#57 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#38 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#23 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Property: Hotel Perseo
Address: Via Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing