We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice, great staff and unbeatable location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duomo Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Ranked #39 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice, great staff and unbeatable location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Duomo for five nights. At the beginning, we were accommodated in a very small room, yet quite functional, with a nice little terrace, overlooking the Duomo! I must say the view is breathtaking... such a beautiful piece of architecture right in front of you is quite something.

The only issue was that the room was very noisy... we would have stayed there if we had been in Florence for just a weekend but for a full week supposed to be relaxing, it would not have been possible. We raised the issue with Luca and a lady who helped us in a super efficient way and found us a solution. This made our day and the rest of our holiday!

We loved our stay at Duomo. We thought the staff was very professional at all times and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The only recommendation i would give to thte hotel is to lower the prices of the rooms that are noisier. This will avoid unhappy guests.

The wifi connection doesn't work very well and the water pressure in the shower was not great, but the building is old and that's understandable. We didn't take the breakfast so can't comment on that.

All in all, we really liked our stay and would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone coming to visit Florence!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    265
    59
    12
    7
See reviews for
151
412
102
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on the Piazza del Duomo, on the fourth floor reached by a small, old fashioned cage type lift. It has a helpful, attentive, friendly staff and a great breakfast with views of the Duomo. It is located close to everything and is surprisingly quiet considering its proximity to the busiest attraction in Florence. Breakfast is a standard buffet but with good quality and quantity...and did I mention the views?
Our room was standard small but quite comfortable, spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a small shower but the water was always hot.
I would recommend Hotel Duomo.

Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
san diego
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great hotel right to the duomo! Rooms are very comfortable and offer a small kitchen. This would be ideal especially if you were staying for a few days. They do provide you with breakfast but it is just pastries. The room is very clean and bed the most comfortable we had throughout italy. Really great location!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Florence . Decent hotel, clean. Friendly staff. Old time elevator: will only fit 2. Within walking distance of train station and museum with David. Very good breakfast, in fact best we had while in Italy . Shower is very small and water pressure was suspect, we had issues with low flow and toilets not flushing well but a decent hotel but overall it was a good place to stay

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break and we cannot speak highly enough about this beautiful hotel, its staff are courteous and helpful and the location is just perfect.

The sites and restaurants are on the doorstep and you experience the best of Florence.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Duomo to anyone looking for the perfect stay and will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Cathedral are just incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

What a wonderful location and we enjoyed waking up and viewing the majestic Duomo out of our window.
The front desk was very helpful and efficient when we inquired if they could make reservations at Accademia and Uffizi for us.
Close to good resturants and gelato.
Enjoyed the old two person elevator...added to the charm.
Would stay at Hotel Duomo on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 599SAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I first have to say that when it comes to this hotel, the location couldn't be more perfect. It was so nice to walk up to the front of the hotel, which is right across from the Duomo. But beware, the noise from the tourists below disrupted my sleep well into the night (not the hotel's fault). I had reserved a room with a Duomo view. Well, to me, I thought that would be a room that overlooked the Duomo. But no, I had to walk out on my balcony, look left, and there was a small part of the Duomo. Not what I expected. The room was nice, it's just that the bathroom wasn't very clean. There were several hairs from a previous guest that were left on the bathroom sink. Most of the staff at the front desk were helpful, except for one woman who sort of scolded me because I didn't leave my room key with her when I went out (I didn't know). But the breakfast was great, the bed was comfortable, and again, the location can't be beat. I think, though, on my next trip to Firenze, I might try someplace else.

Room Tip: Double check with the staff about your Duomo view. It may not be what you think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedericoG1, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo Firenze, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Lori,
we appreciate all our guest reviews, because it's the way to improove our services.
We are really sorry about the clean of the bathroom. I can tell you it's the first time that something like that happens in our Hotel, you can check also all the others reviews of the guests and never happened before!I'm gonna talk with all my staff to understand what was wrong in your situation.
As regard the room, we are sorry that it was not you expected, but we want to remind you that it's true that you have to turn on the left to see a part of the Duomo and also the Giotto's tower, but we think usually that for our guests is better, most of all in this season, to have a private balcony in Duomo square in the heart of the historical center. But we made the wrong decision.
We would like to have you our guest next time, giving to you a different room to check if it's what you expect from our Hotel! Hope to see you next time in Florence.
Best regards

Federico Gori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#26 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Hotel David
#3 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#29 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,338 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#53 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#63 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Firenze

Property: Hotel Duomo Firenze
Address: Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no hotel in Florence that can be proud of their location like us.If you lean out the window'rooms you feel like you touching the Cathedral with your hands.Eating breakfast under the "Brunelleschi's Dome" will be a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Duomo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing