We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Ranked #62 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Stayed in the Hotel Duomo for three nights from September 6th. Great location. Our room had a balcony on the top floor overlooking the Duomo. The room had a refrigerator and a safe. The bathroom was clean and there were lots of towels. The receptionists were helpful and the breakfast was adequate. To access the hotel you go into a small courtyard and take the elevator on the left to the 4th floor. It is less than a ten minute walk from the train station and even less from the market.

We would definately recommend this hotel and hope to visit it again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoisinNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Duomo Firenze
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2008

wonderful friendly , helpfull staff .very clean room . bed linen changed 3 times during our 8 night stay.Plenty of fresh clean towels every day.Would certainly go back. Great place to stay for sightseeing , very central.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAPPY6377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I agree with all the positive reviews. The only thing I wish they had was Internet access. But everything else was wonderful. I posted a video of the view from our hotel room number 24.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rachelsstudio_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Small hotel with superb view of the Duomo - close to all the major attractions in Florence.
Very good facilities in a clean and very friendly environment.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a base to explore the city.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank England133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

hotel duomo is a clean and quiet, unassuming little 24-room hotel with a wide range of international guests, in the shadow of the duomo's dome. we got the best rate by emailing the hotel directly - booking was painless and the room exactly as requested.

it was a romantic location but this hotel is not a romatic retreat. we decided that our most important criterion was location and not luxe surroundings and features (my husband pointed out that we were highly unlikely to use a gym or business center during our stay so why choose a hotel on that basis?) and this was a perfect, city center base for enjoying florence. nothing was more than a delightful 20 minute walk away.

reasons we enjoyed our stay:
* location. our 4th floor room had an unobstructed view of the duomo's dome, we could see the details on the tiling, missing slates, etc.
* upkeep. clean, comfortable, modern, quiet, warm, (florence in winter is freezing) rooms.
* friendly service. level of english spoken varied across desk staff but everyone was friendly, knowledgable and helpful. easy check in and check out.
* simple (included) breakfast buffet. we laughed at the review that complained about the quality of the buffet - my advice is not to eat any cake that's wrapped in plastic! we skipped the plastic-wrapped food and feasted on delicious fresh rolls, salty butter, mortadella, salami, cheese, decent cappucino and fine fresh fruit. we ate well and didn't need to stop for lunch.
* good value. this is a 3 star tourist hotel, cost per night was 140 euros. no problems with the bill, no unexpected extras.

things i wished had been a little different:
* bathroom. everything worked well, but the bathtub was TINY - very narow and we're not fat - and the shower was affixed over it with no door, so water tended to splash everywhere. shallow baths only!
* no drawers for clothes - we left stuff in suitcases. hanging room only really. not a drama.
* no recycling facilities anywhere in hotel. sigh.
* no double beds. 2 twins pushed together. i guess that's italy.

i don't know if we stay here again, simply because there are SO many little hotels in charming side streets in the city that variety would be nice, but we were immensely satisfied with our stay and would totally recommend to anyone who wanted a good, comfortable place in town.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lilfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Cant Complain ,,, Great room, Amazing View , Staff Very Helpful . Would stay there again !!

Stayed: July 2007
Thank 2,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I travelled to Florence alone as a friend is living there at the moment. I wanted to stay somewhere that was very central and close to my friends apartment. This def met both of these requirements.

You cant ask to be more central the duomo is directly opposite and from the breakfast room the view from the balcony is truly amazing. Other sites such as the square with the replica of the statue of david & sante croce are only a short walk away and the main shopping street is very close, as is the leather market. The train and coach station are within easy reach with regular trains to piza, milan, sienna, bologne and even rome.

As for the hotel this was lovely. It is on the 4th floor however theres a lift if you dont want to walk up the stairs. The fact the hotel is on the 4th floor makes the views so much better. The staff are really lovely, they are friendly, helpful and very good at speaking english. The continental breakfast was lovely and the breakfast room was kept clean and tidy.

The room was lovely, very clean and modern it even had a flat screen tv. It was cleaned each day and towels changed regularly.

I intend to travel to florence again very soon, and would def book into the hotel duomo again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ejb_2007Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#36 of 411 in Florence
1,789 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 411 in Florence
2,130 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#34 of 411 in Florence
1,808 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Firenze

Address: Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $118 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no hotel in Florence that can be proud of their location like us.If you lean out the window'rooms you feel like you touching the Cathedral with your hands.Eating breakfast under the "Brunelleschi's Dome" will be a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Duomo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing