We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duomo Firenze

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Ranked #47 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for several days in mid June. 4 of us in a triple room (room 23). It was a squeeze but it worked well. I was traveling with my mother and two sons (9 & 12). It was their first trip to Italy and they could not get over the view we had of the Duomo. The bathroom was big and also had a wonderful window with a view, too. The breakfast was pleasant, excellent cappucino and hot chocolate, yogurt, granola, eggs, bacon, toast, etc. The front desk was helpful, especially Alberto. The small elevator for 2 was wonderful (classic and a bonus instead of stairs). The rooms and public areas were comfortable and well maintained. The location was withing a 10 minute walk of all major sites. The boys occasionally played with a wall ball out on the piazza of the Duomo and loved it. The energy of the area was high, noisy at night. But, with windows closed it was not an issue. Would stay definitely here again. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmom024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    305
    69
    13
    8
See reviews for
182
479
134
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had a triple room. No. 23. The extra bed wasn't so great, but the bathroom was modern, large and the room full of windows on the Piazza de Duomo. Nice staff, good coffee and breakfast. The restaurant around the corner Buca Nicolino completed the perfect address for a hotel, as if the Duomo in front wasn't enough! Ha. The food was fabulous. Oh, and the parking arrangement was excellent and reasonable. For shopping this was also an excellent address. A 5-10 minute walk to the Museo Uffizi. The museo staff were the only grouchy Italians we met. Such a great location. The hotel room had noise at night with tourists drinking and talking loud on the piazza below so to sleep one had to keep the windows closed, but there was good air conditioning. We opened the windows to the cross-breeze and lovely side of the Duomo around two and enjoyed the rest of our night's sleep with the windows open. Highly recommended and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neubecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Rooms are nicely appointed and clean-our room was large by European standards. It was clear that the property was recently remodeled-the bathroom was quite nice and had modern fixtures. No carpet on floors-which for us was a comfort as we knew we were walking on clean floors each day. Breakfast was just right-lots of options by continental breakfast standards. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times-we felt an "at home" warmth from them. Location next to the Duomo could not be more perfect-we had a view of the Duomo and could hear the "buzz" from the piazza with the windows open-but the world was quiet when we shut the windows to sleep.

A few "good to knows". Arriving at night, you walk through an old, dark arched entrance and find your way to a small elevator. The elevator can hold two people and one large bag. This whole scene was a bit concerning until we got to the fourth floor and entered the lobby-which was modern and bright. This entry process is not so bad in the daylight and after the first time when you know what awaits at the end of the elevator ride. Second, while some rooms are on the same floor as the lobby, there are some on the floor above (and perhaps below-not sure about that)-and there is no elevator service within the hotel. However, we found the staff aware of the challenge this presents and very eager to help bring our bags both up to the room on arrival and down from the room on departure.

The value of this property based on the room rate is excellent. The room information booklet indicated that it was required to pay cash seperately for wired/wireless internet service-but this was not the case-just go to the front desk an request an internet access code-no additional charges were applied to our bill nor was cash requested.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. It was a wonderful homebase to see Florence and Tuscany!

Room Tip: Would recommend room on overlooking Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomasmangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We've been here twice! Both times in August. Wonderfull hotel with fantastic location. It's close to everything: to historical center and Santa Maria Novella railway station. Our room was with duomo view, the street was overcrowded even at night but it was very quiet in the room. It seems I've found my hotel for my visits to Florence. The only problem is poor breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Sea-Rena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was my second time at the Hotel Duomo. Location is fantastic - you look out on the duomo at third or fourth floor level & its only 40 or 50 feet away. As before, service was excellent. My friend Lisa had to arrive two nights later than originally planned. Although we didn't ask, the staff were happy to only charge for dingle occupancy for the first two nights. Very generous. We came & went at various times throughout the day & it was never a problem. Slightly expensive maybe, but highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markrlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Our room had a fantastic view of the Duomo and not far from the train station. The hotel is on the fourth floor and the lift is a squeeze so a bit of an effort for a jet-lagged traveller. The shower is small and the fan in the bathroom was very loud. But overall it was what you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveurope22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

Excellent location, just outside the Duomo and 10 mins walk away from the train station Santa Maria Novella, the San Lorenzo area with the food market and the leather stalls. The hotel is at the 4th floor of an old building - there's a lift of course. The rooms and bathroom are clean and rather modern, especially compared to most hotels in Florence. The service and air conditioning are good and although they say wi-fi is chargeable they actually give it to you for free if you have your own laptop, but like someone else has already stated, it's quite slow. If you go during the summer months, make sure you keep the window closed and use the AC or you'll get mosquitos, which can be quite annoying at night. You get to hear the bells from the Duomo bell tower but they don't go off at random times at night.

Breakfast is also good - continental breakfast (fresh fruit, croissants, cheese, ham, cereals, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, juices etc.) and fresh coffee or tea prepared for you by the staff. Overall, a really really good place to stay in to enjoy a visit of Florence!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Firenze

Property: Hotel Duomo Firenze
Address: Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no hotel in Florence that can be proud of their location like us.If you lean out the window'rooms you feel like you touching the Cathedral with your hands.Eating breakfast under the "Brunelleschi's Dome" will be a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Duomo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing