We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fantastic week”
Review of Hotel Bonifacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bonifacio
Ranked #176 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have just had the most fantastic week in Florence, where I stayed at the Hotel Bonifacio. I found the hotel clean, comfortable and welcoming. When initially greeted by the owner Karin, I knew I had made a good choice, she was so friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and immaculate, it was nice to see that the TV was not an over powering feature after all, who visits such a spectacular city, to sit in a hotel room glued to the box? The continental breakfast was delicious and a pleasant change from the greasy fry up offered in many hotels. Thanks to Karin's advise and guidance we were able to explore many beautiful places outside Florence, it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff, then at the end of the day, when we settled to bed exhausted the final plus point was the quiet surroundings, due to being a very simple 5 minute walk from the city centre. We will most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Karin has a very nice terraced room, but really all rooms are fantastic, considering this is a 3 sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night only on our way back to Verona from Rome. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was also spacious with good amenities.
The aircon did not work at all. It was difficult to sleep because Florence was entering the summer season. Wifi only worked at the reception area.
Amormino, the guy at the front desk was very helpful in orienting us about the city. Since our stay was very short. He was able to provide us with helpful information on things we can do and places to eat. The room rate comes with breakfast. Their breakfast had a variety f choices.
The only issue we encounter was the distance of the hotel to the station. It's a bit of a walk especially if you are hauling a big suitcase. My advice is to take a short taxi ride to the hotel. It's worth the convenience .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

First the negatives: there are some terrible things about this hotel

1. Small TV with no English channels (only one in French). A short person won't even be able to reach to turn it on. I wasn't even aware that they still make TVs so small lol (maybe the reception could use one as small close to their phone, not in the rooms). And they don't have any other TV in the common areas either. Low volume.

2. Appalling Internet reception (if at all and only in the common area, close to reception).

3. The worst breakfast I've seen in ages.

4. If you inquire about the possibility of a Queen or King Size bed (as opposed to two single beds that easily spread apart), the receptionist, Karin, blames you for "travelling" lol.

5. Small and poorly placed fridge (you wonder if it works at all, yet barely does).

6. Stained/dirty carpets in the hallway. Really?

7. Ripped railings on the stairs (they forget to warn you, but they've fixed it afterwards).

The owner of this hotel is not in his right mind to offer such a small TV plus poor Internet and breakfast, especially to North American customers.

Other then that, the hotel is OK, the room facing the back is quiet, so is the location in general (although a bit farther away, still not a problem). Too bad that the pool you view from the balcony doesn't belong to the hotel :)

Minor tip, but cute: Go on Via Galla (Second one from the hotel) to the beads store to find one of the most beautiful salespersons you can imagine (Claudia) and buy green Fiumio Pearls...
Leather jackets and purses from the Mercato centrale (and food such as egg plant dishes).
Don't forget to go across the river to Michelangelo Plazza and take the buses to Sienna and San Gimignano for a day trip. Email the hotel to reserve you tickets for Ufizzi and Academia. Bargello you can see on your own.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very clean and very friendly staff. Bit of a walk to the attractions.Close to the train station,pleasant breakfast area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The negative details of this hotel are:
1. Air conditioning, if you go in summer to 35 degrees in Florence is required to work to perfectly. The first room we were allocated did not cool, the receptionist kindly assign another one where it worked a little better, which for us was acceptable, but people who like the air really cold, maybe it could be not enough.
2. The worst of this hotel is the breakfast, it was really bad: the bread was stale, a juice that seemed water with a little of juice, a machine for coffee and chocolate throwing colored water no milk, and the worst: 40 minutes from the end of the breakfast hour there was no cheese nor ham, the waiter don´t care, only said "finished". I find it stingy and shameful that lack of professionalism in this regard.

On the other hand, the room was huge, as well as the bathroom, good beds, clean place. It´s location is ok near the downtown, a 10 minutes walk takes you to El Duomo, la Accademia is very close. It would be a very good hotel if not for that shortcomings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I liked the room since it was huge but for me it was a bit too far from the main places (15 min to walk to the Dome) - which might be ok for others! Price is fair & good. Service is good. Rooms with very cute balcony available with a nice view! Breakfast was so-so

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The downbits first:
It's a bit of a walk from the city center. It is not the fanciest of buildings (resembled my halls of residence from university) and the rooms do not have the most modern of amenities.

However, point one: Florence is a beautiful town, quite walkable really and if you want a neat and clean place to catch on a comfortable good night's sleep you shall do just fine with this property. I had absolutely no concerns with safety in this neighbourhood, the room was spacy and the beds were comfortable. The small TV was adequate to catch on some news and the bathroom good to have a decent shower.

Was out of room for bigger part of the day. Walking up to this place was never really a bother despite the relatively large distance which in actual is not much. In fact everything is close to everything in Florence, just that some things are a bit closer than others.

Friendly chaps at the reception, nice big and clean rooms with a refrigerator, decent sized bathroom. All in all all non fancy necessities met and some more.

I would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perkydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 409 in Florence
377 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#149 of 409 in Florence
509 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#128 of 409 in Florence
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#153 of 409 in Florence
730 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#152 of 409 in Florence
319 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#206 of 409 in Florence
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonifacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonifacio

Address: Via Bonifacio Lupi 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#154 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $56 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonifacio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bonifacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonifacio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing