We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Ranked #113 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The location is excellent to Duomo, Straw market, Ponte Vecchio, train station, Pitti Palace. All walking distance! The rooms are good (except we didn't like raefello on 5th floor...and they moved us) WiFi is spotty....mine worked , but cousin couldn't gets hers to connect...we both have iPads; small and cozy feeling hotel. Breakfast the same everyday, but good. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Raefello room is dark and on the 5 th floor with steep steps, no elevator. Pick another on floors 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and would definitely recommend it. Florence is expensive - what you'd get back home for the price of a Florence hotel just doesn't really translate. Against that background, the Strozzi is not cheap but it is cheaper than the top strata of four and five star hotels and it is very well located. it is according to the sign above the door, a four star hotel. It isn't really what I'd call four star by UK or US standards - more like three. But then it isn't really as expensive as other Florence "4 star" hotels. I guess I'm saying you get what you pay for here and I'd recommend the Strozzi for anyone who balks at paying the high end prices but still wants something decent and central.

It is very well located. Florence is a pretty compact city anyway, but all the major sites including the Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, Duomo and Palazzio Vecchio are all a five minute walk away.

The reception staff spoke reasonable English and they were happy to help with maps, storing luggage and ordering taxis. There is someone on the desk throughout the night; later on the front door is locked and you have to buzz in but this was no problem at all.

As others on here have noted, you have to go up two flights of steps to get to reception. At the top of the first flight of stairs, half way up to reception, you can get the lift. There is a stair lift up the first flight of stairs to meet where the lift stops, but it probably isn't the best location for someone with mobility concerns. We stayed on floor 3 and there were a couple of steps after exiting the lift on our floor.

The bedroom was really spacious with a lovely ornate ceiling. It was furnished in an old fashioned way but it was well presented - all the dark wood furniture matched and the dark red heavy curtains were of excellent quality. It felt in keeping with the spirit of Florence. The bathroom was a decent size; toilet, bidet, big sink, decent hair dryer, and large shower cubicle with strong shower (no bath). It was all clean and well presented. The room did look like it had air con but we didn't try it as it wasn't hot. The TV was small and the only English language channel was CNN, but then you don't go to Florence to sit in your room and watch TV. The mini bar contained soft drinks and snacks and was reasonably priced for Florence - two euros for a soft drink.

If you are flying in to Firenze airport, it is only 15 mins in a cab to the hotel. It's a set fare of 20 euros plus one euro per piece of baggage. The hotel is also reasonably near the main station if you are coming from Pisa. Also if you are thinking of visiting the Uffrizi or Accademia Galleria (two of the most famous museum/galleries) then check out the Trip Advisor Florence pages on how to reserve tickets and beat the queues - I found this really helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinzofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was just looking for a hotel in Florence to stay there for one night, when I came across the interesting last minute offer of Strozzi Palace Hotel. Considering the perfect location (I mean it) of the hotel I immediately booked the room for one night, but I regretted the next day why I had not booked the room for two nights when I noticed that there was no vacancy for the night after. The hotel in very well located in Florence, it is clean and the staff are polite and helpful in general. I need to mention Stefano if I am not wrong (the young man with short blond hair and glasses) who was at the front desk upon on arrival in the afternoon as well as the day after.
It is in general a very good hotel by Florence standards, where one should not be looking for large international hotels just because of the architecture of the old city center. The breakfast in the hotel is typical Italian just like other hotels in the area. Our room was relatively small, but you never stay in the room in Florence during daytime. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and large.
A tip for travelers to Italian cities like Florence: do not expect huge hotels with international breakfast buffet in old Italian cities. Everything is typically Italain, size of the room, breakfast and the hotel building. Enjoy the Italian coffee in the morning with a croissant and try the famous Fiorentina T-bone steak in Florence with a glass of good Italian wine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khashayar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

we have just returned home from a great break......firstly we would recommend florence it was beautiful. perfect food wine and weather! the hotel was spot on, couldnt of been better. the furniture and decor is slightly dated but seems to add to the style being in florence. when we checked out there was a tourist tax of 4 euros each per person per night which we wernt aware of so thats worth knowing. the only other point would be that some times the reception staff almost treat you as an interference.......they ignore you even when you are up close and the only one there. this was a shame as it shouldnt be like that, there was a nice guy with short blonde hair and glasses who was an exception to this but the others were on occasion rude. on a whole we would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicnic03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel at the end of August and found it to be comfortable and with just a short walk to the very centre of Florence. The Diablo was just a ten minute walk away and pontevecchio just a few minutes longer. We saw the majority of Florence through walking.
It took us around forty five minutes to walk up to Michelangelo, along the river, up fairly steep hills and lots of steps, but definately worth the effort. However, timings would vary on how fast you walk. Alternatively a taxi ride up to michelangelo plaza which would still be rewarded by the fabulous views of Florence.
The receptionists at the hotel were always cheerful and helpful with whatever query we happened to have and knew the area well.
The hotel had a flight of stairs up to the main lift but did have a stair lift which would be useful for those that might need it. We had a large room which was comfortable and sufficient to our needs with a very reasonably priced mini bar. Only gripe would be that the television was too small for the room, but then you don't really watch much television with the city to explore just outside. Like a lot of european hotels there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but we took our own which was ok.
Breakfast was a buffet sevice with tea, coffee, cereals, a variety of bread etc and lovely sweet croissants.
The near by piazzas were nice to sit and have a hot or cold drink while admiring the stunning architecture all around you, although you do pay extra for the privilege of sitting in the city centre. Take a walk up the many lanes and there is a large variety of shops and eaterys to be found, some in the most unexpected of places.
A small hotel but a perfect base in which to start you city tour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family66Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this very centrally located hotel. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room which was a lovely surprise. The room was large light and airy with a huge comfortable bed. The decor was in keeping with the character of the hotel and city. The ensuite was again large and had a jacuzzi bath which was lovely to relax in after a hard day sight seeing in the wonderful city. Generally the hotel was spotlessly clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical continental fair and therefore adequate. Being British it would have been nice to have had a cooked breakfast option but there again as the say.ing goes "when in Rome" or in the case Florence. Tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom would also have been nice, however overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we would certainly recommend it. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Njgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here Sep 4 thru to Sep 9, 2013. Room was EXCELLENT! Very spacious and clean with working Air conditioning. Bathroom was good - able to move around easily. Staff - very friendly & helpful - no matter what time of day or night. Good location, but Florence is so small, anywhere is a good location. Most reasonable mini bar prices I have ever seen in a Hotel. A must revisit when I return!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33 - very spacious - no particular view however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#129 of 410 in Florence
821 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#142 of 410 in Florence
834 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#85 of 410 in Florence
1,872 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#74 of 410 in Florence
1,664 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#54 of 410 in Florence
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strozzi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strozzi Palace Hotel

Address: Via Dei Vecchietti 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#137 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $95 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strozzi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Florence city center in an elegant 19th century building, Strozzi Palace Hotel manages to mix an antique and stilish interior decor with convenience and modern technology.Thanks to its prime location, just a short walk from the Duomo, the Uffizi museum and Via Tornabuoni, the hotel is perfect for visiting the most important sights in the city. Our hotel is very close to the Convention center as well.Strozzi Palace Hotel is suited for shopping, being conveniently located amid the city's most elegant and prestigious shops.Each room, elegantly decorated with high quality wood furnishings, offers amenities such as satellite tv, air-conditioning, shower and jacuzzi, free of charge Internet use (cabled or WiFi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strozzi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strozzi Palace Florence
Hotel Strozzi Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing