We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location and value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abaco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Abaco
Ranked #259 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights early July. Great location being fairly central. The rooms are small but clean. Tiny bathroom but functional. Air con, wi-fi and breakfast all included. All in all not disappointed and good value for money

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug2371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We would stay again, but here are the pros and cons

Pros:
• Located near the Duomo - just a block or two away
• Clean
• Good value

Cons:
• Many stairs up
• The rooms open onto a central, small, eating area. You hear people outside your door
• The staff did not speak good english ( if you care )
• Rooms are small ( to be expected )
• Breakfast is not great

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dswwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights during the first half of our Italy vacation. We chose the Abaco because of its value and great location, and on the personal recommendation of our daughter and son-in-law. It proved to be a good choice for us. We could easily walk to all the major sights, as well as to/from the main train station/bus terminal. It is close to a lot of nice restaurants and shops, as well. We enjoyed the simple continental breakfasts (served by friendly but no-nonsense Aurora) and the quaint decor. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. Yes, the private baths are tiny, but adequate. The double windows allow for the shutting out of most street noise at night. We had a nice ceiling fan. Not sure how it would have been if A/C were needed. The stairs only prepared us for the climbing we would later be doing in Tuscan hill towns. We did not mind them. It is advisable to pack light with smaller rolling bags for Europe anyway. We recommend the Abaco if simplicity and value appeal to you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Lovely little hotel just around the corner from the duomo.
Only about a ten minute walk to/from the station and 5ish to the centre of Florence.
Room was beautifully decorated in a vintage boutique-y style but the bathroom was perhaps a little too old fashioned. That said, everything worked well and was clean!
Some noise from street below despite being high up- windows are pretty old school too!
Breakfast is served just outside the rooms whenever you request it-juice, coffee, breads and pastries. Staff very friendly.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hotel is located in the heart of Florence. You should avoid if your legs cannot stand the stairs because you should climb to arrive to the main door expecially with heavy luggage, by the way extremely raccomended if you want to save money, room quite clean and good breackfast, cheap price make this choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikegooday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place was nice and charming. My main concern is that there are too many stairs if you are faint of heart or have too much luggage. The location is in the heart of the city, the rooms are nice and have themes by artists. The shower head mount broke the morning we were using it, and by the time we returned to our room later that day, it was fixed. We did not have to tell them about it.
The shower is integrated in with the sink and toilet, so be aware!
The breakfast was good, with great coffee and rolls with jam. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a pleasant Florence experience with not too much fanciness.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in what they offer, and we made sure we had one with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a great find! This is a small hotel located very close to the Duomo. As others have mentioned one has to climb a few steps to reach the hotel, but it is well worth it. The rooms are lovely, lots of gilding! The room and bathroom were very clean. We stayed in the Leonardo room and had our own bathroom, which was small but sufficient. The staff were so helpful and pleasant. I can't wait to return and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#277 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#253 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#92 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#279 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#233 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#164 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco

Property: Hotel Abaco
Address: Via Dei Banchi 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abaco 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Abaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing