We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, No Elevators??”
Review of Hotel La Gioconda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Gioconda
Ranked #379 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

No elevators whatsoever, if you have a heavy luggage,be ready to climb stairs. breakfast is subpar compare to other hotels I've stayed in Italy in same price range. We stayed their 2 days, but our room was not cleaned on 2nd day. Also the noise at night is LOUD! since you hear all the drunkards walking on main streets. Now to the good: The staff service is excellent, the hotel was clean, the location is prime to visit the city center, and 10 minute walk to the train station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Danial K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 425 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is very good. It's within walking distance from the main train station and also the city main landmarks. Very clean. Good breakfast. good hot shower, big room. Internet sucks and it's not free.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimmyBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Arrived at hotel and as soon as entered was met with an old musty smell. No elevator and carted luggage up 4 flights of stairs. Took one look at room, smelly, bathroom dirty, turned around and left. Thank goodness my cousin lives in Florence and found us another place to stay. I can't believe that this is listed as a 3 star. Oh, asked for payment of city tax before we even saw the room, not a good sign.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twlrsmry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The carpet and bed spread stained. The bathroom was dirty, the room smelled of sewage. No elevator and no help getting suitcases up and down stairs. Could not bring myself to even try breakfast. Stayed one night to be woken up by a load noise made by sewage removal truck.

Room Tip: Hotel over priced. Would not recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

After booking this as a secret hotel we dreaded our arrival after reading reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff at the reception were very friendly and approachable. Our room was on the top floor and there are a lot of stairs to walk up but it was fine. When we walked into our room we had no complaints. The room was massive and we booked a double, but in fact had a double bed and then another single bed. The shower look dated but was perfect.

Wifi does have to be paid for but I did not go to Florence to spend time on the internet.

The best part of the hotel, even though we had no complaints, was the location. We only had to walk two minutes down the road and we were standing outside the Duomo. The price was very cheap and with what we paid we could not have asked for more. If I was to go back to Florence I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you do have trouble walking up stairs I would ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We only stayed here one night and honestly that was one night too many. Definitely not 3 stars, wifi wasn't even available in the room after having to pay 3 euro for half an hour. Our air con didnt even have an on button, pillows were thinner than paper, no elevator and were staying in the top floor with a months worth of luggage, some if the staff were rude and breakfast was abismal we left without eating, our sink wouldn't drain and the lights were broken in our bathroom, water pressure in the shower was about as strong as a broken tap and the bed felt like sleeping on cardboard. Not sure what constitutes a 3 star hotel but we stayed in plenty of nice 3 stars across our trip and even better hostels. Don't stay here it's worth a few extra bucks to find somewhere else. Boo!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emmadillemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Before going any further you need to know the cost of our room for 2 nights was 153 euros. This hotel has a great location about 2 blocks from the train station, about 2 blocks from the Duomo (which is fantastic),1 block from the touring busses, about a 15 minute walk to the Birdge of Gold (Ponte Vecchio), and a short walk to the Da Vinci museum. This hotel is a great value if you are not looking for much and just need a place to sleep. The room was clean but very poorly appointed. There was a tub with a shower in it but no shower curtain and we had to borrow a hair dryer from the front desk. It did have a TV, the breakfast was terrible so we ate breakfast out both mornings and had to pay extra for wi-fi, plus schlepping our own bags up 2 flights of stairs. The staff was courteous and helpful with directions, but it is hard to overcome the first inpression of the dingy, dirty lobby, carpet and stairs unless you want a very inexpensive place to sleep.

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor as you have to carry your bags up about 20 steps to get to the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#49 of 659 in Florence
334 reviews
Relais Firenze Stibbert
#74 of 659 in Florence
543 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#154 of 409 in Florence
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 325 in Florence
2,557 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
834 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Gioconda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Gioconda

Address: Via Panzani 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Gioconda 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Florence, at a few steps from the Duomo and from Santa Maria Novella, at 3 minutes from elegant Via Tornabuoni and San Lorenzo, the refined and historic rooms of Hotel La Gioconda welcome guests with typical Florentine friendliness but also with very modern comforts and impeccable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Gioconda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gioconda Hotel
La Gioconda Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing