We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet hotel in a central location”
Review of Room Mate Luca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Luca
Ranked #44 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The first thing one notices about the Room Mate Luca is the incredibly friendly reception, and again every time one has occasion to speak with them. Really a pleasure. The Hotel is in an old building with high ceilings that has been carefully renovated with modern touches. The rooms are large, beds comfortable and our room to the garden was so quiet that we had to check if the window was really open. The breakfast is ok but not spectacular, and a nearby parking garage picks up and delivers the car. The hotel is very central with San Marco, San Lorenzo and even the Duomo close by. As practically anywhere in this great city there are excellent restaurants within a few minutes in every direction.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room out to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Tom,

we are very glad to see that you have used the word "friendly" to describe your impression about our hotel and service: this is just what "Luca" wishes to be, that is a good friend to enjoy Florence with.

We cannot wait to welcome you again. Best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great hotel, i give 5 stars for what is essentially a 3 star hotel in my opinion. Negatives and positives but for the price I can't fault it.
- turn right when leaving hotel and 2nd right will take you 10min walk in a straight line through street markets right to Duomo which then again leads you on to all the other must see sights.... It's a lovely walk with such nice surprises at the end. When you walk back and have lost your bearing which happens after seeing so much just look for the Spar shop and walk up the street (san lorenzo) right next to it.
Hotel in a quiet neighbourhood so you feel like you are seeing a bit of local florence life as well as just the touristy bits
Very clean hotel and clean rooms. Furniture and decor well maintained
- good breakfast, no hot food but I would not expect it at this level hotel
- good wifi connection
- small rooms but on a par with most european hotels. decor in my room was fine, busy patterns but its not offensive to the eye at least not mine bathroom in neutral pea green looks bland and it feels neglected it should be improved. Good shower pressure which is needed after a day sightseeing
Room at the front had a nice view but the street noise are intrusive its a main through road, if you are a light sleeper choose a room at the back. It does quiet down after midnight
Mattress too firm for me but I think most people would not mind it. Little things lets the hotel down ie no towel rail only heating rail. Not good enough in my opinion to find clean towel waiting on toilet seat. Only one bath towel per person. 2 towels would be better and perhaps offer a system where guest request towel changes if needed as part of water/energy conservation if laundry is the issue for not providing more than one towel. 5star hotels offers this so i'm sure it would not be a big deal to most guests who would prefer to have more than one towel. The keycard was temperamental when i arrived which i found annoying because it caused me two trips to front desk with my luggage as they don't have concierge service. It was the most annoying part of my stay which is hardly worth mentioning but bear it in mind if you have lots of luggage, it may be that i have become to used to swipe cards. The staff were friendly and helpful. A free coffee/ tea/ complimentary glass of wine at the end of a hectic day (drinks hr at 6.30/7) would endear this hotel to a lot more people because its not quite in the location where most people want to be, it doesn't have a restaurant and it doesn't have room service. No printer attached to the computer so beware because you may not be able to print attachments if received via email. Would I stay here again. Absolutely its a little undiscovered gem that just needs a little bit more polishing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonitravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear guest,

we have been very pleased to find your comment on this web page. On the one hand, we see that you enjoyed and felt satisfied from the days you spent at Luca, which is something we do appreciate. On the other, we are even more thankful because you have taken a lot of interest in giving us precious advice for improving our service: we are glad to inform you that we are already doing something that will surprise you much more on your next stay.

Please, accept our kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Room Mate Luca in late September 2013. The staff were so friendly and helpful and they made our stay so very nice. The rooms are wonderfully large and comfortable and the breakfast buffet is great. You can get spoiled on pastry and cappuccino every day. You can't beat the location. You are never more that a 5 to 20 minute walk from any site in the historic district of Florence. When you are exhausted from touring all day, you stop for a bottle of wine, some cheese at a shop down the street and ease into the comfortable couches in the main floor sitting area. In all Room Mate Luca is a great value for the terrific rooms, food and service they offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VTParkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Mr/Ms Parkers,

nothing could make us happier than finding out that "Luca" has been "terrific" for you. You have enoyed everything of our service and we are glad that you have pointed out that its been really worth it.

Room Mate awaits to welcome you here in Florence again, or in another city in the world, to give you some special days like this time.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at Room Mate Luca on the 16th & 17th of Oct13. We had a pleasant stay with the staff always available for suggestions and helping us with our plans. They serve grt breakfast with excellent coffee. Would like to specifically thank Franco (front desk teammember) & Andre (all in one staff - bellboy & room delivery) who were very friendly and gave us info about the best restaurant and places to visit. Rooms were typical Europe style small rooms but well kept and well furnished. Only thing which turned me off (which is not so imp) are the lizard wallpapers they have all over the place. Its creepy to have lizard wall paper on the corridors. Cheers to the team of Luca as we had a superb holiday with them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnjuBrijesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to inform you that we have shown your comment to Franco and Andre, they thank you for them and are so enthusiastic about knowing they contibuted to a marvellous stay here at "Luca", together with the rest of the staff.

Your happiness and satisfaction give us a lot of energy to continue on this line and provide other people the same impression and vibe you had.

See you soon here at Luca, then; best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

As soon as I have enter into the hotel I immediately felt welcomed.
The modern style make the hotel standing out between the many other hotels where I have been to.
The colours and the furnitures are amazing, I really liked the wallpapers.
I had a room on the third floor just infront of the Cupola del Duomo Santa Maria del Fiore, it was a very spacious room and i had the internet connection.
Further more, I could have breackfast up to 12noon.
At the reception, I found the staff very helpful,friendly, professional and GianLuca is always smiling and very carefull.
Thank you all their suggestions we had the opportunity to really live Florence.
I simply love it and I would recomand to everybody to book a room and really enjoy their stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emms164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Visitor,

we are so happy to find out that you had a "Room Mate" experience with us. The decor, comfortability, location, breakfast until noon and our staff have been fully satisfactory for you and this is our prime goal.

So, we cannot wait to welcome you again and give you some other unforgettable days in Florence.

Kind regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a long weekend here this fall. The rooms are basic, but very clean and quiet. The staff is extremely helpful. We walked to all of Florence's attractions from here, the Duomo is less than 10 minutes away, and the train station (and stop for the airport bus) is about 20 minutes away.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TnE2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

your satisfaction is something that gives us such a happiness to us! Our location is perfect for visiting the city as we are very close to all main attraction, just like you have mentioned. We are glad that you have enjoyed our service and look forward to providing you with it soon again.

Our best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had a stay of nine nights. The first two nights, I had a tiny, cramped room with an even more cramped bath room. As a male you had to decide your business before entering...
Afterwards an ok sized room with a view to to the Medici Chapel. Very nice.
Breakfast is ok-ish, very basic, however. Stayed the same all nine days, and some times, elements were missing (e.g. scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon) So the last days I chose to have my breakfast elsewhere.
Much can be forgiven... staying at this hotel, you will be next door neighbours to the St. Appolonia with their breathtaking Last Supper. And you are in walking distance to right bank Florence (Palazzo Vecchia, the Uffizi, the Academia is very close by, other museums and countless churches, and if in good condition also to left bank Florence (Palazzo Pitti, Giardino Boboli etc.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Brian,

we have just read your feedback about your stay here at "Luca" and we are glad to find out that it was overall satisfying. We are constantly doing everything possible to improve our service and the indications you have given to this respect are very helpful for us to fulfill your expectations completely on your next visit.

Thank you very much for your sharing this comment with us and we do hope to see you again at another Room Mate around the world.

Kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,200 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
835 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 409 in Florence
2,383 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#30 of 409 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 409 in Florence
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Luca

Address: Via Ventisette Aprile 3, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
#32 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#34 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#62 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $91 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing