We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to all.”
Review of Room Mate Luca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Luca
Ranked #42 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Walking distance to all.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Easy stroll to and from the station. Don't listen to google maps, as they took me the most stupid way.
Rooms are very nice. Ample space and has a fridge.
Easy stroll to the duomo and there is a laundromat next door, which is helpful.
Breakfast is ok. Standard cheeses etc. no hot food. Overall though, price was good and I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are happy to read that you found "Luca" comfortably located for visiting the marvellous Florence, as well as nicely decorated and, as you specify, for a good price. We also thank you for your suggestions because they help us to improve day by day, more and more, the service we offer the people who decide to stay at our hotel.

We send you our best regards from Florence with the hope you will meet some more Room Mate "friends" around the world.

Luca albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    347
    57
    8
    7
See reviews for
144
658
76
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've been in Roommate Luca for our honeymoon, and it's been the best experience we've ever had!
The strategical location is a perfect way of access to the heart of the city, and to the transport points.
When we get to the hotel it was quite early for check in, so we thought we could leave our suitecases and return after couple of hours...but with big surprise, the lady at front desk made some changes and gave us the room immediately (also we had a free upgrade to a deleuxe double room), and that was great, because we'd been travelling all night, and we were exausted!!!!)
The whole building has been renovated and we really loved the modern and young-looking style. The breakfast plenty and full of choice was great, and we really appreciate it was served till noon, cause every night we went to bed very very late! Mattresses facilitate sleep and the view on the city was amazing!
The all staff was kind and helpful. Special thanks to Adrianna who helped us with itinerary, museums booking and excellent restaurants.
We've had the perfect Florentine experience, and we'll go back soon, maybe for our future anniversaries!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear visitor,

thank you so much for choosing our hotel on such a nice occasion and congratulations!

As we can see from your comment we have reached our goal: to make you live a Room Mate experience. We fimly believe that guests are first and always do everything we can to please them; we are very happy to come to know we made it with you and contribute to make your honeymoon even more unforgettable.

Thank you for pointing out all the aspects you like and for sharing them with other people, as well as with us. We have greeted Adriana for the nice treat she had with you and all our staff for the great job they are doing.

So, see you on your next visit here and we send you our dearest regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I'm a student in florence just moved on the 4th of September I was staying at the room mate luca hotel where you can feel hospitality and comfort in the air ...the people are great and they get you whatever you need whenever you need it especially the receptionist Adriana she was very helpful, caring and a real friend she stood by me as I cried while saying my goodbyes to them I really felt better knowing that someone's there for me I really wish her the best and recommend you all stay there it also has a perfect location and they recommend you the best places :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

wow! You can imagine how we have felt while reading your comment: Room Mate Luca is the friend with whom you wanted to share your day in Florence, the place to be... nothing is so rewarding like what you have said. Adriana is a fabulous and warm person, further to her professional qualities and we have congratulated her. We all are always there for our visitor to make them live some Room Mate days.

You know that you have Room Mate Luca in Florence so we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Within walking distance of everything you need to eat and see in Florence. Happy staff. Small rooms with nice amenities. Those facing the street have a bright and quiet view. Bed is soft and comfortable. Breakfast is pleasant.
The best part of this hotel is the location. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the train and bus station but within two or three blocks out the front door, you are surrounded by the city. Three blocks from the grand market and some wonderful restaurants including Pepo, Zaza and Pinocchio. If you are traveling as a group, there are several rooms on the main floor to gather. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stylelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,

"happy" is the nicest word you could relate with our hotel: it means that not only our service, decor, location reached you through the sight and the comfort it gave you but it also gave you the nice feeling of happiness.
We really want to thank you for sharing you comment with us because we have just felt like you did here reading your words through.

We look forward to providing you with some more happy moments.

Kind regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a nice hotel although I would rate it three rather than four star.
The location is within walking distance of all the sights. The area is nice and quiet at night.
The décor is rather bizarre with bright red wallpaper and huge blue headboards. Not good for anyone with a hangover. The rooms are nicely furnished but quite small. The bathroom was a bit dated.
The service was impeccable Reception staff were absolutely fantastic and so professional. Breakfast is very good. There is a large continental and cooked breakfast available. Very affable breakfast waiter. Breakfast is served from 0730 to midday! so you can eat very late or twice if you want.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the front of the hotel and the room was great. Rooms at the back may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverpablito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Visitor,

we would like to thank you for leaving your comment here and taking your time.

We are glad you have appreciated our front desk and breakfast service and we have paid compliments to our staff for doing a great job every day. One our our core aims is to give a close and friendly service because we wish our guests feel at their ease with us and it is very rewarding for us to find out that we are transmitting this sensation. Also, we express our gratitute for the features you have indicated: your advice is the information we need to focus on aspect to be improved and make your next visit to "Luca" even more anjoyable.

We hope to see you again here and send you our kindest regards,

Luca albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really nice, very modern hotel in a fantastic location. We were able to walk to almost all key destinations in 15 minutes yet the immediate area was quite at night which made for peaceful night sleep and easy to get to. The hotel is decorated beautifully, the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was a good size by Italian standards. Staff was very helpful and overall the hotel felt significantly more expensive than what we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemma35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear guest,

we are so glad to see that you have liked all the main aspects that differ us from any other hotels: comfort is the keyword and you have had this feeling about your sleep, about the location, about the staff, the decor, the atmosphere and all this for a reasonable price.

We really hope you will consider Room Mate Luca as a good friend to visit again on your next visit to Florence.

Kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel with good location. Very close to the Academy Gallery.
Many other tourist attractions are are walking distance.
The breakfast was tasty and the rooms are all newly renovated.
Rooms aren't very spacious but are comfortable. We stayed with a baby in the room and it was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath and or a balcony (there aren't that many of them).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanyFel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Visitor,

it is a great pleasure to read yuor opinion here. We are so happy to know that your family and you enjoyed your stay so much!
Exactly: rooms have been renovated because we want our guest to stay in a comfortable and welcoming hotel that could be felt as a home away from home.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope you will look for another Room Mate on your next visit to a city where you can find us!

Best regards,
Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#44 of 412 in Florence
2,087 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#41 of 412 in Florence
465 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,302 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,945 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Luca

Property: Room Mate Luca
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile 3, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
#32 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#62 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Room Mate Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing