We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orcagna Hotel
Ranked #40 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. He volunteered to help us sending our postcards.

There is a balcony attached to the room, however, there are some bugs from the balcony which enters our room as well. We did not get bitten but the bugs appears to be slightly scary.

The location is slightly far from city area, this hotel is suitable for couple/family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DodoOng84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear User DodoOng84
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are sorry, that due to the very hot summer, on your balcony you have found some kind of mosquitos.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 849 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

For the price we paid we were very happy with the hotel. The location was ideal for a stroll to the centre. It was a safe neighbourhood. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful and even spoke good English if needed. They also recommended a lovely restaurant a couple of streets away- La Taverna. The bedrooms were large and airy with efficient air conditioning. Our rooms on the 3rd floor were newly refurbished. The rest of the hotel admittedly needs to follow suite but that didn't spoil the overall enjoyment. Only criticism was the breakfasts which were disappointing. Poor selection and what little there was had run so we had to ask for items both days of our stay. Overall a nice little hotel and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Third floor has been refurbished. Rooms are large and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear User Susan R,
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a nice stay here at the Orcagna Hotel.
The breakfast service has been improved.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

small hotel with wonderful rooms. our room was huge, comfy and very modern. friendly staff and close to local shops and restaurants. breakfast was ok. easy walk to river and about 15 minute walk to city. one block to bus stop, where the number 14 buses will take you right to the train station for 1.2 euro.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear User Kathleen M,
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a good experience here at the Orcagna Hotel.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was with my family in Hotel Orcagna in August 2013. The hotel is very well located, just 10 minutes to the center, walking distance, in a very quiet área with parking place if needed. The room was very good and big, including a Jacuzzi, conditioning air and a total renewed bath. The people was very nice and profesional. It's a very good election to enjoy Florence.
I will come back again next time

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Optimal place for everybody who like to walk in Florence, and not like to pay too much.
After when we found the shortest way to center, 15min. can walk to there.
(unfortunatelly GPS not working well because of narrow streets)
The own room was nice, modern, clean. The automatic air condition system was also perfect.
Breakfast also fine, manifold.
I realysed only one negativ point. The WIFI field intensity not was enough for the 4. floor, so I can not use internet in room. (the neighbouring hotel WIFI was available, but encoded)

Room Tip: For lower floors can not use the small lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Varga10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Hotel Orcagna was a wonderful place to stay during my family's brief trip to Florence.

-The staff were extremely friendly and smiled every time we walked through the door.
-The decor in the hallways was rather dated but once you got into the rooms you found that they were remarkably modern by comparison.
-The rooms were very large relative to the size of the hotel itself and the balcony gave a wonderful view of the scenic florenite street.
-The location felt very safe and was situated within only a moments walk of several cafes, restaurants and gelaterias.
-WiFi was also free throughout the hotel and the A/C kept the rooms at a very manageable temperature.
-The breakfast was slightly smaller than I would have liked but the variety was there and the staff were very attentive. The spread included cereals, fruits, meats/cheeses and pastries.

Overall, an amazing place to rest your head whilst exploring Florence

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After all this good reviews we were sure that we chose the right hotel. Sure, it's a bit far from the center and we had to realize that for us it was too far. We like it busy and bustling, but the area of the hotel is more than calm (this concerns restaurants as well).

++ The nice and friendly welcome of the staff. All the time helpful and smiling. Especially the lady serving breakfast. She deserves a big Thank you!! The breakfast itself was one of the best we had during our 3 week Italy tour. A good choice of everything one needs for breakfast. The best was the cream filled pastry: yummy!!!

-- We got a room on the first floor next to the staircase. We instantly noticed that the door to the room was made out of carton and therefore not soundproof. At nightfall we then got the chance to experience the non existing door. Unable to get to sleep as hotel clients kept going in and out. Since our lovely co-travelers had no politeness at all and screamed, sang and talked loud for instance at 3 am in the morning in the staircase, we were unable to sleep as there was always movement. Would be nice of the hotel to at least advice it's clients to respect silence at nighttime. But nothing happened. The second night, was as before. Updated on all guest talks we left the hotel after two nights and regained sleep again.

Not a problem for us, but if you are of a bit more voluminous body size, you might find it a bit problematic to sit on the toilet as it was literally glued to the wall . You need to sit down diagonally, not quite comfortable.

Obviously all the other guests giving their great advices have not been put on first floor. I'm a bit sorry to give this low mark, but it was the reality.

Room Tip: Prefer upper floors for more silence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mipanko63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 411 in Florence
424 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#66 of 411 in Florence
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,408 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 411 in Florence
840 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#66 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $65 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing