We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming Hotel right on the River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel River
Ranked #96 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
southern california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Hotel right on the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The second you walk into the hotel (which is right in front of the Fiume Arno), it smells as if you are walking into a spa. The front area has several scented diffusers, much like a spa would. The decor in the lobby is contemporary, but welcoming.
We first landed in Florence and had a very unpleasant experience with our rental car (DO NOT rent through Budget at the Florence airport), so we were a bit worn out by the time we got to our hotel. We were greeted by Roberto, who was not only very friendly and helpful but really funny as well. After our rental car experience, it was awesome to have such a warm welcome. He recommended a great restaurant to us (forgot the name, but it was delicious!) which we walked to on the way to the Michelangelo Piazza. He actually gave us a map and circled all the major sightseeing spots, which was incredibly helpful.
The Hotel itself, in my opinion, is in a great location. It is a 7-10 minute walk to the main sites and city center, but great because you don't have to deal with the large crowds and noise of being closer to the center. The room itself wasn't huge (who really spends that much time in the room anyway?), but it was redone with nice furniture and nice decor. The entire bathroom was done in mosaic tiles. Everything was really clean and the location wasn't sketchy at all.
Breakfast was right on time.. there were fresh pastries, cereal, coffee, meats and cheeses. The wi-fi internet was free, you just need to ask for the password. And as far as our car, we parked in their valet for $25/day (outside parking was around $10/day if you are lucky enough to find a spot).

Overall, very impressed. The staff were all very helpful. Hotel River is a charming and quaint hotel, right on the river and in this price range I definitely wouldn't stay anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojochanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    302
    90
    28
    11
See reviews for
118
329
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

My husband, sister and her spouse, and I stayed here for four nights. Hotel River is a fine choice when in Florence. The location is an easy walk to many attractions in Florence. The rooms are clean. Towels are thick and generously sized. Breakfast menu offers a variety of choices and an option to eat in a glass sun room. The staff at the front desk are great! They're helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. We asked for restaurant suggestions away from the tourist destinations and were always pleased with the food and setting of the restaurants suggested by staff. Fourth floor balcony overlooking Arno River. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cplatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We've stayed in Hotel River for 3 nights in the double room. The location is perfect - directly at the Arno river embankment and just 15 minutes walk to Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio. The staff is friendly, speaking several languauges fluently (partly including also Russian!). The rooms are very comfortable, clean and cozy. The breakfast is perfect (fast continental style), the morning espresso/capucchino coffee is also fantastic. The price is also reasonable - 117 EUR with the prepayment option directly at the hotel site in i-net. I would hardly recommend to stay in this hotel and definetly will come back.
Valery

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valery1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I've just got back from a 3 night break at the Hotel River and found the hotel to be good value for money and a comfortable stay. I travelled with my cousin and we had 2 room on the ground floor in the courtyard. As other reviewers have said, from the outside they don't look all that inviting and as the only windo is the door they can be quite dark. This however is anadvantage in the heat and as you are away from the road it makes the room nice and quite.

The room was a good size, as was the bathroom and equipt with everything you need - comfortable bed, plently of storage, fridge, air con, sat TV (although the only english channel is CNN).

It does say there is free wifi in communal areas but I couldn't get a connection. I didn't ask as I wasn't really bothered but there was an PC where you could pay to access the internet if you wanted.

The hotel is a little way out of town but if you are happy to walk 10 / 15 mins its fine. Its a flat and plesant walk either along the river or through the back streets. We always felt safe walking as 2 women. If you do have walking / mobility issues it may not be for you.

The view from the roof terrace is lovely on an evening.

There was a reasonable choice for breakfast - rolls, pastries, meat, cheese, cereal, fruit and yoghurts along with juice, tea and coffee. We tended to be there between 8.30 - 9.00 and there was always a choice and the food replenished.

The staff were freindly and helpful and had a good knowledge of the sights. You can leave your luggage after you check out if on a later flight and reception will happily call you a taxi whenever you want.

The hotel is also close to a stop for the 'hop on / hop off' bus which we used as a taxi most of the time!

All in all it was a good hotel, clean, comfortable and good value for money. I would stay again if in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in May. The hotel was very welcoming when we arrived on a wet Saturday. Our room was downstairs off the inner courtyard, at first it looked rather uninviting but we came to like our room as it was cool and very very quiet. A bonus for Florence. The room was smart and well equiped. Air con very efficient which will be important in the summer.

Breakfast was good with a good selection, there was always someone on hand to replenish the food and clear tables. The breakfast room is small but there are extra tables in the conservatory. Good choice of food.

The public area was very clean and well looked after. The staff were very helpful and had an umbrella on hand when it was wet. It's about a 10 min walk to the heart of Florence. An amazing city, I am now museumed out!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

"I thought initially that it was slightly misleading that they had a terrace with a bar, in fact, the bar is on the ground floor and the terrace is on the roof, not that it was a major problem, it wasn't. The staff were friendly, informative and reliable and always helped regardless of what was required. The location on the river was great and being so close to major city attractions was a bonus. A bargain stay really!"

Bellerive restaurant along the river is lovely and has an outside dining area, Santa Croce is very close and a must to visit both internally and externally (the graves of Michelangelo and Galileo are inside) and the plaza outside usually has an array of market stalls and restaurants. The whole city is great to walk around with so much history and visual delights, we just keep going back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazza1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We were greeted by an unsmiling and unhelpful man at reception who was most reluctant to help us get our suitcases up the many steps and into the hotel. Our room was small and dark and I developed a rash from the harsh detergent used on the bedding. There are rooms with much better views and space; make sure you request one. The breakfast buffet was consistently late and somewhat limited. Celiacs need to bring their own cereals. Location was good with the Uffizi and shopping within a 10 minute walk. Wifi is available as is a pay as you go computer terminal.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your opinion by the precious Tripadvisor community.


We do apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered and we can ensure you and the other travellers that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.


Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#94 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#179 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#75 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#138 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#79 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel River

Property: Hotel River
Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#109 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#126 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing