We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was great! Beds...”
Review of Hotel River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel River
Ranked #93 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff was great! Beds...”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great location, great staff with GREAT recommendations! The air conditioning was not the best, we were very hot most of the time. The bed was what seemed like 2 travel cots put together. Not comfortable at all, springs poked us all night. The desk clerk helped us set up great tours, they always had a smile on their faces!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    358
    110
    33
    13
See reviews for
160
408
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff at Hotel River was wonderful when my husband and I stayed on our honeymoon. The staff speaks English, and they make sure to tell you about all the attractions nearby. They even gave great recommendations for food places and routes, and the hotel's location is very convenient. We were within walking distance to the Uffizi, Pitti Palace, and the Boboli Gardens. We highly recommend Hotel River! We will be staying here next time we come to Florence. Be aware that there is a city tax that you have to pay when you check out. Also, they do provide internet, but you have to reconnect often, as the signal in the rooms is not the greatest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Well located hotel, about a 10 minute walk from Ponti Vecchio and the other main sights. We had a garden room which had no view but this didn't matter as we were mostly sight-seeing. If you are somebody who wants a view then the garden rooms are not for you. Room was good, clean and well equipped. Staff were helpful but we were not offered any help with our cases, there are quite a few steps from the street. I am sure that if we needed help it was there. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family of 4 travelled in Italy for two weeks with another family of 4. The River was our first hotel of the trip and not our favorite. The rooms were reasonably clean as was the rest of the hotel, but the hallway had an odd odor. The shower in one of our rooms was really only the corner of the bathroom with a shower curtain around it, so the whole bathroom was wet after every use. The WiFi (very important with 4 teenagers!) was really only accessible in the lobby and then only when 2 or 3 people were using it. The breakfast was probably the best of all of the hotels we stayed in! The desk staff did their best to be helpful even though the language barrier was an issue periodically. We did make use of the laundry service offered (airlines lost some luggage) and it was top notch! Items were returned the same day, well laundered, pressed and individually packaged. The location of the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the historical and shopping centers of the city and directly across the street from the Arno river. Taxis are available in less than 5 minutes which is helpful because the meeting place for most of the tours is at the train station and too far to walk. There is a bar in the lobby, but it is staffed by the front desk personnel. They always seemed happy to help. I wouldn't say it would be my first choice, but nothing really negative either.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the lower level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were bumped out of our original hotel due to a men's wear convention going on in Florence and placed in the Hotel River for our three night's stay in Florence instead. Too bad for us! There were steps to get up into the non-discript registration desk supported by a thin, metal, wobbly hand rail for support. Most of the front desk personnel were okay, but one young man there needs to brush up on customer relations as well as English. He was not helpful, understood very little English and made us feel like we were bothering him when we did ask a question. One day, we heard him say that he had had a "rough day" and seemed at his wit's end. Our travel agent requested rooms with views if possible, and we were given a view of a metal outdoor stairway lined with window boxes containing dead abelia shrubs. The breakfast buffet was very inferior compared to all of the others we encountered during our two weeks in Italy. Be careful if you happen to use the restroom down a little used hallway from the from desk. There is a 1-2 inch step to get into the restroom, just enough to catch your foot on if you forget it's there when leaving. I tripped coming out of there and ended up falling and hitting my head on the door across the hall. That old phrase--"I've fallen and I can't get up." applied to me. After calling for help for a few minutes, an employee finally heard me and went to get familiy members waiting for me in the lobby. An employee handed me a bag of ice to put on the lump on my head and said he thought I would be okay. The shower in our room, as in the others, was very small which is to be expected in these old buildings, but the dark brown grout in the stall hasn't been cleaned in ages and there was black mold growing around the bottom of the shower. I informed them of this and was told it would be addressed right away; nothing changed during the three days we were there. My advice would be to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting your opinion by the precious Tripadvisor community.

We do apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered and for not satisfying your expectations.

Nowadays the hotel is completely renovated (2016).

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4 (two teen boys) was happily surprised with the scenic location on the river, just an 8 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio, and with the modern, comfortable rooms. Marielena at the front desk and Esther, the manager, were extraordinarily friendly and helpful in helping us to navigate Florence, suggesting places to visit in Tuscany and even calling a local restaurant to help us get a carry put pizza. The breakfast was satisfying with an ample assortment of ham, cheese, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, fruit, pastries, cake and toast and wonderful coffee and the staff met us every day with smiling faces and made the utmost effort to please us and make us feel welcome. Balcony was great for the fireworks of San Giovanni festival. Great time had by all..Thanks My friends from Bari and Sardinia!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarreraPorsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Close but not in the middle of the tourist bustle, and right across from the Arno, the Hotel River offered good service, a clean room, and friendly staff. With a change in my plans I was able to book a room easily, enjoyed the welcome and hospitality of staff and the pleasant environment inside and out.
A short walk from the old city centre offered quieter evenings, a good night's sleep and was great after time in the crowded streets.
Breakfast offered good choices on the buffet. The location offers easy access to head out of town without having to negotiate the small one-way streets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrollingFootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, May 28, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#88 of 422 in Florence
641 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#53 of 422 in Florence
1,513 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,119 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#56 of 422 in Florence
2,119 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Balestri
Hotel Balestri
#69 of 422 in Florence
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel River

Property: Hotel River
Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#108 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing