We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel River
Ranked #102 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

To tell you the truth, I was a little put off by the fact that this is a "Best Western Hotel". I'm not a fan of chains. But... and this is good news ... you'd never know that it was. Historic, beautiful building, only a few dozen rooms, and great location in central Florence. The desk staff was always extremely helpful when we asked for restaurant recommendations and directions. Continental breakfast was better than average, and there's even a little bar where you can have a cocktail or wine. I'd stay there again. Only negative ... wifi was spotty. But we encountered that everywhere throughout Italy. It wasn't the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leslie3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 946 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Hotel is located close to Santa Croce and is a 15 minute walk to the Uffizi. The rooms are small, but are very very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate, but not outstanding. It is the old story, you get what you pay for. Our room price was under 90 Euros for one night. We normally stay at a different Best Western when in Florence, but we decided to give this one a try. All in all it was good value, quiet and somewhat conveniently located. If you want a better breakfast or bigger room, pay more at a larger hotel. Good for budget minded travellers watching their money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanadaHumblepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel was in a good location, overlooking the river, a few minutes walk to all the squares and bars, which is lovely.

Hotel was nice and friendly, and very clean.

Few faults, Double bed was twins pushed together, toilet door didn't shut, and no tea and coffee making facilities. But all ok apart from that.. :)

Overall was a great stay in Florence and great stay at hotel. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for front rooms facing the river, we were at the back, not great view, but we wer'nt there o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorraineManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

When my husband and I chose this hotel we did so because of it's location...On the River, close to the Duomo and a five minute walk to Maggiore Car Rental. We really weren't expecting the room to be as spacious and well appointed as it was and our room had a view of the river so that was a bonus. The cost was moderate, the room was very clean,the service was excellent and the breakfast was good. If you choose this hotel, ask the concierge where he would take someone special for a lovely meal. He will send you to a fabulous restaurant that you might miss,otherwise!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrylyn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

During our stay in Rome, Venice and Paris our budget for two rooms per night at four night stay was the same for every destination. Location and a good night’s stay were key for us. And this hotel delivered, from the location, friendly staff, hotel amenities, to the spacious rooms. Cleanliness is an obvious mastered skill, as our rooms were made up every time we left our rooms, which included our afternoon naps! The rooms do have safes, but we never used them. Taxi service is readily available that are checked over by the front doors men. More times than not, we walked and enjoyed every minute of it. The area is my favorite, 1 minute walk to a piazza filled with food, coffee shops, shopping and historical sites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gloria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The place is well located by the river a short stroll to the Duomo, so location is good. Rooms are small but clean, bathroom dated. I did not have a river facing room (I think half of the rooms face the wrong way) and the breakfast was below par. No restaurant in the hotel but plenty to choose from around. Reception actually gave us a good tip for a restaurant to the east of the hotel i.e away from the more touristy center. Parking is available around, but pay attention to the times and rates. Free wifi was a good touch.

In short stay in this hotel for its location and cleanliness but do not pay too much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

the Hotel is in an old building but very nice and very well manteined, the rooms are confortable and I had a particular big bathrooms, wich I appreciated very much. The staff is very nice
A very good breakfast is served. the hotel is located in very good position

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CostanzaPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,633 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#86 of 410 in Florence
536 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 410 in Florence
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#68 of 410 in Florence
831 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#61 of 410 in Florence
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel River

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#108 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $104 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing