We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean hotel!!”
Review of Hotel River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel River
Ranked #101 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This was our very favorite hotel during our travels to Italy during the summer of 2010. The hotel was a pretty hefty walk from all the tourist attractions but we didn't mind it considering it allowed for a more peaceful and quiet surrounding to the hotel. Our room was on the first floor, in a corner room. The air conditioner was quite powerful and we loved how it almost froze us at night. Since the summers in Italy can be quite brutal, the freezing, chilly air was a blessing to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast in the morning was very good and just what we needed before a long day on our feet eating nothing but endless amounts of gelato!! We loved this hotel and would absolutely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank educ8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 939 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Spent 4 nights at hotel river on a romantic long weekend with no complaints! Location is wonderful, close to all the main sights literally a 10 minute walk away, and right on the river Arno a great view from the terrace upstairs! Perfect sight seeing base as you a far away enough to relax in peace and quiet, but close enough to reach everything by foot! River front rooms come at a premium though as the hotel is narrow, so doubt be expecting a room with a view. Guess rooms are a little dated but everything is so much better than I excepted from a 3 star, already recommended this to friends and family, who have equally enjoyed this hotel! Breakfast is good, and all in all this hotel was great value for money. Will be staying here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Have just returned from 5 nights here.Holiday was to celebrate our Ruby Wedding so didn't get off to a good start when our case didn't arrive in Pisa which meant that we decided to walk from Santa Maria Novella station (had looked at hotel brochure which said 1.5km, think they meant 1.5 miles!) - do not try when the temp is in the 30s!! Hotel is next to the river which has lots of algae so not the prettiest sight but hotel is lovely. We had a room on the second floor, basically up a slight slope as their first floor is our ground floor,overlooking the courtyard. Although small the bed was big, though a bit hard for our liking which made it average rather than v good, the a/c was excellent without being noisy and the shower was strong but most of all it was quiet. Yes, as others have said you could hear your neighbours but that applies to many hotels and we've known worse! Breakfast was continental buffet with hot water and a variety of tea bags powder for hot chocolate as well as coffee and the usual cereals, toast, ham, cheese and bread but with lovely tarts every day. Position wise it's quite good as not far from Santa Croce as well as being 5 minutes easy walk to Ponte alle Grazie and the other side of the river.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hotel River, and were pleased with our experience. I was not happy with the location initially; however, once we got our bearings, it was fine. The hotel is a short walk from Piazza Santa Croce which we dined at each evening (try the lasagna at boccadama and gelato from Gelateria de Neri on via dei neri) and a 15 minute walk from Piazzale Michelangelo which as beautiful views of the city. This area is not as crowded with tourists and a little but out of the "hustle & bustle" which was nice. As a point of reference, we walked back from the train station one evening and it took us about 35-40 minutes....20 mins or so to the Ponte Vecchio.
The hotel itself is clean and nice. Our hotel in Rome did not have a shower door, so we were thrilled to not soak the bathroom every time we showered here. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked well. The free wireless left a little to be desired, but that was fine...part of being on vacation is disconnecting! Breakfast was fine..good coffee and something to fill the void until lunch.
The hotel staff was friendly, always meeting our needs, but sometimes a little smug for lack of a better description. Overall, this was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip to Rome, Florence, and Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPLou56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Italy for 2 and a half weeks mid June and stayed at the hotel River for 3 nights. As we were in Florence during Fashion week, hotel prices were nearly double and we found the hotel River to be excellent value during this time. Based on the mixed Trip advisor reviews, we were a little concerned and didn't have the highest expectations for this hotel leg of our journey, but we are happy to report that our stay was excellent!
The front desk were extremely friendly and helpful and we especially liked Carlos who on one particular morning, when we missed breakfast, went out of his way to make us cappucinos and bring us croissants to our room.
We loved the location, close enough walk to the hustle bustle of all the major tourist attractions ( 10-15 min walk) but far enough away in a relaxing area right accross the street from the river. After sightseeing all day it was heaven to get away from all the tourists and come back to our quiet hotel.
Another bonus is that you are only a 15 minute walk accross the river to Piazza Michaelangelo which offers huge sweeping views of the city!! We definitely recommend getting up there to watch the sunset, the views are breathtaking!
Our room was clean, the ac worked great and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but had the only strong hairdryer of our entire trip out of all four hotels we stayed in. To the ladies reading this with long hair- bring your own hair dryer to Italy unless this is the only hotel you stay in.They are all incredibly weak and it takes ages to dry your hair.
All and all we had a wonderful stay and woud not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeachesVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here as part of a group in mid-June. The air-con was fantastic and much needed given the soaring temperatures.
We required a twin room and were given a family room which was large and spacious with a huge bathroom.
We stayed for 3 nights and the room was cleaned brilliantly and lots of fluffy towels put in the room each day.
We found the reception staff to be helpful and pleasant.
This is not a luxury hotel but was good value and about 20 mins leisurely walk from the main attractions in Florence.
As a base for seeing the city, this is, I'm sure, as good as any.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for the family room - I think it is 205. No great views but nice and big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pestofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Have just a long weekend in Florence. We stayed at the River Hotel just across the road from the river. Great location. Unfortunately the hotel was not so great. Very basic rooms as was the breakfast. The bed we had which was supposed to be a double was in fact 2 single beds pushed together, the mattress had collapsed one side and was more of a hammock full of pebbles. Having complained we were told sorry no other rooms available however having pushed they found that they did have another room. The staff on the whole were nice and reception staff spoke excellent English. The hotel is very narrow so don't expect a room with a view of the river.

Room Tip: Don't get room 200. If you do check the bed first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sijui1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#54 of 409 in Florence
1,624 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#82 of 409 in Florence
530 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#61 of 409 in Florence
2,368 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
835 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#126 of 409 in Florence
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel River

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#108 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $101 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing