We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
Ranked #44 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed a couple of nights here and had a wonderful stay. It's clean, the room was lovely and very quiet. The breakfast was the best we've had during our stay in Italy and all the staff were very helpful and friendly! The only thing I'd want to change was the hairdryer in the room was very weak and kept getting very hot in my hand meaning drying my hair took 3 times as long as normal! Everything else was great and we'd definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tilly350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

We are delighed to read such nice words.... It makes us very happy our professional and personal effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible were appreciated so much!

It is very important for all of us our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay in our hotel and city.

I wish you will choose again La Casa di Morfeo for your next holiday.

Best regards

Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 447 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I just spend a few days in Florence as part of a two week trip to Italy. We stayed at the Morfeo and really enjoyed it! The room was beautiful and very quiet. Breakfast was great and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. The location was good as well since we were easily able to walk everywhere we needed to go in the city. Wifi was easy to access and very reliable, faster than the other hotels we'd stayed at in other cities. We felt very safe there as well as the front doors were locked to the outside.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhalvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spendig some time writing such a nice review for us!

We are absolutely delighted reading all our services and suggestions were appreciated.

For our team is a great reward to make all our guests happy and their stay memorable.

We wish to meet you again in Florence

Best regards

Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband came to Florence after spending a week in Poland. I can't say enough about the people who run the hotel. Even though we came late we were greeted at the front desk with a smile and treated like we were family members. We were told to eat at restaurants that they frequented and were guided to wonderful events going on that we may have never known about had we not stayed at this very sweet B and B.
The service went far beyond anything I experienced in much more exclusive and expensive hotels and we felt like it was our home away from home.
Clara and Samuela you are a gems: and Gabrielle who served breakfast was warm and friendly; thanks for making our stay so wonderful. I was very sorry that I didn't get to say goodbye to you Clara. All I can say is that if you ever want to come visit Boston please feel free to stay with us.
And don't hesitate to stay at this marvelous gem in Florence.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rubydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

We are delighed to read such nice words.... It makes us very happy our professional and personal effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible were appreciated so much!

It is very important for all of us our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay in our hotel and city.

I wish you will choose again La Casa di Morfeo for your next holiday.

Best regards

Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to Italy for the first time and our stay at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo made our stop in Florence, our absolute favorite. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are large, the staff were so friendly to us (as we struggled through our poor Italian) and their recommendations for neighborhood restaurants were AMAZING. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all our friends. It's out of the touristic area of Florence, but completely walkable to all the sights. Also, the WIFI was strong and the breakfasts were wonderful. We really loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kash73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Kash73,
What lovely feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. A stay with us should always be the same – special!
Describing your stay as "favorite" is as good as it gets. I am so pleased that you enjoyed La Casa di Morfeo experience, and I cannot thank you enough for sharing your kind words with us.

Many thanks for the kind words following your experience, I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the place we suggested you, we are pleased to share our favorites places with our guests!!

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

My best regards,

Samuela
& the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at La Casa di Morfeo for three nights in late August, and it was great. The room (Mimosa, I think) was very relaxing, quiet and beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, and the shower - what a wonderful shower. I could live there. Breakfast was very good - nice selection and very good quality. The staff was very welcoming and attentive, and gave us a great wine as a farewell gift. And finally, the location was perfect - walking distance to everything but on a quiet, peaceful street. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would definitely stay there again. Thank you again for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yonitmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Yonitmo,
how wonderful that you think the hotel is managed well! Seriously, it is always a pleasure to read of a guest's appreciation and your comments are no exception… all of those fabulous qualities you describe come with a price tag!
However, it always makes me smile to read that staff and services are appreciated and our attention to detail does not go unnoticed. Thank you for your genuinely delightful comments and for this glowing summary of your experience

Thank you, your appreciation means a lot to me and the staff.

I hope you will return and permit us to spoil you on another special occasion!!

Warmest Regards,

Samuela, Clara
& the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at La Casa di Morfeo for 4 nights. Having travelled quite frequently in Europe and stayed in (usually 4*) hotels on the trip, I would say my stay at La Casa di Morfeo has been an absolute pleasure!

The staff, Clara and Samuela, are extremely friendly and helpful. Because of the timing collision of our stay with the Florence cycling event, I was quite concerned about how much we could enjoy the city when roads were blocked (which turned out to be absolutely nothing!). I emailed the hotel quite a few times and was responded almost within 24 hours each time.

The hotel is very centrally located. It's literally 5-15 minutes walk to all the major sites (Duomo, Santa Croce, Uffizi etc) and a good 20-30 minutes walk from SMN station (with heavy luggages). PLEASE NOTE that when you go down to Via Ghibellina, please look for the "51" in black/blue print on a white plate (as opposed to a dark 51 which you might encounter first if you're coming from Bagello side).

The breakfast is very nice and the coffee boy is very accommodating (I personally found the pastries too sugary but it's just personal preference). The hotel room is at least twice the size of a normal room you could find in other hotels in continental Europe and it's spotless and comfortable. The wifi is very good (as I can make Skype calls without any interruption) but it was spotty during the last 2 days when we were there.

The only reason that I am not giving this hotel a five star is due to a slight noise issue. Our room faces a side street (whilst half of the rooms face Via Ghibellina as I observed), it is definitely not a busy main street but sometimes in the middle of the night, I could be woken up by street traffic, and to resolve that, I turned on the A/C to make the fan sound cover the noise. Also, although the walls are insulated and soundproofed, we were woken up by some loud noise - which I believed was from the hair dryer installed on the wall - at odd hours in the morning. The hotel might wish to consider changing the wall-installed hair-dryer to the usual hair dryer and "triple-glazed" the windows? However, having said that, reaction to noise is highly personal so if you are not sensitive to noise, this hotel is definitely a perfect match for you.

Stayed in late September 2013 and as a couple.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Gbmchen,

Thank you for taking the time to post such as detailed review! We love it when we know about pleasant stays – it’s so motivational for the entire team at the hotel and I have shared your feedback with them.

Thank you so much for your very kind words and comments and also for your evaluation about "critical points" which is always helpful for improving our services and features.


I wish you every happiness and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Florence

Warmest wishes,

Samuela
& the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

we had 2 nights at this hotel and loved it.
the rooms are big and bathrooms huge for European standards.
breakfast is good and the staff all very friendly and recommended
an excellent restaurant which we tried.
the location is good and all the attractions are 10 min walk.
would defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxxie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spendig some time writing such a nice review for us!

We are absolutely delighted reading all our services and suggestions were appreciated.

For our team is a great reward to make all our guests happy and their stay memorable.

We wish to meet you again in Florence

Best regards

Clara&the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
#7 of 659 in Florence
829 reviews
Duomo
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#19 of 659 in Florence
233 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#14 of 659 in Florence
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 659 in Florence
346 reviews
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 659 in Florence
404 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Charme
B&B Emozioni Charme
#8 of 659 in Florence
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa di Morfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa di Morfeo

Address: Via Ghibellina 51, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $66 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa di Morfeo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property was completely renewed on the 2013. Fresh and pleasant ambiences with a touch of glamour make this hotel a perfect "oasis" of relax. The Hotel La Casa di Morfeo is located in the folkloristic area of Santa Croce, in the true heart of Florence's historical center but out of the most crowded and noisy places. Art and culture, good food and night life are mostly concentrated in our area. A few minutes walking and you can see the Uffizi's Gallery or Ponte Vecchio's beauty, the magnificient Duomo's Cathedral or discover the "Oltrarno" 's area. Would you go for some outdoor fitness area or for a relaxing walking surrounded by nature and history? Just follow the river Arno! In our neighborhood you can really experience the typical florentine atmosphere: the beauty of our squares going with vintage shops, cool boutiques and artisanal shops where you can find our handcrafted products. And more.. Don't miss a visit to the local market of Sant'Ambrogio to discover the true Tuscany food and wines and buy some delicious souvenir or having a tasty experience! Last but not least: whatever you mean as "nightlife" you can surely find the perfect place for you: sit and realx in a traditional Enoteca (winebar) or in a fancy restaurant to enjoy your dinner, or join the movida for an "aperitivo" in a pub or in a disco! Suitable for families and couples and solotravellers, leisure or business travellers it offers the guests an intimate atmosphere with professional and careful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Casa di Morfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing