We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
Ranked #29 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Small and delightful”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is within 10-15 mins walking of all the sights and areas in Firenze. It is not exactly central but is within the central area. The rooms are super - well equipped and with lovely large beds. The staff are excellent, helpful and friendly. Breakfast is well presented. For a hotel with under 10 rooms this is a great place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Boyscot,

We are extremely happy you enjoy that much our hotel, services and city!

Your praise and comments on the quality of service and the carefulness of our staff are surely one of the best compliments you could ever make to us.

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Best regards

Clara&Samuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    109
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
235
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a treat, with clean, well-appointed, and private rooms. Hosts were very attentive and the place is well worth the few extra blocks of walking from the big-ticket Florence attactions. After the grunge of massive old tourist hotels with indifferent, hassled staff, you might try this place for a change...plus it is just barely enough outside of the tourist ghetto to give you a taste of the daily life of the regular folk. It was a bady-needed pick-me-up....thanks for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear JoeandVirginia,

Thank you very very much for your nice review.

It makes us extremely happy to read such nice words spent for our hotel, services, city and expecially the staff because we see our personal and professional efforts was fully rewarded!

We wish you would choose our hotel again for your next holiday.... and looking forward to welcome you again,

All the best

Clara&Samuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We are just finishing up a one week stay. My wife and I in "Anemone" and my sister-in-law in "Lavender." The location is good wth a C1/C2 bus stop right out the front door and a multi- line hub just a ten minute walk. The staff is uniformly pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was satisfactory, but with little variation. Great coffee, as has been noted elsewhere in the reviews. Lots of hot water at all times and modern if somewhat small bathrooms with shower. Modern design and kept very clean. Both our rooms were on the courtyard shaft, which was said to be the quietest location. Unfortunately, this area is a pigeon paradise and they are quite loud, particularly starting around sunrise. The air in the room was non- circulating to the degree that we had to open the triple-pane window for relief, which made the pigeon coos even louder. The Lavender room was cooler than comfortable, which "could not be helped." Note that this was the first week for air-conditioning with cooler than seasonable weather. My wife would have liked more light in our room, but this did not bother me. The pillows were like hard sponges, but we had our own pillows.

Room Tip: Away from reception and not on so-called courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shermusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for spending your time to write a review on our hotel.

We apologize if some prblems made our hotel lower than your expectations, since we always try to do our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. So when we read we were not able to completely satisfy you we feel sorry...
Besides: our guests comments, even though they are "critical" are very helpful because help us to turn our weaknesses into a best service.


Best regards

Clara&Samuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our group of 3 couples stayed here in late May. We arrived by train from Venice and we opted to walk to the hotel which was a hike pulling our bags and a bit difficult to locate. If you weren't looking for it you'd have difficulty as its along a busy street and there's only a small sign on the building outside. You have to push a button and they buzz you in and you enter into a small vestibule but there are no signs of life or directing you we're to go. It wasn't until we wandered up the stairs did we find the actual door to the place so once we found it no worries . There is a lift for the luggage but we didn't discover it until we had hauled up our suitcases. The rooms are neat and are somewhat themed, the orchid room, the red room, the blue room. The breakfast was good and they make a good Cafe Americana. The rooms were clean however I did receive multiple spider bites on my face and arms during the first night of our stay so I was careful to check the bedding and pillows each night after that. The bites still haven't healed! The staff was extremely helpful and suggested places for us to for groceries and restaurants which were delicious. The location is very near the Uffizi , Duomo, and the Acadamia and we could walk easily all over Florence and find our way home. The only downside to the hotel was the spoty Internet access. Not very dependable and quite random as far as coverage.
All in all I'd say that this was a good value mainly for location, once you find it, and the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 150Riverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear 150 Riverview,

Thank you very much for your nice review: we are really pleased you enjoyed so much our hotel, staff, services and location.

We always appreciate a lot when our guest spend time in writing such well detailed reviews because all your tips also help other guests to make up their mind about us.

We apologize for the inconvenience of "spiders", we actually do not think they were spiders but only small mosquitos and when you stayed here the good season just started and unfortunately when is warmer they show up! We did not expected them because the weather has been changing day by day lately ...... Sorry ......

We wish you would choose again La Casa di Morfeo in case you decide to return to Italy!

Looking forward to meet you again,

Best regards

Clara&Samuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This has been easily the best hotel/B&B we have stayed at in Italy.
The staff is very nice, helpful, welcomed us very warmly from the beginning, offered refreshing drinks upon arrival.
The room was very beautiful and with modern amenities, comfortable, quiet, with reasonably priced minibar.
The lounge/breakfast area is very nice too, breakfast of very good quality (albeit indeed the unhealthy choices abound and will entice you, but hey, it's vacation). Espresso and eggs will be made to order, a nice touch.
Upon departure we've been given a gift by the front desk staff, yet an other very nice gesture.

The only minor gripe we had was the spotty wifi reception in our room. We've been told it is not the normal thing, they promised a technician will come over at the first opportunity to fix it. Our stay finished on Sunday, so we didn't benefit from it though.

Also one night when some of our partying neighbors came to the room nearby, somehow something happened and both them and us lost the power. This was relatively late at night. In less than 15 minutes after the incident someone came by and fixed the issue so we got our power back, an other demonstration of how effective this place is run.

As for the location, yes this is within the ZTL/central area, and not very close to the train station, but the location is very convenient to the main attractions, the best restaurants in town are nearby and yet the area is very quiet.
The public transportation options are there, but we made the mistake to catch the C2 from the train station and it was incredibly packed (was a tiny bus that goes on the tiny old streets). Next time we would just catch a taxi.
The hotel can provide you with a permit to enter ZTL with your own car but only for loading/unloading your luggage. I recommend against having a car while in Florence. We rented one on our departure and used it to visit Tuscany and other places.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent so I don't know what to recommend. Internet connection might be better if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebastianZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Sebastian,

I would like to say thank you million times for such detailed review on our hotel!

It is very nice of you to describe all the benefits you got staying in our hotel and city, this is a really good "tip" for people who will decide to come here.

We are really sorry if the internet connection was not very good, we had technical problems and unfortunately we are not always able to fix them immediately, even though we always try our best to let our guest enjoy all the services offered.. :)

Thanks again for you nice review,

We wish to meet you again in the future.

Best regards

Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've just returned from our 6 day trip and already want to go back!

From the moment you arrive at the hotel till you leave you are well looked after by all the staff. The little touches such as the little guide of what to see and where to eat locally are great.

We stayed in the 'Melissa room' - and it was great. The room is huge, there is good storage space and a great en-suite. Everything was clean and well maintained. We had an incident in our room during our stay (neither ours or the hotel's fault) and the staff were excellent and sorted everything in a matter of hours. The breakfast was very good and well stocked. We returned late at night on a number of occasions and always felt safe walking the local streets.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-Preet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Dr-Preet,

Thank you very very much for such nice review!!!

We are really happy you enjoyed our hotel that much...!

It has been a pleasure for us to have you both here in the hotel and even though an "incident" happened to you, we are happy our "team" was able enough to fix everything fast and gave you the chance to enjoy the rest of the holiday... :))

Looking forward to meet again

All the best

Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed with our baby girl (14 months old) and were very happy with our choice. The decor was very modern, but tastefully done and the staff were extremely accommodating with our baby girl - in fact the staff were so taken with her that they would happily spend time entertaining her whilst we ate breakfast (which was better than most continental breakfasts we had experienced in Italy).
The shower was brilliant - no shortage of hot water and a wonderful rain head plus massage jets; and as a bonus it was easily large enough for us to shower our baby with us with ease.
The only down side was the wi-fi. It worked just fine the first day but they had a technician in to do something to the system and we had problems connecting after that.

Room Tip: Try for one of the rooms at the end of the halls so you don't have the noise of people walking p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being so thoughtful in giving your appreciation of the time spent with us.
We were touched to read your kind words towards La Casa di morfeo and to know that you highly recommend our Hotel.

Your praise and comments on the quality of service and the carefulness of our staff are surely one of the best compliments you could ever make to us.

I was also truly happy to read your positive feedback on the decoration and the size of our rooms as a nice reward to our continuous effort to meet our clients’ expectations.

We hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back in a not too distant future, and I look forward to seeing you at that time.

Sincerely yours,
Samuela & all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
B&B La Casa dei Tintori
#10 of 659 in Florence
780 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#8 of 659 in Florence
139 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Poeti
Locanda dei Poeti
#17 of 659 in Florence
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 659 in Florence
303 reviews
San Lorenzo
Alloro B&B
Alloro B&B
#31 of 659 in Florence
781 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#16 of 659 in Florence
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa di Morfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa di Morfeo

Property: Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
Address: Via Ghibellina 51, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa di Morfeo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property was completely renewed on the 2013. Fresh and pleasant ambiences with a touch of glamour make this hotel a perfect "oasis" of relax. The Hotel La Casa di Morfeo is located in the folkloristic area of Santa Croce, in the true heart of Florence's historical center but out of the most crowded and noisy places. Art and culture, good food and night life are mostly concentrated in our area. A few minutes walking and you can see the Uffizi's Gallery or Ponte Vecchio's beauty, the magnificient Duomo's Cathedral or discover the "Oltrarno" 's area. Would you go for some outdoor fitness area or for a relaxing walking surrounded by nature and history? Just follow the river Arno! In our neighborhood you can really experience the typical florentine atmosphere: the beauty of our squares going with vintage shops, cool boutiques and artisanal shops where you can find our handcrafted products. And more.. Don't miss a visit to the local market of Sant'Ambrogio to discover the true Tuscany food and wines and buy some delicious souvenir or having a tasty experience! Last but not least: whatever you mean as "nightlife" you can surely find the perfect place for you: sit and realx in a traditional Enoteca (winebar) or in a fancy restaurant to enjoy your dinner, or join the movida for an "aperitivo" in a pub or in a disco! Suitable for families and couples and solotravellers, leisure or business travellers it offers the guests an intimate atmosphere with professional and careful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Casa di Morfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing