We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“5 stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casa di Morfeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
Ranked #25 of 631 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for 3 nights in mid-November and I must say, La Casa di Morfeo more than exceeded my expectations!
From the moment we were greeted by the ever so lovely Clara, who took the time to point out to us the main tourist attractions, restaurants and gelato bars, we knew we were in for a treat.

The rooms were well designed, spacious and clean. The staff greeted us each and every time we entered or exited the hotel, and every time we requested assistance, it was handled promptly.
Clara and Caesar were also kind enough to arrange a birthday cake for my partner and it was something we both fully appreciated.

Breakfast was enjoyable, particularly the ready to eat rolls, yogurts and pates.

The hotel is situated just outside the heart of Florence, but a quick stroll to the end of the street (Via Ghibellina) will see you reach Duomo in no time. In addition, there is an array of quality restaurants along Via Ghibellina so you will not be short on dining options. We firmly recommend you try Trattoria Osteria Da Que' Ganzi, which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel along the abovementioned street - high quality Italian meal at affordable prices.

Thank you Clara and team for being amazing hosts and making our stay in Florence so pleasant. Next time we are in Florence, be prepared to reserve a room for us :)

Room Tip: Taxi fare from Santa Maria Novella station should be between 8-10 euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very very very much for your review!

I can not describe my happiness in reading such nice words, expecially reading that my personal and professional effort to make your stay pleasant and relaxing has been appreciated.

I hope, we all hope, you will remember your stay at La Casa di Morfeo as a great time and we

wish to meet you again in the future!

Thanks again! Take care!

All the best

Clara and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    94
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
211
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I would like to thank the staff especially samuela for organising my wife's birthday flowers cake etc. they also booked museum reservations before we arrived.great location, nice tidy rooms , and really great staff , thank you very much for a nice stay, very welcoming ! mr and mrs Barrett

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbarret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Barrett,

I am so happy to read such nice review... and also that my effort to make your anniversary special and memorable was appreciated.

Our goal is to make our guest happy and satisfied about their stay and I am so pleased I could say we got it!

I wish we could meet again in the future and that you would choose again La Casa di Morfeo for your next holiday.

All the best

Samuela and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful bed-and-breakfast not far from all of Florences top attractions. Our room was very nice and everything was very clean. The breakfast was very good and the barista made us a cappuccino and he said it was the best in Rome. He was right, it was the best we had! The staff was helpful and kind. They even gave us a bottle of wine upon departure! We would recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TulipandBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Our goal is to pamper you and make your stay memorable, pleasant and relaxing and everytime we

read such nice words it make us very happy and we always wish our personal and professional

effort is appreciated and helpful.

Wishing to host you again in the future,

All the best

Clara and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful Hotel with great staff. Cesare, Samuela, Rafaela, Alda, Guta, Adriana and Emilia, thank you for making us feel at home in Florence. Hotel room was spacious, very comfortable, very clean and easy to get to. Breakfast was great. Location was great with 3 sights on the same street and within walking distance; House of Bunoroti (Michelangelo's nephew), Museo Borgello and Palazzo Vechio. Although we tend to get lost easily, the hotel was greatly situated within walking distance to the Duomo and other attractions. The staff made us feel like old friends and made the BB our home away from home. Had a wonderful 7 days in Florence and hated to leave. Again thank you Casa di Morfeo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank potteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort during your stay in Florence.

Our mission is to ensure our clients a pleasant stay, unique and unforgettable, without loosing an informal and familiar ambience.

It was a great pleasure, to have you, as our guest and we would like to send our best wishes.

Thanks again for the kind review, we wish to host you again in the future.

Best regards

Samuela, Cesare, Raffaella, Greta, Emilia and Alda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Overall, a beautiful and clean place. The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. The only reservation we had about it was the location.

We stayed for 3 nights in October. We arrived by train, and it was relatively easy to find although the directions from the website weren't helpful at all. The walk from the train station, estimated at 20 min by their directions, seemed longer than that. The staff's estimations of distance, like telling us it would take only 5-7 minutes to the Duomo, always seemed underestimates. For reference, we are young travelers who are fairly fast walkers, and we're used to walking being a given part of travel in historic cities like this. We saw major sights such as the Duomo, market, Uffizi, Accademia. We knew it wasn't right in the old city, but even so we were surprised, and the walk back to the hotel always seemed longer than we expected.

That said, everything else about the hotel was beyond criticism. It was stylish and beautiful, and looked exactly like the photos from the website. The room was clean and quiet. The street which the hotel is on is quiet and we had no difficulty with noise. The bathroom was very clean. Staff were incredibly kind. They really, really went out of their way to help us with anything we needed, including making reservations at museums and restaurants. They welcomed us with refreshments when we checked in, and packaged a huge breakfast for us when we had to catch an early morning flight out. Breakfasts were elaborate, with good selections of pastries, savory sandwiches, juices, yogurts, fresh fruit, and hot drinks to order.

Wifi: free to use, and decent. We could web surf and check email without difficulty, but skype was limited to voice only as video seemed to cause it to crash. From our limited experiences at other hotels this was a common problem, not just here.

Overall, the location is the only thing which would make me hesitate to stay here again. It might not seem far from Santa Croce Church, but the other main sights seemed far. Otherwise we liked the style, cleanliness, and especially the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Promethium P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Public Relations Manager at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for your rewiev.

I am really surprised reading that you think we are really far away from the city center because the distance between Via Ghibellina and Via Calzaiuoli (Duomo) is less than 1,5 km (5-6 minutes walking).
Usually our guest appreciate the quiet and silent zone and consider the distance (not exactly central but still very close) a "plus" of our hotel because often the "earth" of the city could be very noisy during the night time...

Anyway, our company owns other 3 hotels very central (Duomo area, main train station area and Piazza della Repubblica) so if you liked our style and service next time you could choose one of them, we would be very happy to have you again!

Thanks for the nice words you reserved to our staff: we are really glad our personal and professional effort to make our guest happy was appreciated!

Clara and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very, very, very nice people and service.
Very friendly, proactive, and ready to help for everithing you can ask. Also they are well informed about tours, restaurants, market prices and all activities are happening in towns.
The room was completly clean and nice decorated, well organized and quite big for a 3 stars hotel. Much bigger then the normal 4 Start in UK, or Sweeden.
We had fruits, cofee, tea, water from the hotel, free of charge, and more then this they gifted us when we left.

Should I say was the best cofee in my life, at the breakfast ?! :)

The hotel is in the middle of the road btw Ponte Vechio & Santa Croce church and Dome, so good location as well.

Once again Really worm and kind people, I felt like they were our friends.


Cristina

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Cristina,

thank you so much for your review !! You could not choose nicer words.

It has been a pleasure for us to help you having a nice stay and to choose good experiences to do.
We always try to do our best for our guests and when someone notice it we understand that we did the right job!
It has been a pleasure to let you feel at home in our Hotel, this is what we always try to do.
The way we work may seem "informal" but positive reviews make us understand that it's the right way to let you feel at home among friends as in your case.

Once again thank you so much to choose La Casa di Morfeo and for pointing this great review.

We hope to host you again during your next trip to Florence!

Greetings,
Samuela
and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We made a quick trip to Florence as a part of a 3 week whirlwind tour of the Adriatic Coast. We wish we had allotted more time at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo. Before our arrival, Clara had booked museum reservations as well as recommended a wonderful place for dinner. (One of the best meals we have had in our three visits to Italy.) She met us upon our arrival, gave us a city map and a brief overview of the best things to do and see in Florence.
Our room was well appointed, average size for a european hotel, and the bathroom was easily 2 times larger than your typical european hotel bath, with a large two person shower. Everything was spotless. One small negative was the pillows were flat, but otherwise the bed was comfortable with soft sheets.
Breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent. I never saw Cesare walk; that young man literally ran from task to task. Believe me, you did not have to ask for anything twice and whatever you needed was taken care of quickly.
They stored our luggage after check-out and when we returned that evening they called a cab for us, and gave us a lovely bottle of wine as a gift.
The hotel was well located. It was a two minute walk to Santa Croce and about 10 minutes to anywhere else from there.
It was very well priced for the service, comfort and location. We will stay at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo next time we go to Venice.

Room Tip: Online pictures are a good representation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Casa-Di-Morfeo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Casa di Morfeo, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Client,

first of all I would like to thank you to visited us and to spent your time to make this good review!
The positive aspects that you widely pointed out make us happy and it means that our commitment is correctly transmitted. You are our aim and it is a pleasure to discover that in your case we have succeeded. Thanks for your support, for making public your satisfaction and for pointing out the differentiation from European structures.
With a such small “boutique” we have the opportunity to take care about our guests providing them a "taylor-made" service.
We are really proud that you enjoyed everything of our resort, your words flatter and encourage us to continue on this path.

Hoping to welcome you in the future again.
We send you our warmest regards!!
Samuela and Morfeo’s staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Corte Dei Neri
Corte Dei Neri
#9 of 631 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Charme
B&B Emozioni Charme
#7 of 631 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Poeti
Locanda dei Poeti
#19 of 631 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#17 of 631 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#16 of 631 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#20 of 631 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa di Morfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa di Morfeo

Property: Hotel La Casa di Morfeo
Address: Via Ghibellina 51, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 631 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa di Morfeo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property was completely renewed on the 2013. Fresh and pleasant ambiences with a touch of glamour make this hotel a perfect "oasis" of relax. The Hotel La Casa di Morfeo is located in the folkloristic area of Santa Croce, in the true heart of Florence's historical center but out of the most crowded and noisy places. Art and culture, good food and night life are mostly concentrated in our area. A few minutes walking and you can see the Uffizi's Gallery or Ponte Vecchio's beauty, the magnificient Duomo's Cathedral or discover the "Oltrarno" 's area. Would you go for some outdoor fitness area or for a relaxing walking surrounded by nature and history? Just follow the river Arno! In our neighborhood you can really experience the typical florentine atmosphere: the beauty of our squares going with vintage shops, cool boutiques and artisanal shops where you can find our handcrafted products. And more.. Don't miss a visit to the local market of Sant'Ambrogio to discover the true Tuscany food and wines and buy some delicious souvenir or having a tasty experience! Last but not least: whatever you mean as "nightlife" you can surely find the perfect place for you: sit and realx in a traditional Enoteca (winebar) or in a fancy restaurant to enjoy your dinner, or join the movida for an "aperitivo" in a pub or in a disco! Suitable for families and couples and solotravellers, leisure or business travellers it offers the guests an intimate atmosphere with professional and careful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Casa di Morfeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing