We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View is Awesome But the Food is Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of SESTO On Arno

SESTO On Arno
Ranked #218 of 2,680 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $98
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Santa Maria Novella
Description: Restaurant SE•STO on Arno combines contemporary Mediterranean cuisine with a breathtaking view over Florence and the Tuscan hills nearby. Whether you're in Florence for a special occasion or enjoying a quiet lunch away from the city buzzing streets, the restaurant offers a unique place to savor the tempting culinary creations by Executive Chef Entiana Osmenzeza paired with a wide selection of the best Italian and international wines.
toronto
Level Contributor
175 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“View is Awesome But the Food is Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

If in Florence, it is worth coming here for the view of the whole city, especially as the sun sets. We did not formally dine but nibbled on the small evening drink buffet-ie, all drinks are 16-18 euros no matter the price in the menu because u get access to a "happy hour" type nibbles buffet-some veggies, fish, breads, an asian slaw etc etc. The views are awesome and at those prices, you hope the drinks are stiff-and they were. We wouldn't do it again but glad we did it once-great fotos and a fun time. Staff were awesome bringing us blankets as t cooled down outside-a very nice touch. ver modern and zen like feel to the place. It gets crowded and a line forms fast so go a little earlier if u can.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Restaurant Manager at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear smallhanded,

Thank you for posting your comments with reference to your recent experience at SE·STO on Arno.
We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed the amazing view of the whole city. Especially during the sun set, but also afterwards when it cools down a bit.

We sincerely hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

With kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    215
    57
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
269 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“All about the view, menu OK, but not brilliant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The views are lovely, but you need a table near the side of the balcony. The service is good. The lunch menu reasonable value. Although the food choices are a bit limited somehow - not great on vegetables.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathanKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Restaurant Manager at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear JonathanKlein,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent experience at SE·STO on Arno.

We look forward having you again as our guest in the future.

With kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go if you hate crowds.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

The rooftop view of Florence is the big draw, but the food and service impeccably stand on their own. In fact, because of the glare of the setting sun, even Americans should consider having a drink at the bar as the sun sets, then sitting down to dine. Its popularity with large tourist groups detracts a bit from the otherwise romantic atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Restaurant Manager at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for your kind comments!
We are delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy the sun set with us at SE•STO on Arno. Thank you for rating our service and food impeccable.

We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Deserving of a Michelin Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I both went for the taster menu at 75 euros per head. We sat by the window directly overlooking the Arno. The views from the seventh floor were spectacular. The restaurant is furnished in a clean cut modern style and is shared at the far end by the hotel guests. What it may have lacked in terms of ambience was more than compensated for by the view. The food and service was first class and I would compare this aspect to a Michelin Star restaurant. In fact in my opinion the food was of a better quality (and quantity) than that served at the Michelin Star restaurant (Il Palagio) where we dined a few days later. This all represented excellent value for money. We loved this restaurant and will definitely dine here again should we re-visit Florence.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186378Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Restaurant Manager at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear 186378Phil,

Thank you for your kind words of praise.
We are delighted to read that you loved our restaurant SE·STO On Arno. We are extremely glad to learn that you experienced our service and food quality so highly!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again if you should ever re-visit Florence.

With kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked through our hotel during our trip to celebrate my 60th birthday. There was some confusion regarding the booking but this was sorted out even though the restaurant was very busy. The food was equal to Michelin star restaurants we have eaten in, service was excellent and very friendly. There were delays but we were kept informed and given extra wine as an apology which was very kind, they were also concerned as it was a bit rowdy but this added to the atmosphere. A big thank you to all the staff for making our evening so enjoyable, will definitely return one day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maxiban_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarwoodFirenze, Restaurant Manager at SESTO On Arno, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear maxiban_11,

Allow us to thank you for sharing with thousands of travelers your amazing experience with us.
We are particularly delighted to read that you rate our service and food quality so highly.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of your next visit to the Se•Sto on Arno.

With kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SESTO On Arno also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to SESTO On Arno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing