We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views from best tower in Italy”

Campanile di Giotto
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.96*
and up
Duomo Monumental Tour
Ranked #10 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great views from best tower in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We chose to climb this tower rather than the Duomo dome and were very happy with our choice. Great views of Florence and the Duomo itself that several different levels during the climb. We went during the offseason so it was not very crowded. One of our party has a fear of heights but found this tower to be fine because the top was enclosed which was comforting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,485
    1,518
    185
    23
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Doors~~”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

It is a beautiful building with some of the most gorgeous door on the Bapistry. Know what you are looking at...that is a must. If you go there cold without any knowledge of what you are looking at it will just be another building and feel like a chore walking around all that Europe has to offer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny_11809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids, nice views from the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Kids enjoyed it. Seemed easier than going up the Duomo, no art work to see once you get to the top though. A few areas along the way to the top to take in the views of all of Florence.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake_Kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Views from the top!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The views from the top level are fantastic and make the climb worth the effort. There are plenty of spots on the climb to stop and take a rest with nice breezes to help cool you off. The stairs are not wide but when passing people everyone is careful and gracious. This is a great way to overlook the city and get some exercise before a gelato.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best view of the dome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our goal during our trip to Florence was to climb everything that we could. On our second full day we climbed Giotto's Bell tower. We have climbed many bell towers, but this was one of the hardest. It is over 400 steps, and there are many looong staircases that never seemed to end. You would climb 30 to 40 steps in a row, then turn the corner to see another staircase looming straight up ahead. I am so glad that we made the trek up. The views of the dome and city were amazing! This is also on the FirenzeCard, so the cost was included.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie44876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campanile di Giotto also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Campanile di Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing