We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“417 steps to get best view in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile di Giotto

Campanile di Giotto
Piazza del Duomo | Historical Center, 10000, Florence, Italy (Duomo)
055-230-2885
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$48*
and up
Small-Group Florence Opera del Duomo Museum Tour
loughborough
Level Contributor
351 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“417 steps to get best view in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After queueing for 25 minutes on good friday we were able to ascend the steep stone steps of the campanile next door to the city's great cathedral. It is not for the faint hearted and it is fortunate that the tower is split into four sections in order to allow the less fit ( me) to catch their breath. Dont attempt this after a large breakfast or lunch of ravioli washed down with chianti! Having reached the viewing gallery after 417 steps you can enjoy your view and try to spot a local cafe that you would like to enjoy your celebratory glass of rosso you will have earned by the time you walk back down to the bottom.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kishere t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,532
    1,221
    137
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradley, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quite a climb but what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was quite a climb to the top but the view was well worth it! There are levels to stop and rest along the way. The steps are stone and there are alot of them but once you get to the top you can see all of Florence. We purchased the Firenze Card so our admission was included and we got right in, no waiting. A must do!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1NatNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
337 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Worth the climb for Duomo views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I climbed the Duomo back in 2009, so on this trip I decided to climb the campanile. So glad I did - the duomo views were worth it. The climb is easy - I was in a hurry and was rushing it as well, but they have levels on the way up for nice breaks if you need it. Go to the top and enjoy the views of the city and especially the duomo.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Architecture at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

traditional florentine Art and architecture from the middle ages to the Renaissance, also see the Baptistery

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
849 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“Get there early for a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I got there 15 minutes after it opened on Easter Monday and there was no queue at all. Paid my €6 and set off to the top. Not sure whether it was a good idea but decided to count the steps as I went up so I knew how close to the top I was getting.

With very few people in the tower it was a very pleasant experience - cant imagine what it would be like with people trying to pass each other on the steps. Stopped for a couple of photo opportunities on the way up and then was soon at the top. The view is fantastic and you get a very privileged view of the whole of Florence including the Duomo next door.

Descended quickly to avoid meting too many people on the stairs. My legs certainly were aching at the bottom but a great place to visit to was worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campanile di Giotto also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Campanile di Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing