We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile di Giotto

Campanile di Giotto
Book In Advance
$43.42*
and up
Florence Opera del Duomo Museum Small-Group Tour
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is recommended for people without a fear of heights and claustrophobia as one of us was crawling up the last of the 414 steps. But the view was well worth the climb!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RikoAndMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,795
    1,307
    143
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go on, test your fitness.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is a fairly tough climb to the top up a narrow winding staircase, with others coming in the opposite direction, but there are plenty of resting stages along the way and it is definitely worth it for the view from the top.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great for picture taking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

the view at the top is amazing, but getting to it was a nightmare. you have to go up A LOT of stairs, which was fine for me, but many people had problems. My problem was that at the last 2 levels, the staircase became extremely narrow, and some people were so tired that they could absolutely not move, making everyone stuck, and me being claustrophobic started panicking. By the time I got to the top, I really couldn't enjoy the beautiful view, and was already dreading the way back down. Also not recommended for anyone with fear of heights.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mitra749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Brazil
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Go and see it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is wonderful. Almost all Florence is, you may say. But even being repetitive I have to say it deserves a leisure visit. Florence was not made in a day and so, deserves a long visit to be enjoyed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarment0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tiring but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

There are hundreds of steps, no lift and the stairs are quite narrow so you have to be careful when passing people but the views from the top are amazing and well worth the 6 euros you pay to go up there.

There is a gift shop at the bottom selling mostly the same stuff that is sold in almost every musseum and tourist site in Florence and there several terraces part way up where you can have a sit down and rest, but if you can, you should try and climb to the top where there is an enclosed walkway around the top and you can see all around and get great views of the city.

Climbing this tower takes a lot of effort and it can be difficult for people with heart problems, disabilities or general health issues. There is no wheelchair access to the tower so if you cannot walk, there is probably little you can do here. Those unsteady on their feet may have some difficulties but as long as you take it steady and rest where you can, it should be managable. I am 28, overweight and have asthma and for me it was a struggle but I made it all the way to the top so for most people it should be easy enough.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebramanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campanile di Giotto also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Campanile di Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing