We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offers Amazing Views”

Campanile di Giotto
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.96*
and up
Duomo Monumental Tour
Ranked #10 of 440 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Offers Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

For about 6 euro per person you can climb the bell tower. There is no elevator, only stairs. Just over 400 round trip.

There are 3-4 levels to stop at which offers a break from the climb. Each level has the same views which are amazing.

The stairways are narrow, and suggest wearing footwear that is appropriate.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crazynello01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,485
    1,518
    185
    23
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice view, obstructed by metal grate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I think its kind of ridiculous to charge 6 euro to climb up 500 something stairs. Not that it was that bad, just what exactly are they providing? I think it should be 2 or 3 euro at most. The view was really nice, but there is all this metal grating to prevent ppl from falling I guess that kind of obstructs pictures. I havent seen this on all of the tall structures in Europe, so I know it is not necessary.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aefieldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“too much effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I know all the history involved is impressive but it was uncomfortable for modern standards. still a great view from the top

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nairag_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Well worth the climb, if you're fit enough and don't mind enclosed spaces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This tower had been recommended by a friend, so I was determined to climb to the top to witness the views for myself. Despite feeling daunted by the 414 steps it can be done in stages as there are individual floors which open out at each level. My partner who is not a fan of heights opted to stop at the first one. I continued onwards and upwards although I confess, at times the narrow stairway felt quite claustrophobic particularly when passing others coming down.

Having said that it's well worth the climb. Once you get your breath back you are likely to lose it again as you take in the view which is quite literally breathtaking! I took loads of shots with our camera which sadly did not make it to the end of our holiday and we lost all of the photos which was incredibly upsetting but I'm so glad I was there to witness with my own eyes. As long as you are fit enough I recommend a visit to this site.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sexymonkeylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful workmanship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Truly awsome workmanship. The state of preservation is amazing, and though we didn't climb it the views from the top must be worth the climb.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 555dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campanile di Giotto also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Campanile di Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing