We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A perfect view over the city of Florence :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazzale Michelangelo

Piazzale Michelangelo
Viale Michelangelo, 50125, Florence, Italy (Piazzale Michelangelo)
11111111111
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$35*
and up
Ferrari Test Drive in Florence
Ranked #1 of 388 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This 19th century piazza has undoubtedly the best panoramic view of Florence. The square is decorated with copies of Michelangelo's sculptures, but it's the view people come here to see.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect view over the city of Florence :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Go there by bus No 12 from the train station and pay € 1:20 instead of € 25 for the Hop on-Hop off bus, that still does not run in the historical town (many pedestrian zones around the interesting objects).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HolgerArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,411
    3,550
    559
    78
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Photo opportunity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

make sure to take your camera. I was able to take beautiful panoramic shots that I will cherish forever.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Yup, it's a nice view of the city.

Getting there is a bit hilly but easy to navigate as there are plenty of signs along the way. Also, it's not as far as we originally thought (maybe a mile) from City Center.

The cafes at the vista didn't look that appetizing, but we didn't try any, so I could be wrong.

Go for the view and, if you have time, check out the rose garden.

Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carlo.ablaza@gmail.com
Level Contributor
98 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Take the time to venture up to Piazzale Michelangelo for an unforgettable view of Florence -- you won't be disappointed. It's the view you see in every postcard, movie, and it's not to be missed. Not only does it give you a great orientation of where everything is, where you want to go, and where you've been -- it also helps you appreciate the beauty, size, and history of the city. Fantastico!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cja2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view, Needs more restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Love the view from this Piazzale. It's a great place to go (bus or taxi) for a great view of Florence and people watching and a snack. However, we were tired and hungry and the restaurant we visited last time was closed, apparently for renovations. We got directions from several people to other restaurants, but they were either crowded, bars, or just served snacks (after walking quite a way, up hills or steps to find them) so we ended up in a high end restaurant with a great terrace view for pasta. We were tired and sweaty, and didn't want to wait to go down the hill for a meal. We love the piazzale, and would know to check out restaurants before heading up if it was mealtime, but wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucybrown000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazzale Michelangelo also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazzale Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing