We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great view but a little tacky”

Piazzale Michelangelo
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.09*
and up
Ferrari Test Drive in Florence
Ranked #1 of 441 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This 19th century piazza has undoubtedly the best panoramic view of Florence. The square is decorated with copies of Michelangelo's sculptures, but it's the view people come here to see.
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great view but a little tacky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It is worth the climb up to the Piazzale for the view back to the town and hills beyond - stop for a drink in the bar - but the square is full of tour buses and tacky tourist stalls so continue through to the gardens beyond

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanJUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,447
    4,723
    751
    109
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellville, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely views of Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took a walk from our Hotel close to central Florence to the Piazza Michelangelo with a picnic basket and a bottle of wine and enjoyed the lovely vie was of Florence from a very high vantage point. It is special especially as the shadows impact on the various famous tourist sites like the ponteviddichio bridge and the Duomo. A breathtaking view to say the least and well worth the walk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The view of Florence from there is to-die-for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I visited Piazzale Michelangelo at sunset, and oh boy the view was absolutely gorgeous. I actually believe sunset is hands-down the best time to go there. There's the 12 or 13 bus, which will drop you off right there and get you back into town. If you don't feel like taking the bus, you can certainly walk back. It's a very lovely walk since you pass by some lovely residential neighborhoods of Florence. A must when you visit Florence, that's all!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank confused20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome view of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Going up there is worth it! It gives you an excellent panoramic view of the city. While we were there, they were playing cool jazzy music, which even added more to the ambience!

We didnt walk up, btw. just Took bus 12 going up & 13 going down from the train station for €1.20! Easy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Live_for_Vacations_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing statues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

A must if you want to see the real architecture of italy..everywhere you look you will see something of interest..I wish i came back as you need more than one day to experience the true florence day and night..
Shopping haven with alot of 18 carat jewellery shops glad i didnt take my credit card..
Also its the best place to stay as the atmosphere is fab, lots of stalls if you can find the main street which i did by accident...10 min walk from the train station you will not be bored and prices are reasonable...Defo go to florence town and for tours go to florencetown tours on via de' lamberti, ist floor or www.florencetown.com which if you can book in advance as they were busy..all sorts of tours including a cooking class..
Due to all the queuing i was only able to see the Florence Cathedral: Duomo - Santa Maria del Fiore which has nearly 500 steps to the top but the view is to die for but beware the stairs are steep in places and narrow..entrance was 8 euro's pp...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nov000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazzale Michelangelo also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Piazzale Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing