We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very disappointed”
Review of Botticelli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Botticelli Hotel
Ranked #164 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very very disappointed”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Maybe its just me given the other reviews on here but i simply could not connect with this hotel on any level - other than good service...I stay in many hotels every year through my work, on average 3 hotels a month, i have done so for 7 years. In that time i have never ever encountered noise like the street noise from the bedroom that my wife and I had. I am not a light sleeper, I'm not even a slightly light sleeper but the late night noise that we could hear from our street facing room was unbearable - we could hear every word from every person, every car, every scooter etc For the first time in my life i left my room at 3am to head to reception to ask if this was normal and could we switch room.

The next day we switched room with no problems and had a very quiet room and i could not have been happier with the service and help from the front desk. Still, i was very disappointed at paying a nightly rate and not sleeping. I would invite the manager or other staff numbers to spend a Friday evening in the floor corner room facing the street and i am sure they will know what i am talking about - the room should not be sold to potential guests - unacceptable.

Beyond this, the location was very central, the breakfast was pretty rubbish (my wife's coffee was cold every morning and she never complains about anything!) The rooms are old, the lobby was tired and as i said before the service was excellent.

In conclusion, probably a 2 star review but i knock a star off for the lack of free wifi in rooms so 1 star it is - i would not return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    343
    93
    25
    7
See reviews for
105
463
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very conveniently located. The hotel is not only located right in the centre of historic Florence but also only about 5 minutes walk from the railway station/Terravision bus stop. The point about a bit of noise from Rosie E is well made; you will hear a bit of late night revellry, and there is also a bit of clatter as the market is set up in the morning. However, this is no great hardship and is really offset by the clean and stylish refurbishment, the helpfulness of the staff, and the great location. For your weekend break at a reasonable cost this hotel ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Such a convenient spot for all the best Florence has to offer. The housekeeping is excellent - room serviced with clean towels etc every day. Started each day with a basic,but perfectly adequate breakfast.

We wanted a central position,so expected it to be a bit noisy at night (we were not disappointed, especially Sat & Sunday night!!) We had to shut the double glazed windows which were fairly effective, but not sure how it would be in the heat of summer. All in all, though, a pleasant enough place to stay, but we would pack earplugs another time.

Apart from ear plugs, another tip is the Zsa Zsa restaurant just less than a minute from the hotel .Food was ok with great atmosphere inside

All in all, a pleasant place to stay, but we would pack earplugs next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Botticelli is in a great location, situated close to the market and between the railway station and the centre of Florence, so it is easy to walk to the many historic sites. There is a good choice of restaurants nearby. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was fine, with a typical continental breakfast selection. The room we had was clean and comfortable. We would definitely consider staying there again if we return for another visit to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is good - very near the train station so you can walk even with your luggages to take the train as we did for our transfer to Venice. And is near the markets which is also good. However, the hotel smells funny and the breakfast buffet is very limited. But the buffet service lady is very friendly. There is also a great restaurant within a few meters of the hotel called zaza which is great. I will write a separate review for this great resto.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jopin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Adolphe-d'Howard, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is located within easy reach of many of the historic monuments of Florence. One may walk in any direction and discover beauty. The ambience is calm and friendly and the people at the front desk are extremely helpful and ready to phone for reservations or give directions.

The rooms are clean and cosy and the housekeeping is very good. The Continental Breakfast is generous and is included in the room rate. Prices are reasonable and will not break the bank, leaving adequate funds to spend in Florence. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room facing a side street where motor bikes and Vespas park. These rooms are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at this wonderful hotel in Florence. A fantastic location just a 5 minute walk from the Duomo, leather markets & fresh food & produce market. We were able to walk to all major attractions including they Ponte Vecchio, Santa Croce, Medici Chapel & museums. Good size rooms, kept very clean & well maintained. Breakfast is simple, but fresh & filling. Great value all round. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
534 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#116 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rosary Garden
#134 of 411 in Florence
428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#201 of 411 in Florence
1,154 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#127 of 411 in Florence
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botticelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botticelli Hotel

Property: Botticelli Hotel
Address: Via Taddea 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Florence
#130 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botticelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patrician building of 16th century; its renaissance architecture & refined furnishings reflect the florentine character - In the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Botticelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botticelli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing