We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, historic and great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Scoti

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Scoti
Ranked #199 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic and great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. In addition to your room, you receive keys to the large drawing room (with restored al fresco painted high ceiling) and dining room. The hostess, Doreen, was very welcoming and gave us great tips to avoid museum queues, and could not do enough to make us feel at home. Location was amazing! On a main street, next door to luxury fashion brands (Prada/Gucci/Dior) and very safe.

Only downside was no tv or fridge in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou2014NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    95
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
38
128
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We phoned from Sion in Switzerland to reserve our room. We called the number listed in the Lonely Planet guide. We were told that the room rate was 127 euros a night and we booked it at this rate. When we arrived, we had trouble finding the entrance since the plaque was the size of a novel and it was shared with other organizations. No signage inside... we had to climb the dimly-lit staircase for three flights until we saw another plaque indicating Hotel Scoti. So creepy. When we entered, we felt like we were in a horror film: the décor was dead roses, old furniture, and dimly-lit fresco. Pure dread. Our room was dirty and plain. We couldn't figure out whythis place was rated as a good value until we went on the Italian version of a travel website and saw that it was advertised at 42 euros on that site. I guess it is OK at that price but no more and definitely not 127 euros. We got out of our reservation after one night and got a more attractive and cleaner room across town for less than half the price. We were much happier and its location was much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel is on a really upscale and quiet street in the center of Florence. The owners are kind and professional. I got the cheapest room in the place and it was still really nice, clean and comfy and I slept very well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrottinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at Hotel Scoti. It is located in a great location. Very close to the train station, the Duomo and the Rialto Bridge.
We stayed in a room with its own bathroom and it is located next to the front door so it gets very noisey at night when people open and close the front door when they return to the hotel. Our room has very little furniture and they are very old and not so comfortable so there are not much space where we can hang out.
We got the heads up about the towel situation in Tripadvisor. The hotel offers new towels every second day and there is a fee if you request for daily.
You can't beat the location, but I think I would like to stay in a different hotel next time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank messa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hotel Scoti is very centrally located for all touring of FLorence. The property has some fabulous and spacious reception rooms with fabulour wall hangings. You will need to use these rooms if you wish to access the internet. I have asthma and found there was a smell of tobacco which I did not think came from guests. My room was fine and bathroom was not en-suite. Would look at other venues before staying here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank journeyperson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milawa, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

First time in Florence, first time overseas! My wife and I chose hotel scoti based on lonely planet recommendation. A wise decision . A great place to stay in the very heart of Florence. Doreen was the consummate host attending to all our needs, giving great advise on local attractions. Clean comfortable rooms, would highly recommend .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was probably the best value B&B during our week in Italy. Hotel Scoti is located in on Florence's main shopping street in the middle of high-end retail stores. When you arrive at the hotel, the first thing that strikes you is the fantastic wall coverings and amazing view of Florence. From our room, we had a breathtaking view of terra-cotta tiled roofs with church bells that chimed each hour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#210 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#167 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
#216 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scoti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scoti

Property: Hotel Scoti
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Scoti 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Scoti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scoti Hotel Florence
Hotel Scoti Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing