We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap good location.”
Review of Hotel Scoti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scoti
Ranked #210 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap good location.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Not bad, not great but you get what you paid for. Wouldnt stay here again but we wanted something cheap. The room was dusty and having asthma i had to make sure i was only in the room to sleep, i also got bitten by some weird bugs on the second night in the room. The lady was nice but yeah. The lift was scary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    96
    36
    14
    3
See reviews for
39
129
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The friendly people running this hotel seem careful not to over promise. And after staying there I can see why.
The rooms are clean and tidy, mine was relatively spacious too. The bed was not uncomfortable. The ensuite worked. It felt safe and secure. There was plenty of reading matter - left by guests over the years I suspect.
It was not expensive, especially considering the central location.
However, when doing the value equation, ask yourself if you would be prepared to pay a little more for:
- internet in your room (lounge internet was patchy and v slow)
- a desk in your room you could work at
- television, either in your room or in the lounge
- somewhere, in lounge or room, to boil a kettle and make a cup of something
In short, it's a fine place to sleep, but if you would like to work, use the net or relax with a cuppa - I suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The main hotel area is quieter than the annexe I suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank woofsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay in Florence for a few weeks and were so pleased that our entire stay was at Hotel Scoti. The owners, Doreen and Carmello were happy to ensure we had everything we needed as well as ready to answer questions or respond to any requests we may have had. The hotel is in a lovely area that is in walking distance to cafes, restaurants, museums and the train/bus station. The rooms are simple, clean, comfortable and offer everything one may need while visiting Florence. Doreen is such a warm, inviting person and is genuinely happy to talk with you. We look forward to returning to Florence and staying at Hotel Scoti.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I found this place in a UK newspaper's review of the top 10 places to stay in florence. We were sold on the frescoes in the living room and the reasonable rate. It didn't disappoint. The hotel is in a good location with the Uffizi, Galleria de L'academia, ponte vecchio and all the major sights a gentle stroll away (in fairness within central florence nothing is ever very far away). They clearly make an effort to be friendly to guests, gave us very good recommendations for places to eat, lent hairdriers etc and were at all times very helpful and willing to offer advice and assistance, an intangible something that I personally value quite highly. The place itself is clean, quiet, well maintained and is a little piece of history in itself, with its rickety little lift, myriad staircases, and unpretentiously impressive frescoes. A great base from which to explore the timeless city.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Knowainmeknowainyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were so surprised that our hotel was in this great neighborhood and location. Our only complaint was that we almost didn't find it. The location was wonderful and convenient to the train station and major sites in Florence. It was clean and comfortable and run by a very nice and helpful lady.The price was great for the accommodation. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janahn875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely little hotel for 4 nights and absolutely loved it!very reasonably priced,clean and exactly what we needed!doreen was a pleasure to deal with and she welcomed us and made us feel absolutely at home!location is excellent and very convenient,just a few minutes walk to all the major attractions! Also located on a beautiful street with all the smart boutiques and shops, we loved it!would definitely recommend!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#206 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
#214 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#207 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#118 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scoti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scoti

Property: Hotel Scoti
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Scoti 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Scoti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scoti Hotel Florence
Hotel Scoti Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing