We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Ranked #152 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Palazzo Vecchio, in fact we wish we could find hotels like this everywhere we go! The hotel offered great value. Great location, especially for people travelling by train or taking day trips by train. It was probably as close to the train station as you can get, and yet felt quiet and cosy. It was also easy to navigate our way to the Duomo and other attractions. Our room was spacious, always clean and the bed was firm and comfortable. It was also adequately warm in February. Our bathroom was not big but all the amenities (including bidet) looked new and worked well. They had a very good variety for breakfast and always topped up items promptly. In fact we missed their wonderful breakfast immediately when we moved on to our next destination! We look forward to revisiting Florence and staying there again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeoM2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 603 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

During our trip to Florence in 2011, we found this hotel perfect and again stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. The staff gladly welcomed us. We had the same room that we stayed last time and had a feeling that we returned home. Warm hospitality, great location, cozy surroundings, beautifully furnished rooms, modern amenities, super comfort, good food and extreme attention to every detail. Just what was needed to chill out. Lovely place and highly recommended. Thank you for making our second visit so wonderful! We will be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nataliya_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Overall a good stay, rooms are a little small and dated. Bathrooms very good and the breakfast although simple was well presented.

The best part of this hotel is the ten minute walk to the main town, and only a few minutes walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station.

Would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nabeel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Warm welcome by the reception staff, very conveniently located near the Rly Station, good clean large rooms although very small shower.
Very helpful reception staff, good healthy breakfast with plenty of choices in bread, cereals, yogurt, hot beverages and fruits.

Room Tip: our rooms were on 3rd/ top floor and we did not have any problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhanshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is just over the road from Firenze Fiera conference venue and Santa Maria Novella train station, and an easy walk to the centre of Florence. Breakfast downstairs was good. My single room was small (but not cramped) but clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were surprised at how small the room was - I guess we are used to travelling in Asia where hotel accommodation at this price level is in a different class altogether. The room was clean and tidy, but the internet did not work - either on the top floor or right next to the router at reception. The balcony was very welcome as the room was quite claustrophobic. Nowhere to sit and have a coffee in this hotel unless you want to sit in the chairs in the small reception area. No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms either.

The central heating had not been turned on either - and Florence was going through a bit of a cold spell.

Room Tip: A balcony is a must. Bring your own travel kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryCleary_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We arrived by train, Tourist Information is no longer at Train station, its across the street. A little disoriented, maybe due to rain. I was trying to see Hotel from Train station. When you get off train, go to the left, where bus pull up. Then you will see Hotel sign. You must carry your luggage up to Hotel, no ramp.
We checked in about 2pm. We were on 2nd floor. The room was very outdated- Floor was not wood, like photos. Floor very old, cracks, room smelled, I had to open shutter doors, upon going into room. Four beds, 1 double, 2 twins, very uncomfortable, 1 mattress no box spring, hard as a rock, The bedding has seen better days ,not clean -had a stench, I removed so we just had a top sheet.
Bathroom- toilet is behind door, so door must be closed. Glass shelf above sink - well just don't put anything on it, if so it will end up in sink. The shower is just a curtain on the bathroom floor, water goes everywhere, and you’re only given 1 towel for shower per person. So after shower, you need to use towel to wipe bathroom down so you don't slip and fall. My wife did not take a shower, as she tore her Achilles and didn't want to chance falling. I don't know they advertise TV, as it’s just static, and is so small maybe 9 inch. Connection with Wi-Fi not good, it would lose connection. We went sightseeing and did not return back to room about 9pm. (don’t forget you must leave your paper weight key with clerk), the room smelled when we came back. Again had to open shutter doors, decided to sleep with door open, was a little chilly only having a top sheet.
Thankfully we only had to spend one night. I chose this hotel based on photos, and reviews, I need to be by Train Station for an early all day tour. Went down to breakfast, if you want a cappuccino, you have to find lady. Selection of food is your basic Italian cold cuts, cookies, etc.
I peeked into a room on 1st floor and it was nothing what mine looked like. Maybe Owner might tell people when you order a standard, you’re going to get 4 beds, a curtain in the corner of the bathroom - called a shower comes with mold. A hard mattress/no box spring, Smelly bedding, Wi-Fi that may connect, a TV that gets snow and is tiny.
I’m sorry; I can't recommend this hotel to anyone. Especial for what we paid. I was very disappointed, didn’t want to argue with someone that wouldn’t do anything about it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tabearone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzovecchio, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

I don't know how you have booked the room,
certainly on our official web site, if you check the photo gallery, you can see pictures of all our rooms including "…room with outdated floor".
You can also read that not all of our rooms have been renovated and not all of our rooms have parquet floor.
The entrance of our hotel, as you can see in the picture, has ten steps and our staff can help you to carry the luggage.

The standard/economy rooms are quadruple or double rooms, they have a private bathroom with shower without box, but with curtain. The standard / economy rooms are cheap rooms of our hotel The towels provided are the same that you can find in all the hotels and if you need more towels just call the reception.

Regarding the TV problem, considering you are the first that complaint, and all televisions are new, I suppose, when the maid cleaned the room could move the aerial behind the TV unknowingly, anyhow the reception staff is available to solve the problem
WI-FI: Did you select the correct network? we have different networks for each floor, just ask help to the reception. The Wi-Fi is a free service and if your device doesn’t work we have a pc that you can use, even this for free.
You should leave the room keys at the desk, because if come back in the hotel late in the night, the receptionist will be waiting for you.

Before to make a reservation, it’s a good habit to check the official site of the hotel.
You made a complaint about this room, when everywhere (websites and also in TripAdisor) you can find description, reviews and pictures about this room, and you couldn't do not know what you were going to book

If you have problems, when you are in the hotel, it's a convenient thing for us and for the guests to ask to reception to find an alternative solution, they are in the hotel for you.
I don't want think, as you wrote that they " ... someone wouldn’t do anything about it."

Andrea Pucci
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#106 of 410 in Florence
918 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 410 in Florence
404 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#147 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#183 of 410 in Florence
1,378 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#111 of 410 in Florence
811 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#181 of 410 in Florence
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Vecchio

Address: Via Bernardo Cennini 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $58 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palazzo Vecchio 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Vecchio Hotel
Palazzo Vecchio Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing