We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay... Rather Noisy”
Review of Hotel Cimabue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cimabue
Ranked #341 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cimabue for two nights. We were checked in by a pleasant member of staff and directed to our room. Our room was clean and authentic. Rooms were cleaned daily around 10 am. Very disappointing breakfast spread, three average cereals, a few croissants, selection of yoghurts left on the side at room temperature. Member of staff did not welcome us to breakfast, neither did they offer coffees. Furthermore, when returning in the evening, bar was remarkably unstocked, with no drinks menu, and a very very slim selection of alcoholic beverages. The walls in this hotel are paper thin, and the beds rather uncomfortable. Second night woken with a dog (pets are apparently welcome) barking in the small hours. Neighbouring hotel room doors also a noise issue. Staff friendly, but no more than average, and severely disappointed with selection of breakfast foods

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TR2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 498 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very friendly staff, they took extra time to give us directions and maps upon checking in. We were even able to leave our bags there the next day after checking out so we could explore Florence more easily until our train departed later that evening. The room was a little smaller than expected but still very comfortable. Wifi worked great from the room and the staff provided the wireless code at check-in. It was a short walk into town which was nice. As with other hotels that were situated in older buildings, the elevators/lifts were very small so plan accordingly and be patient - that's part of the experience. It was nice to stay in the non-chain style hotels. Breakfast was downstairs in a beautiful little room, a fairly good variety, better than we had seen in other hotels (remember that breakfast is very light and usually consists of a pastry and coffee - if you want anything more substantial go to the local grocery and pick up fresh fruit, cereal, etc). There was some fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, pastries, tea biscuits (cookies). Once again, enjoy the different experiences as much as possible, we had a great time in Florence!

Room Tip: We didn't have much of a view from our room so if that's important to you, then ask ahead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsgrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtancredi, Direttore generale at Hotel Cimabue, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your comment, we apprechate it.
Visit us whenever you're coming back in Florence.

Best regards,

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our room wasn't anything close to the rooms advertised on the website. Unfortunately, this hotel wasn't where we were to stay originally as the other hotel didn't have our reservation. A total debacle all around. I knew as soon as we entered the lobby, it wasn't the quality the original hotel had. Upon entering our room, we immediately noticed the lock on the thin wood door was missing the top screw and was coming off the door. The room was extremely small, the comforter was old and worn over an old mattress, the pillows were about an inch thick. Cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling and dead bugs in the light fixture. The window was open (on a not so very warm day) which made me question why. Then the bathroom!!! It was approximately 5x5. Tiny sink, our towels sitting on a bidet... and the toilet which we had to climb over in order to get the shower!! KID YOU NOT! No typical European bathroom...much worse. A hotel room perhaps used for overbooking purposes maybe. Heard every sound all night long. Every toilet flush throughout the night from other guests...followed by the flushed waste water down the pipes thru the walls...THEN THE STENCH. Waste stench! So, that's why the window was open upon initial arrival. We left before 7am WITHOUT a shower (climbing over the toilet to get to)...nor using the towels that were sitting on the bidet! Disgusting, repulsive, and shocked that any hotel would consider that an accommodating "guest" room!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sari p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtancredi, Direttore generale at Hotel Cimabue, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello,

We're sorry about your disappointement, but first is not our fault if your hotel changed your reservation to another one.

Our bedspread are clean and mattreses were changed last february with new ones.

I've never seen a cobweb in our rooms, the cleaning staff is very professional.

You can always ask for extra pillows at the reception and usually there are 2 more pillows in each closet.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this hotel it was awful. The staff made you feel like you were an imposition and interupting their Internet surfing time. Breakfast was pathetic we came it at 8am and everything was empty and it was an imposition to ask the staff just for bread!! Room was not very clean and we only had 1 towel. The free WIFI did not work anywhere but reception room and the staff made you feel like it was an imposition for you to work from there.

If it was not for a beautiful restaurant we found we would not return to Florence and would certainly not recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani_LSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtancredi, Direttore generale at Hotel Cimabue, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello,

We're sorry about your complains, but honestly we didn't understand. You must be confusing with another place.

Our reception staff is kind and professional as written here on TripAdvisor, so is our cleaning staff.

Breakfast is served from 7,30 to 10 and there is plenty of bread (and pastries, yougurt, milk, fruits..) till 10!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel was nice & clean walking distance to the Dome etc. However if you want to get a good nights sleep it's the wrong place to stay. Walls are paper thin and sound carries all over. People arrived late and doors were slammed and our nest door neighbour was screaming down a phone in Spanish at 2am in the morning. There is no one manning the desk downstairs after 11pm. Bed was uncomfortable. There is also no lounge to sit & chill out. Very noisy at night. We made a mistake staying in this hotel never again!

Room Tip: There was no air conditioning. Room was like a furnace . My sister & I stayed on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The only good thing to this hotel was the staff, they were very helpful and friendly. Other then that the beds were horrible, the place was under kept and paper thin walls. Instead of staying here, save your pennies and stay in a hostel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor where a majority of the foot traffic was and where everyone congregated f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nekoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

this was a great location for our hotel... our party of 12 had 6 different rooms.. ours looked out to a little garden, which our friends had the door that went there so we got to enjoy it also. Wonderful restaurant nearby - Trattoria..breakfast was basic carb overload along with great coffee... we would gather in the breakfast room at the end of the day .. we even brought in pizza's beer and wine to catch up.. also, a nice irish pub is around the corner.. 15 - 20 min walk to the train station... good hotel.. the staff was wonderful to us..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foursquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtancredi, Direttore generale at Hotel Cimabue, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hi,

We're happy about your satisfaction. Thanks for leaving your comment.

Check new offers on our website.

Best regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bonifacio
Hotel Bonifacio
#170 of 410 in Florence
381 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Malaspina
Hotel Malaspina
#281 of 410 in Florence
450 reviews
Hotel Alex
#228 of 410 in Florence
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#264 of 410 in Florence
590 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#266 of 410 in Florence
377 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#237 of 410 in Florence
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cimabue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cimabue

Address: Via Bonifacio Lupi 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $56 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cimabue 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cimabue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimabue Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing