We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding with a difference”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Poggio San Felice
Ranked #161 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We had our wedding there in September booking the entire place for 2 nights. IT truely is a beautiful location, everything was just perfect and we all will remember the time spent there fondly.

As with positives there are negatives. If you are driving yourself you will get a little lost on your first visit, the roads are very narrow but if you get a taxi they all know the place. Also we felt a little like it was someones home rather than a hotel as we partied a little late in the night following the wedding. it would have been nice to let our hair down but we felt restricted being watched over by the owner which put a downer on the day a little.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dwnfallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 18 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2008

My husband and I had our wedding and reception here in April of 2008. Coming from the USA and planning a wedding abroad, we really had no idea what to expect when we arrived in Italy. Our (as well as our families') stay at the Villa went way beyond what we ever expected -- Lorenzo and Livia were so warm and extremely helpful to everyone in our party. Livia even drove my mom and aunt to her hair salon so they could get their hair done for the wedding!
Aside from the lovely owners, the villa itself is gorgeous and quaint, and just far enough from the bustle of Florence to allow for some quiet. It may not be the most convenient place to be if you're looking to be in the city constantly, but for us having our families together in this beautiful place for our wedding was the perfect fit. We think of it often -- and we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cbicpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We chose to have our wedding reception here and it is a beautiful place. Amazing views over Florence and the surrounding countryside, lovely gardens, villa has lots of character and Lorenzo is very friendly and helpful. The villa is well situated in that it provides a good base to explore the surrounding countryside or the centre of Florence as desired. Can't wait to go back for our 1st anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom-n-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The location is fantastic and the house is beautiful - there is also a modern and clean swimming pool and the view from the house over Florence is wonderful but we felt the service was not at all welcoming or warm. Lorenzo was polite but he hardly spoke a word to us and when I attempted to chat to him he pretty much cut me dead. He showed us to our room and then dissapeared and I had to go and find him to find out about the best way to get into the city because we didn't want to drive (he'd not mentioned anything about the shuttle bus although I'd read about it on the website), the best way to get home in the evening (advice on taxis etc) and basic questions about breakfast and check out because he'd told us nothing.

I wouldn't say he was rude but we got the feeling that we weren't particularly welcome and it did very much effect our stay. It was a real shame because the whole experience could have been so much better. As a result we won't be going back there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HepburnLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liloFirenze, owner at Villa Poggio San Felice, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2008

I'm Lorenzo, the owner of Villa Poggio San Felice. I read your review on tripadvisor and I really regret about it. I apologize to you if I didn't seem you helpful but it's very strange because I always inform my guests about all our services during the check in time. It's also strange that I disappeared because I live here and if I'm not at the reception I'm in my house, and you always can contact me by phone with 2 internal numbers. Maybe I was in the garden....
I'm waiting for your kind answer.
Best regards
Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Villa Poggio San Felice is hands down the BEST place to stay in Florence. I had my wedding at the villa this past December and every time I think about how beautiful the weddding was, how warm and inviting the rooms were and the service provided by Lorezo and Livia and always start to tear up. Lorenzo was so patient with my parents, who needed special attention. He really went above and beyond as a host.The breakfast was phenomenal and Lorenzo always drove us into the heart of Florence every morning. During our stay, my husband and I regreted booking a room at a 5 star hotel our last night in Florence rather than staying at the villa. (If only we had known...)
The whole experience was simply magical and does not get anybetter that what I experienced. One of my favorite places in the world....

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank wormwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

I didn't want to leave this place. We actually centered our itinerary for Italy around Villa Poggio. The photos I took are unbelievable. The charm and beauty is spectacular. Lorenzo and Livia are so warm and friendly. It felt like we were visiting old friends. I walked around constantly with a smile on my face. Lorenzo drives you to town (Florence) and picks you up in their minivan at appointed times. There are restaurants within walking distance, but don't miss one of their homemade dinners. They serve a lovely breakfast every morning (of course, it is a b and b). We also enjoyed dinner at Crispina Rays within walking distance. There were two weddings book-ending our week there, no wonder, this place is a dream come true for newly weds or oldly weds like us!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank giuliasgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We have just returned from a trip to Italy and a delightful stay at Villa Poggio Sanfelice. Livia and Lorenzo were the consummate hosts....warm, helpful, and gracious in every way. The villa was magnificent, located on a hill overlooking Florence. The views were breathtakingly beautiful not only in the daytime but the nighttime as well.

I will never forget this trip because Livia and Lorenzo arranged for a driver who helped us search out and locate relatives whom I had never met. What a treat and a dream come true!!


June 25, 2007
Texas

Stayed: June 2007
Thank Bebe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#150 of 410 in Florence
2,057 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 326 in Florence
2,572 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,823 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,884 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Poggio San Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Poggio San Felice

Address: Via di San Matteo in Arcetri 24, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Villa Poggio San Felice Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing