We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The building is a funky, the location is great”
Review of Relais Uffizi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Uffizi
Ranked #188 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel property is in a great neighborhood - very close to the Uffizi, the famed bridges of the Arno river, etc. The property is a bit like a fun house. The getting to the reception is an adventure of stairs/elevator, winding hallway. We stayed in a lovely family suite on the 4th floor but the elevator did not show more than two floors. We had a special key card that would activate the elevator that would let us off on the 4th floor and then we would go through a hallway, through a firedoor and into what appeared to be a separate buidling. It had its own elevator but you could only take it down. It was a bit overwhelming at first but of course we quickly got used to it and it gave the place a little character. The family suite was very large with a big bedroom, a loft with additional beds and a sizable sitting area and bathroom. After our small room in Rome it was nice to spread out. However, I think it may have been a little overpriced.

Travel tip - we did not book anything in advance. The day we arrived we looked into getting tickets for the Uffizi and other museums. The online systems indicated they were sold out. However, the staff at the front desk called and was able to get tickets the same day. She was very helpful with another one-off special request we had. I would definately stay in the same neighborhood again but I may look to see if I could find a better value property.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassytraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in an annex room - there were mosquitos, loads of cooking smell - we could not even open the window. We could here the next room taking a shower. We had to climb up the stairs in order to reach the elevator - with our luggage! The elevator did not even have a proper cabin - you could touch the walls on the sides!!! In the main building, the corridors were so narrow that we could not take our luggage upstairs.

And we realized - it's not good to stay in the city center in Florence. Instead, rent a car, stay in a nice hotel outside the city center and see the beautiful city view. And PAY LESS!! If you do not want to rent a car then stay definitely on the other side of the river. The Uffizi area is too crowded!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pelin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights and we are so glad to find this little gem!

1. Convenient
It is 5 min walk from the square, nearby many attractions including Piazzale degli Uffizi, Museo Galileo (! must go!), and Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore. No need to mention all the gelato, pizzeria and cafe on the way.

2. Clean and tidy room with all the necessary amenities that are working. AND breakfast is included - coffee, pastries, yogurt, fruits. Perfect for light breakfast after a big dinner the night before. At first It may seem funny that the entrance is on the small side street, but it turns out perfect - it keeps the noise away from the plaza.

3. Friendly staff - the manager is very flexible to our stay. We arrived maybe 3 hours earlier than our check in time. They told us that even though the room has not been cleaned yet (the previous customers have just checked out), they were free to go to our room and left our bags before we started sightseeing. Very polite, friendly, hospitable and easygoing!

We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbjeunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Location, location, location... When traveling to see sites like beautiful Florence, Italy location can be the most important trip decision you make. And Hotel Relais Uffizi puts you directly in the center of everything Firenze. The hotel is eclectic for sure, and not what we are used to in the US. But it is clean and very open and roomy with all the amenities you expect from a very good hotel. Don't be put out by demand for payment in full in advance. Florence cannot afford to have a vacancy during the high season. And these locations have waiting lists a mile long. So if you have a chance to stay here, definitely take it. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel and staff were an unexpected pleasure! So were the incredibly wonderful beds! Finding the entrance was fun because it's in a narrow alley way, which only added to the charm. Each room was cozy, clean, and nicely appointed. The bathrooms were big compared to other places we stayed. My only minor drawback was I had no view but of an alley. The breakfast room has a remarkable view over the Piazza. And the gentleman serving our coffee was always attentive and gracious as was the hotel staff. I'll come back here again as it's in a magnificent location and the price is right. If I need a view, I'll go find one in the streets. Thanks Relais Uffizi for providing a wonderful space to rest and great service!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I found this locationGoogle while looking for rooms with rooftop views of Piazza della Signoria. This is a terrific spot if you want to be near the action and reduce some walking while in Florence. The hosts are just great and very helpful and willing to make reservations for the museums and galleries in advance of your arrival if needed. It is very comfortable and quiet and has a small kitchen vanity with mini fridge to hold a few items.

Room Tip: Book the rooftop apartment during good weather months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Arriving at this hotel, because it is in a "walking only" section of the city with it's main entrance on a very narrow "via", was a little challenging with luggage. Once there, we were in an annex to the hotel which was around the corner from the main entrance. The rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast which was included consisted of pastries, yogurt, fruit, meats and cheeses, and the breakfast room had three large windows which overlooked the piazza. There was free wi-fi.

We arrived a little late in the evening, and when we walked out of the hotel down the side street, we came out onto the Piazza Signoria which took our breath away. It was SO close, and busy day and night. The only drawback to that was the street noise, which wasn't dampened by closing the windows in our room. Other than that, it was lovely.

Room Tip: Try to get a room farther from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#43 of 410 in Florence
460 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#83 of 410 in Florence
808 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#66 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#195 of 410 in Florence
299 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Uffizi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Uffizi

Address: Chiasso del Buco 16, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Florence
#114 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $110 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Uffizi 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Relais Uffizi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Uffizi Florence
Relais Uffizi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing