We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais Uffizi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Uffizi
Ranked #174 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful little boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Relais Uffizi is in a great location, in a hidden walking alley adjacent to the Uffizi Gallery. The front door is accessed by ringing a bell (security is good, but there is nothing to worry about). The alley is very well lit, so we were always fine coming back to the hotel at night. There is a small elevator to take you to the 2nd floor, where reception is. The desk staff was warm and welcoming, and a tour of the hotel showed us the breakfast room and the remarkable sitting room, with huge windows opening up right onto the Piazza della Signora! We were shown to our room, which was upstairs. The upstairs rooms are accessed by an elevator with a magnetic key fob attached to the room key for security. You can only get to the upper floors by using this magnet in the elevator. We were in room 15, which is a huge room with a very large marble bathroom. The room is up in an attic-type space, and has a queen or king bed and an armoire, and a sofa on the other side. There are 2 night stands next to the bed, and a wood bench type thing that is great to throw your bags on to keep them out of the way. The downside? there are A LOT of steps. There are some minor steps from the elevator to the reception desk, then there are a couple of steps from the elevator to the rooms on the 3rd floor (the upstairs), and room 15 has a lot of stairs from the hallway up to the room. But if you can manage the stairs, the room is worth it, and the hotel is more than worth it. They serve a nice breakfast in the morning, continental style, but with fresh meats and cheese as well. The desk staff was very helpful in recommending places for us to eat, and for getting us reservations at the different museums.

Note: the bathroom in room 15 only has a bathtub with a hand held shower. They can't put a stand up shower in there because of the ceiling slant. We had trouble with getting the floor wet, and did suggest putting a curtain up, as then the handheld wouldn't be a problem. I recommend this room, it has a view of the top of the tower at Palazzo Vecchio, but do ask for a shower curtain for the bathtub.

I would stay here again in an instant. Great location, helpful staff, and good price!

Room Tip: room 15, if you have no accessibility issues. Otherwise, ask for a room near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koala46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    159
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
97
168
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although hard to find this hotel, we managed because the taxi driver knew where to take us and directed us to the very modest entrance as he could not park outside it. We were given a suite upon arrival for our one week stay which had a huge bathroom. It was ideal for handicapped people because it had handrails installed and both a separate shower and bath with a shower inside the bath. What a luxury!
This small historical hotel was located in the Piazza della Signoria, which is a major square in Florence containing the Uffizi Gallery, the Palazzo Vecchio, the Loggia della Signoria and was very close to the Ponte Vecchio and Arno River. Most of the major monuments/churches/galleries were within short walking distance. The best views were from the loungeroom which looked down onto the square. This loungeroom was adjacent to a small breakfast room. Breakfast was limited but acceptable with excellent coffee. Receptionists all very helpful with recommendations and advice including the hotel owner who also worked in the hotel. They went out and purchased a feather pillow for me when they could not find one in their hotel. I did request it in my booking.
The bell which rang from the Palazzo Vecchio bell tower nearby, rang very late at night and early in the mornings but it was not too bad if you happen to sleep heavily. However, what was very noisy was the early morning collection (daily) of bottles etc outside our window. Our window faced a wall over a narrow lane. The crash each morning really startled us and we mentioned it to the hotel but of course, it was not their fault . Possibly, had our window not faced the lane, it would have been less noisy.
We loved the incredibly beautiful galleries, churches, leather and clothing shops and the good restaurants in Florence. The gelato on the Ponte Vecchio was the best in Italy and the constant activity in the centre, especially in the Piazza where our hotel was located, always kept us entertained. Buying a Florence Card also saved us money and lots of waiting time in queues. It was very easy to walk to the railway station from our Hotel (20+ min away) to catch a train or bus to Siena or other places to visit for the day.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face the back lane where the rubbish is collected early each morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in the beginning of October. It is a great location, but extremely difficult to find. We drove into Florence and were told to park at a particular garage, the attendants would drive our car to the hotel, park it, and bring it back when we needed it. Well the hotel failed to email us directions to the garage, we had to call them no less than 10 times trying to find the garage because GPS doesn't work and it is located in the ZTL (traffic restricted zone). The hotel failed to tell us that it is ok for us to drive in the ZTL zone because the garage has a permit, so we were lost for about 1 1/2 hours trying to find the hotel and garage. After talking to other guests at the hotel it seemed that this was pretty common. A recommendation for the the hotel in the future, tell your guests that they can drive in the ZTL zone to the garage, and send them directions.

The room we stayed in was nice, very rustic and pretty (Superior). The bed however was awful, hard as a rock and pillows as flat as a folded sheet. I rated sleep quality as terrible because it sounded like people were walking in the alley below with carts of broken glass or something. Not sure what it was exactly but the noise was terrible, and it was ALL night. We aren't people who go to bed at 9pm, it was 11pm-3am and all you could hear was what sounded like glass being dumped into buckets full of more glass.

The bathroom was pretty nice in our room, nice large shower and tub. Very clean.They did have a really nice sitting room that looked out onto the square, it was nice to sit here and chat with other guests, read, generally just relax. We didn't didn't eat in the breakfast room often, but they made us coffee the morning we were leaving and brought it to our room which was nice.

I would recommend the hotel based on location, just take a taxi there or make sure you have exact directions on how to get there.

Room Tip: If you can try staying in the superior room, it was a nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in room 15 for 3 nights in August. Room 15 was a large, attic-type space with a sleeping area and a couch on the other side. A staircase leads from the 4th floor of the hotel to the room, so if accessibility is an issue, this would not be a good choice. The hotel was clean and our room and bathroom were large. Hotel staff were helpful with taxis and dinner reservations. The lounge overlooks Piazza della Signoria, and the central location was easy for sightseeing. Though the front door to the hotel is located in an alley off of the square, the area is well-lit and the door is secure. Garbage collection is very loud in the morning, but overall the property was quiet. Other rooms may vary, but room 15 does not have a stand-up shower - just a bathtub with a handheld showerhead - so it might be wise to request another room if that is a dealbreaker. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return on a future trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pghproud412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Took a cab from the central train station, which was about 10 min. away. The cab can get you to within about 100' of the front entrance, then a walk down a well-lit walkway. The hotel is not well-marked from the cab drop-off point and it took us a few minutes to locate it on foot after taking a wrong turn.

The hotel is clean and well maintained. Our room was in the annex building and was large by European standards. It had a loft area with a couch in it. Bathroom was large. Shower was powerful. We would suggest a room that does not overlook the walkway beside the hotel. Garbage collection tended to be very early and very noisy. WiFi worked in all areas of the hotel. Breakfast was well-provided with coffee made to order. The "lobby" overlooked the beautiful Piazza Signoria. In fact, the hotel's location is its best selling point. It backs onto one of the premier piazzas in Florence. Well positioned to all the shops. The famous Ponte Vecchio is very close. In fact, nothing worth seeing is very far from the hotel.

I would put this hotel on your short list if location is very important to you.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the side walkway are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldlycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fabulous location overlooking the central Piazza della Signoria. Excellent breakfast. Excellent service. Comfortable bed. A good-size room. A fairly new hotel located in a old palace. Cannot find a better location - close to everything. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just returned from visiting Venice, Florence and Rome. While we were very fortunate to have made three good hotel choices, Relais Uffizi won the competition for the best of the three. The hotel rooms tend to be on the small side in Italy and the standard double at this hotel was luxurious by comparison to the other places that we stayed at. The hotel staff were very accommodating and the hotel location was perfect. Breakfast was more than ample. While the breakfast area itself was an interior room, it spilled out to a reception area that ha wonderful views of the picturesque Piazza below. The air conditioning performed fine. This hotel faced some stiff competition and emerged victorious. We will look forward to a return stay.

Room Tip: The standard double was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italialovers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Uffizi
Torre Guelfa Hotel
Torre Guelfa Hotel
#68 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#49 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Fiorino
Hotel Fiorino
#222 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Uffizi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Uffizi

Property: Relais Uffizi
Address: Chiasso del Buco 16, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Florence
#114 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Uffizi 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Uffizi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Uffizi Florence
Relais Uffizi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing