We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrace in the heart of the Renaissance”
Review of Palazzo Antellesi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo Antellesi
Ranked #82 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Florence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrace in the heart of the Renaissance”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent three weeks in August in the apartment Mimi on the top floor of Palazzo Antellesi and loved spending our mornings and many evenings and dinners on the terrace overlooking Piazza Santa Croce with the luminous glow of the Santa Croce church as our companion. The apartment had two bedrooms, the second of which served as a guest room for a visiting friend for a few days. The whole apartment is graciously laid out and has views from every window: one side facing Florentine rooftops and the other, Piazza Santa Croce. While it is well air conditioned in each room of the apartment, the cross breeze was adequate many days to keep us cool and fresh. Management is efficient and helpful, connecting by email almost immediately for any issue. There is an elevator, maid service if you want it (she was the most wonderful woman), and wifi. We loved the ease of the location - easy and beautiful walking distance to all the sights. While we enjoyed all that Florence has to offer, we felt lucky to be able to sit and soak it all in from high above our Piazza - a view only Palazzo Antellesi has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family (2 plus 2 teenagers stayed in the Casa Toscana apartment for 5 nights - it was our first experience at renting an apartment in A European city, and it could not have gone better. The rental agent was easy to find, got us settled in quickly, and gave us many useful suggestions and recommendations. The location is awesome - on the piazza de Santa Croce, just minutes walking to just about anywhere you want to go in Florence. The apartment had two large bedrooms, 2 large bathrooms, a good size sitting room, and a smallish but adequately equipped kitchen. Overall, the decoration was really comfortable, bright and tasteful, and we really enjoyed having the extra space and comforts of home to relax in when we weren't out touring. And the leaving was as easy as the arriving. All in all, a great experience and a great place to stay, for much less than two hotel rooms would have cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo two years ago and are returning next april!
It is a very good place to spend some weeks in Florence.
The apartments are spacious, have air conditioning and are comfortables and comlpete

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninfa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in Palazzo Antellesi the summer of 2010. It was a great experience!! So much that we are returning in April 2014!! The apartment was beautiful!! A little bit dark, as it was not facing the Piazza but very confortable and spacious! Everything is nearby, me and my 3 children studied italian in a school 1 block away, so it was very convenient. There is a supermarket really close by, and lots of restaurants and cafes.
Definately a must!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I have rented several apartments in Florence during the past 10 years always for a month or more. We rented one of the top floor apartments in Palazzo Antellesi for 4 weeks in Jan/Feb 2012 and this was the best apartment and our favorite. We will return! The whole process from booking by email to the final check out was easy and worked well. The building is well managed with the staff on site. The apartment was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Even the slipcovers were crisp! Florence is a small town so almost any location works but being on Piazza Santa Croce is very special. It is also close to the San Ambrogia market and very wonderful local restaurants. The kitchen was well finished and we even gave a dinner party while we were there.

Room Tip: the website is very good and accurate. the photos are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathleenwells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family of six--Mom, Dad and four kids--spent two wonderful weeks in the Donatello apartment in Palazzo Antellesi in Florence. It's a magnificent three bedroom, three bath, two level flat, with a well-appointed kitchen and elegantly decorated with all the amenities. Really stunning, yet very comfortable and livable. The location could not be better, right on the Piazza Santa Croce. The owner was great--very helpful in getting us settled in at the beginning of our stay, and even more helpful and generous when we decided (unexpectedly) to extend our stay for an additional week. Our every need was met!

The apartment is right in the heart of Florence, with very convenient access to groceries, transportation (taxi and bus), walking distance to all the major sights, in a safe and secure building. You simply could not find a better, more luxurious, convenient, and reasonably-priced place to stay for your visit to the cradle of the Renaissance!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FCLymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have just concluded a month's stay in the Palazzo Antellesi in the Belvedere Apartment (3C) ...No. 21 Piazza Santa Croce. This was chosen because our apartment here in Florence was being renovated and we knew we would have an enjoyable stay without problems in this historic palazzo. The apartment we had was large with a full terrace and marble table with six chairs. The bedrooms face the back so there is not the noise that apartments facing the front may have in the summer months. On the other hand, many people relish with joy the opportunity to look out of one of the most incredible vistas in the world and all of the people, vendors, confusion, noise, etc., only add to the pleasure. This choice of apartment is wonderful if you wish to fly over, arrive and have absolutely no hassles whatsoever. Immaculate rooms, sufficient linens, towels, dishes, a clothing dryer (in fact, a separate utility room)....two refrigerators, one half in the galley kitchen and one small but full length in the utility room. We never used the dryer, air dryed the clothing on the rack....Italian Style on the sunny terrace. There is Carrier Air Conditioning units in every room ....but again did not use, old buildings keep the heat out and the warmth in in the winter months. We were bothered by inconsiderate guests at times who forget that they are not alone in the building...and come in and make noise, but the owner controls this as best she can. There is a very, very small elevator and if someone leaves the door open you have to walk up, this happened a few times with the same people (kids in the apartment), but normally it works just fine. There is television, but no SKY...which means you DO NOT receive English or any American networks except CNN, Bloomberg and BBC News and Euro News/. There is no English speaking capability for entertainment television which in our case since we were there a long time and not tourists came into play...BUT for regular people who are there to see this gorgeous city, why would it matter. The apartments in the building are wonderful for extended families say for example grandparents, parents and grandchildren, two couples, couples with kids, and older tourists who do not want anything to complicate their stay. In this regard we must commend the owners on keeping a watchful eye at all times. If you need/want something Ms. Francesca (the owner) will immediately reply to your needs in any way she can. There is a resident manager Ms. Cecile who like Francesca is a warm, friendly and efficient person who strives to make sure your stay is perfect. Yes, it is true that electricity, water, gas, internet are all extra....but in this regard it is very necessary. These are large apartments. Utilities in Italy are NOT like America. Everything is double and in the past few months even more...so if you are careful and try to be mindful you will feel good about not wasting energy and at the end you will receive money back. We were there for one month and from our security deposit, we received 2/3 back.....very fair on average used in a 1,000 sq. foot apartment about 3 l/2 euros a day. If we had used the dryer, air conditioning, etc., we could very well have owed money. It is something you control and the only fair way it can be handled. We are now back in our regular apartment and have waited a few weeks to write but can honestly say, this is without a doubt one of the best run luxury apartment options you will find in Florence. There is also a small but compact gym in the main building ....number 22 which is so nice to have. Eliptical trainer, bike, treadmill and some free weights. I do miss that already!! If you are on business and wanting to entertain, would suggest a larger apartment than the Belvedere which they definitely can provide. You can have guests easily in one of these. We thought our apartment much too small for dinners or lunch for guests and the second bath was not really a guest bath, BUT if it is just two or four persons which certainly is more the normal situation, than this apartment is just fine for your needs. We highly recommend Palazzo Antellesi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtdFirenze_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Della Robbia
#197 of 422 in Florence
190 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#251 of 422 in Florence
415 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#211 of 422 in Florence
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#141 of 422 in Florence
648 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 422 in Florence
591 reviews
Uffizi
Leone Blu
Leone Blu
#37 of 305 in Florence
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Antellesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Antellesi

Property: Palazzo Antellesi
Address: Piazza Santa Croce, 21, 50112, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a vacation in Tuscany, the apartment rentals of Palazzo Antellesi in Florence and Siena are the absolute best. Palazzo Antellesi offers accommodations for long and short term rentals with a large selection of historical apartments for your Italian vacation. Our Florence accommodations are located in the Renaissance building of Palazzo Antellesi in the historic Piazza Santa Croce, one of the most important landmarks in Firenze. All Florence apartments take their names from important people in Florence history like Giotto, Donatello, Medici. Palazzo Antellesi apartments are only three minutes away by foot from Piazza Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery, and five from Brunelleschi's famous cathedral. Michelangelo's home is around the corner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Antellesi Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing