We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good B&B experience”
Review of Soggiorno Panerai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soggiorno Panerai
Ranked #76 of 662 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked to stay with Walter and Albena at their B&B Soggiorno Panerai in later September 2012. Unfortunately, when we got there the room was unavailable because of a problem with the plumbing. Walter had a plan however and we were offered alternative accommodation at another property even closer to town, Cavour 10, also on TripAdvisor. Despite the change of location, Albena and Walter continued to be our hosts throughout the stay. So, this is a review of the experience of our stay with Walter and Albena at that alternative room.

Albena and Walter were outstanding and attentive hosts. Walter took great interest in his guests' needs and helped us enormously with his great 'local knowledge' and insights. Albena is the main English speaker and I can vouch for her excellent frittata as mentioned in another review!

Cavour 10 is a first floor apartment just minutes walk away from 'Il Duomo'. Everything in central Florence was within comfortable walking distance. The room was decorated and furnished to a superb standard with period furniture and a ceiling 'fresco'. The bathroom was small but beautifully appointed. Breakfast was very good.
In a communal hallway is a smart desk and computer for guests to use. We didn't use it however and simply jumped on the property's WiFi using smartphones.

If there is a downside to the room we stayed in it would be street noise. Florence, like most 'global cities', is a town that never sleeps! Despite that, our visit was very comfortable and we thank Albena and Walter for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyandJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 468 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a lovely B&B in an excellent location. The hosts are so kind and very helpful with things to do and the best places to eat. The breakfasts were amazing, some of the best cappuccinos in Italy! If we go back to Florence no question, we would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked this b&b based on reviews by tripadvisor and we have been extremely pleased. Albena iis wonderful and helpful and prepares a great breakfast including fresh frittata and espresso not instant coffee. The location is around the corner from Michaelangelos David and he Duomo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelemm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I did a roundtrip through Italy this summer and Florence was our first stop and after we made our way down to Apulia and back also our last stop. After we booked a room online before we left and stayed there we immediately booked it for our second time in Florence because this B&B is just so awesome!!!
It is located in a great old house on a street right between "David" and the Duomo and with pretty much all the famous sights just a few steps away. The bright room we had is perfect size (4+m high ceiling...pretty cool) and has everything you need (comfy nice old furniture, climate control, tv, hairdryer, bathroom, shower, refriggerator, armoire etc.).
What makes the place so special however are the owners. On the day of our arrival Walter and Albena immediately gave us a warm welcome and Albena gave us orientations and recommendations. We immediately befriended her and had so many nice and long chats with her. Our Italian is not so good, which is a pitty because we did not get to know Walter that good, but he is also a very warm and nice man.
Albena also takes care of the great breakfast which she brings to your room and does everything she can to get you what you would like to have. She is incredibly helpful! Another reviewer said, that she suddenly appears on the street, when you're standing around disoriented. We made the very same experience! How does she do it? :D
When we left we were really sad! We miss those two! When we go back to Florence we will not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during August and I have to say that this is one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in. We were warmly greeted on our arrival by Albena who gave us the choice of either the room at the back or the room with the view, which was the one we chose. The room was amazing with a fresco painted on the ceiling and a great bathroom. We could look out of the window and see the Duomo!
The room was spotless and the breakfast was amazing, juice, coffee, eggs, pastries, whatever you wanted, I would highly recommend this B&B and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mancgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel takes up part of a historic building. We had a twin room with a view out the window to the street. Being able to see the Duomo from the window was a great start to each morning!

The room had a 16th or 17th century fresco on the ceiling, which certainly added to the sense of being in authentic Florence. If you're after modern decor, this isn't the place for you, but if you like things old-fashioned, it is.

There wasn't really a communal area to sit and talk to other guests, so if that's important to you, this isn't the place for you either. There's a couple of steps to get in, so it's not wheelchair accessible, but there's a lift the rest of the way up.

Breakfast was excellent and generous, including a hot dish like an omelet. The hosts gave us an electric kettle so we could make tea and coffee to our hearts' content.

But the main reason for my 5 star rating is the hosts, who were extremely helpful. I managed to leave my smartphone in a rental car out by the airport, a good 20 minutes away, and they rang the rental car company and then went and picked up the phone for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay in Soggiorno Panerai which is located very centrally to all the major sights and rail and bus stations and is located on the second floor of the building - which in itself is a little quirky when first arriving. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and very quiet as we had a courtyard room at the back of the B&B. Albena and Walter were great hosts and very helpful with explaining the best places to eat and see. We stayed here late July so it was hot and busy in the day but so much quieter in the evening, which made the location so special - lots of excellent restaurants and wine bars within a few streets of the B&B to explore and enjoy. Its a no frills establishment but I would recommend it and return again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidpjwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,282 reviews
I Parigi
#91 of 662 in Florence
256 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
BandB Firenze 8 Cittadella 8
BandB Firenze 8 Cittadella 8
#82 of 662 in Florence
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dimora Bandinelli
#18 of 662 in Florence
187 reviews
Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
B&B Le Stanze del Duomo
#30 of 662 in Florence
671 reviews
Piccolo Principe B&B
#50 of 662 in Florence
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Panerai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Panerai

Address: Via Dei Servi 49, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 662 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $110 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Soggiorno Panerai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Soggiorno Panerai enjoys an excellent location in downtown Florence, between the magnificent Duomo cathedral and the Accademia Gallery, hosting many Renaissance masterpieces. This Florence area is full of typical craft shops, markets, restaurants and bars. The B&B's central location will allow you to walk through historical Florence and admire its fabulous streets. The Soggiorno Panerai B&B, housed on the first floor of a 16th-century building, features elegant Florentine interiors. The result is a charming atmosphere, in which tradition and modernity live perfectly side by side. A high speed Internet Point is at guests' disposal on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soggiorno Panerai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Panerai Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing