We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Santa Monaca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Santa Monaca
Ranked #114 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is great, walking distance to everything you want to see in Florence. The staff is nice and try to pleasure you with everything you need. Rooms are not the best with the minimum you need which is pretty normal when you book a room in a hostel...i guess in summer are very worm though. I would recommend it for short periods. Showers are shared but clean. It was a bit noisy on morning due to some stuff they were doing in the kitchen i guess, so not from other guests. Absolutely fine for guys on their 20-30.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    51
    55
    14
    13
See reviews for
5
22
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hostel was located in a nice little area in walking distance to everything. The staff's friendliness made the hostel feel much nicer than it actually was. Although there were not many amenities, the hostel was still running professionally. I would recommend a dorm with +4 beds since those rooms will get more fans---our room had 4 beds, 1 fan and was deathly hot as 2 of the beds did not get any wind. This was of course, in the middle of the summer so we could not have expected perfect temperatures everywhere we stayed. Plenty of showers and toilets---beware, this hostel is HUGE! Not in a bad way, there are just soooo many people and soooo many stairs to different places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omgitslaurenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've been there in the summer so I guess that the experience is influenced by the high temperatures that hit Italy in those days. The room was a 22 mixed and I've nothing to complain about the number of people in there.. In fact people respect each other and everyone avoids to make any noise during the sleeping time. The only problem was the high temperature inside the room, it was like hell.. The bathrooms could be better cleaned but nothing too bad.

I recommend this hostel to anyone who doesn't want to spend much money and to anyone who have the travel spirit and respect the others. It's not a Hotel, it's a Hostel.. with good conditions but still a Hostel! Low your expectations and it'll be great. :p

The location of the Hostel is also a great plus! It is really central and near everything that matters in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hostel was only 20 euros a night when I stayed, and the location was great. I walked everywhere and never even thought about using public transit. There's tons of restaurants nearby, all the main attractions, and a supermarket just 2 minutes away. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The bad thing was that the Wifi never worked. Every person there was complaining about it and always at the front desk getting them to re-set it. When I needed to use the internet I just used their free computers because trying to get the wifi to work wasn't worth the hassle.
The rooms were very hot at night, but I didn't have trouble sleeping because my bed was conveniently located under the huge ceiling fan.
The building is old but the bathrooms are surprisingly very clean, same with the beds, which are the only two things I really care about.
In the 10 bed mixed dorm there is only 2 outlets, so if you need to charge things you'll have to do it when there's no one else in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktskinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

While not centrally located, it's not that far from the train station and florence really isn't that big so it's no issue. It means we were able to go to a fairly big grocery store out of the city nearby with cheap prices. We could then subsequently use them for the kitchen that was available to us, which is always appreciated. No breakfast though.
2 computers that are always in use, and wifi that works only for non-Apple products.
The service was not always great, but really depended on the people at the front desk at the time.

This place is nothing special, but gets the job done.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hostel is located 13 minutes walking from Florence's duomo. The hostel is big, has enough bathrooms, big "living room" and a nice kitchen. It is clean and the staff is nice... And has a supermarket to which you arrive with a 5 minutes walk. Recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mafeb162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We appreciate our stay over there, we had a twin room with a private bathroom. We had a good service at the hostel and someone disponible to help us. A good kitchen is available for you if you wanna cook some meals...This is was the good part. But, if you go in a dormitory, be ready to heard a lot of noises because some persons are going there for partying. Also, internet by wi-fi is very slow.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#25 of 295 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7 Santi Hostel
#42 of 295 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#21 of 295 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bigallo Hostel
#54 of 295 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Ciao Hostel
Ciao Hostel
#71 of 295 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Ostello del Chianti
#92 of 295 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Santa Monaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Santa Monaca

Property: Hostel Santa Monaca
Address: Via Santa Monaca 6, 50124, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Santa Monaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Santa Monaca Hotel Florence
Santa Monaca Florence
Santa Monaca Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing