We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic central location with amazing views.”
Review of Hotel Bigallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bigallo
Ranked #186 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Stayed at this excellent hotel for three nights. It's located a stones throw from Duomo, the view from our room was fantastic.
It's within walking distance from the central train station with luggage (we travelled from Pisa).
The staff were very friendly and informative. Three of us were traveling together so decided to take a triple room to avoid a single supplement for one of us. We were expecting a cramped stay at a reasonable price looking at the photos of the triple room on the hotel website, but were in fact surprised with how spacious the room was. It had a mezzanine with two single beds and a day bed on the lower floor. We didn't find it cramped at all! The rooms were immaculately cleaned. There was an empty fridge you could use in the room for drinks which was handy.
Breakfast was a buffet which was fine with a selection of pastries, bread, cereal, yoghurts, cheeses and cold cuts.
In the evening it gets very rowdy in the street outside, I found it OK when the double glazing was shut and the aircon on, but my friends found it a little distracting. I was only woken up by the bells of campanille starting ringing at 05:30!!
The hotel is above a set of residential flats. There were 8 flights of stairs to climb to get to the receptiion. There was a tiny lift to use. Certainly no good, for disabled access, the elderly or claustrophobic people.
A really good restaurant for the evening was Boccadama on the piazza santa croce. We had gone the day before for lunch which was very busy with a tour group. We decided to go back in the evening the next day and it was a far more relaxed intimate atmosphere. The staff remembered us and what we ate before and recommended some superb dishes!
A less pleasant experience was La Bussola recommended in the AA guide and Time Out (via porta rossa) Initially it looked like we were going to have a great meal. The seafood soup I had as a starter was excellent. Then the recommended woodfire pizza my friend had was the wrong one which came back suspiciously quickly with correct topping on (we reckon the same pizza) swimming in salty water so much that the base was sodden, we were then fobbed off as this was due to the mozzarella?? We weren't offered dessert menus or coffee, were cleared up around at 10pm on Friday night. Then a 15% service charge was added...hmmm. But the luckily this was the only downer of a fantastic city break.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSidney2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bigallo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 394 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

My mom and I travelled to Florence in March, 2010 and stayed at the Hotel Bigallo five nights. The rooms were very clean, neat and well kept. The location is within walking distance to everything. The staff went above and beyond. They were eager to help answer our questions and make reservations.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWood44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We were very pleased with the location of the Hotel Biggalo in Florence. The reviews and pictures are correct, you really are right on top of the Duomo and in the middle of the action. The view from the sitting area window is incredible! It's a short walk to get to all the other major attractions like the Academia and Uffizi. It was nice though after a day of (a LOT) walking to be able to pop back to our hotel and rest up and use the FREE amenities. We switched rooms after the first night since our original was right off the breakfast area and a little noisy. The second was perfect and both were a good size, not small like some have claimed. Breakfast was good, lots of sweets as you find all over Italy, and got us going in the morning. The concierge had some great tips for walking around and recommended a fantastic restaurant called La Grotto Guelfa. One of the best meals in Italy we had. Overall this is a great bargain hotel and is in a perfect central location. Two tips though, the walk to the train station is doable, but when dragging luggage can seem very far. Second, there is an elevator to the left when you come in downstairs. We didn't realize until after we had dragged our luggage up :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mongolianyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We arrived at the entrance of the hotel only to have to squeeze into the tiniest lift ever. But, I have to say that was the only bad part of our stay. The room was spacious and clean.
But the view....WOW!! Our room overlooked the Duomo. It was so close it felt like we were right on top of it.
We were a bit annoyed when we heard the rate another couple had paid for their room (almost half what we paid).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaroKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We booked the hotel for two nights in July 09 (peak season) On Arrival we found that the Hotel was locked and they has shifted us to their sister hotel closeby (Hotel De Lanzi). Of course i must say they has put up a big notice with our name outside the hotel directing us to their sister hotel. So no complaints in that regard exist.

We had looked up the hotel website and only on finding the basic facilities like Mini Bar had we finalised the hotel.

The new hotel (the review of which would be under Hotel De lanzi) can be found , however the Mini Bar was not there in this hotel because of which we had a tough time .

Since we havenot really stayed in this hotel therefore cannot give any feedback with respect to hotel, other than the fact that the location is excellent right in centre of happening city centre in Florence and that be sure when you reserve a room in this hotel you get a room here only and not in the other hotel which may or may not have the facilities you would have wanted while booking.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank richa678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Everything was great! We stayed for 9 days and found the hotel staff was friendly and helpful at all times. Breakfast and coffee was good and the views were great. We will be booking for next year soon. We took the train to Lucca one day, the bus to Fiesole another day, and a van to Siena, San Gimignano, and wine tasting ($200.00E for 8 people). Florence itself has planty to do the rest of the time.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertolucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

You have already gathered that this Hotel has a great location. Overlooking Duomo...how much closer do you want ????
The reception is on the 3rd floor and it has a small lift thankfully. The reception room was amazingly decorated and the views from its window even more breathtaking. We had booked a normal double room, again wonderfully decorated , fresh, clean and newish but so small. When we heard another couple ask for an upgrade, so did we, however they were fully booked. We paid 187 Euro per night so when I read the last review at a cheaper price for a much larger room, I am envious. We re arranged the furniture so that our 2 large suitcases could fit. We are out sightseeing all day anyway, but a little extra space would have been nice.
The bathroom though smallish as in many hotels was lovely and new and clean.
The breakfast was in a lovely area and fine.
The beauty of Florence is that everything is so close , that you could pop back into the Hotel to drop off things or to rest.
The staff were polite and helpful.
We found this a great Hotel in a fabulous spot.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#231 of 411 in Florence
514 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#197 of 411 in Florence
592 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#51 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#205 of 411 in Florence
106 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Axial
Hotel Axial
#179 of 411 in Florence
769 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#221 of 411 in Florence
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigallo

Address: Vicolo Degli Adimari 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $85 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigallo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bigallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bigallo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing