We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Bigallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bigallo
Ranked #174 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Just in the center of the center of Florence ... wonderful! You can just walk all the time and visit to the town. The room was not very big but with free wifi. Personnel very kind. I was feeling very well at this elegant hotel Because It Seems to be in the story.
Perfect compromise between low price and high quality!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 408 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

This lovely hotel is located in a historic mid 17th century building.
The location of the Bigallo cannot be beat as the hotel is directly across the street from the Duomo Cathedral, bell tower and baptristry and is very close to Piazza della Signoria.

The view of the Duomo from the lobby and some rooms is "awesome".

The reception staff are on duty 24 hours and are very helpful and friendly.

In order to enter the hotel, you will have to walk or take the lift up as the reception area is on the third floor. The lift only goes to the first floor, not the ground floor, so be prepared to walk up some steps to the first floor and ride up from there. That didn't present a problem for us or any of the people in our travel group.

The buffet breakfast is served in a small dining area and offers a nice assortment of meats, cheese, fruit, breads and pastry along with juice, milk and a superb caffee/latte machine that blends your selection perfectly. Everything was fresh, well stocked, and the dining area was immaculate.

Our rooms were spotless, nicely appointed and security was never an issue.

We highly recommend the Hotel Bigallo if you are looking for a reasonably priced, centrally located clean hotel with a friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Needed a central hotel as it was a flying visit which covered a couple of nights. It also needed to be near the train station as this is where we had to get the coach. It ticked the boxes on both counts. Only 10 minutes walk from the station and you are right it the heart of Florence.

The hotel is easy to find. TIP: If you have heavy luggage use the lift as the reception is on the 3rd floor. We arrived at 1pm and were allowed straight into the room after a warm welcome. The room was spacious and well decorated but the best part was the view. Opened the widow to have a perfect view of the Duomo. I did ask for a view as it was a special occasion and they would do their best and they did.

Breakfast is included in the price and has everything you would expect. Plenty to choose from and all looked after by extremely smiley/friendly staff. Which can also be said for the reception staff which are there 24 hours (help with directions and Italian power adapter).

The hotel itself is located on the main street that links the Duomo and Piazza della Signoria (approx 5 minutes walk) so you really are in the middle.

I would recommend Hotel Bigallo to anyone looking for a value for money stay in Florence. This is not a 5 star hotel so for those who have written bad reviews about breakfast/noise/friendliness of staff all I would add is you get a continental breakfast, your are right opposite the Duomo and things are sometimes lost in translation!

Further to those whole complain about noise the windows/shutters actually seal out 95% of the noise. The bells of the Duomo start at 7am so you are up and on the go and you can watch Florence wake up which is a great thing form your window.

Room Tip: Room 1303 is situated off the breakfast area (but certainly not noisy - well sealed doors). This had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Loved staying in the Hotel Bigallo - amazing location, on the doorstep of the Duomo Cathedral - everywhere within easy walking distance. Lovely split-level bedroom with 3 nicely firm, comfortable beds for myself and two friends, spotlessly clean - opened the windows to amazing view of the Cathedral - only downside was that the Cathedral bells rang on the hour from 6am but I actually liked that. Other thing was that the breakfast was pretty uninspiring but we generally ate out - so many nice choices nearby for coffee and pastries. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AML40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Very close to Duomo (in one of the corners), but that reception in the third floor and no one to help with the luggage are terrible.
If you don't have problems to carry your luggage to the room through stairs to a small elevator you will like it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosinaldoBsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed one night on one of the hottest August days. The room, for the price, was fine - washroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. Much is made of the rooms being air-conditioned and though they are, the air conditioner obviously couldn't handle the 40C temperature outside and we spent a sweltering, sleepless night. I dealt with three staff, two of which I found quite pleasant, and one of which I found slightly rude, as he seemed annoyed that I even asked about Wifi (you get one free hour). The complimentary breakfast was excellent, I have to say, with lots of variety. All in all, not a bad choice for a room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Hotel Bigallo which truly made our vacation in Florence. Ask for a view of the Cathedral! Location is so great and central, you're able to walk to every place you'd ever want to visit in Florence. Hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. Definitely will be back here. Oh yeah, massive rooms (2 stories which was an awesome surprise!).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gstone87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
De Lanzi
De Lanzi
#220 of 410 in Florence
529 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#204 of 410 in Florence
599 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#60 of 410 in Florence
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#229 of 410 in Florence
114 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bigallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bigallo

Address: Vicolo Degli Adimari 2, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $80 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bigallo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bigallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bigallo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing