We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Due Fontane
Ranked #252 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tiny room”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here as part of a contiki trip. The room we received was tiny, we literally hit the bed with the door when we opened it. There was really not much room for luggage in the room we were in. Although we did visit a few of the other rooms and they were better sized than ours. The customer service was poor, it was quite hot one night and our air conditioner was not working, we contacted front desk and the man said nothing could be done until the next day, did not even offer to come and take a look at it. The location is great, but that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jareth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    178
    130
    66
    47
See reviews for
106
178
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Location not bad as others have mentioned. This hotel is dated, the rooms small, furniture from the 1960s, some damp in the bathroom and the door offers no sound insulation so you will wake up when the first person on the corridor does.

Wifi only effective next to the router in reception. The breakfast was ok and the room was clean.
W

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

London
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent hotel location,with clean room,and nice breakfast...however female reception lady gave us wrong information for travelling to Pisa airport. She advised us to take a taxi from the hotel to Pisa airport as no trains or buses from Florence train/bus station to Pisa airport as out of season. Taxi costs 140 euros min,though we checked ourselves and there are a choice of buses and trains from Florence station,even out of season!...bus costs 6 euros single journey direct to Pisa airport...takes 70 minutes....a bit cheaper then than paying 140 euros!. Also when you check out, you have an additional room tax to pay,3 euros per person per night,which again the reception man failed to tell us when checking in.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelli R.C.T
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Apart from the terrific location I cannot really find anything positive to say about this hotel. Everything ran smoothly when we checked in we were in room 316. When we opened the door my heart sank, 3 single beds where we had requested a double, no bath or proper shower, it was like a wet room if you had a shower you had to paddle to use the toilet (See photo) The second day we were there we asked the lady receptionist where the bus stop was, she pointed with her finger and then immediately carried on her conversation with another member of staff - really ignorant.
Breakfast downstairs was adequate but it would have been nicer if the waiter replenishing the food was dressed more appropriately than jeans and a tee shirt, I can't recall any other hotel where the dining room staff have not worn a shirt and trousers.
All in all a great holiday just spoiled by the accommodation.

Room Tip: Avoid room 316
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelligirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and was amazed to find it so well situated. The piazza in front looked as if it could hold hundreds of people and was surrounded by the Acadamia Gallery, a museum and a church facing the duomo!

Room was cleaned daily and staff helpful. Breakfast was plentiful.

Suggest you keep window closed as a mosquito will keep you awake for ages!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived with a pre-paid reservation for 2 rooms, family of 5, for 3 nights. Upon arrival it was discovered that the reservation was not pre-paid & there were no rooms available for our first night, which was a Friday. The owner of the hotel promptly contacted our travel agent & found out where the mistake had been made. The owner then found us rooms at another hotel. He paid for the rooms as well as two taxis for us & our luggage. He was totally professional & handled the situation wonderfully. the next two nights we returned to the hotel & enjoyed it very much. Le Due Fontane is small & personable. Most important, caring & professional staff. Great location & breakfast is included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElkaPoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were travelling with another couple and stayed for 4 nights from 18th Sept.
the staff were very friendly and helpful the rooms were very clean and the location was
excellent we would definately stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanta_dicorato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#155 of 412 in Florence
450 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#141 of 412 in Florence
720 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#179 of 412 in Florence
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#237 of 412 in Florence
417 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#140 of 412 in Florence
1,017 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#201 of 412 in Florence
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Due Fontane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Due Fontane

Property: Hotel Le Due Fontane
Address: Piazza della Santissima Annunziata 14, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Due Fontane 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel le due fontane is a three star hotel in the real historical center of Florence.Between museums and shop s you can walkig everyvere, we waith you Next time you visit Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Due Fontane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Due Fontane Florence
Le Due Fontane Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing